Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac OS X > Official Leopard GUI discussion thread

Official Leopard GUI discussion thread (Page 6)
Thread Tools
mdc
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NY²
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 08:15 PM
 
What happens if you're in an application, iPhoto for example, and you command+space, Spotlight, type in Time Machine, and press enter to open the application from Spotlight?
Will iPhoto be the application in Time Machine?

On 10.4 if I'm typing this in Safari and invoke Spotlight, Safari is still the active application.

Without playing with 10.5 that's one idea I have for launching Time Machine without an icon in the dock. I hope there is a keyboard shortcut or something since I don't want the Time Machine icon in my dock.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 08:46 PM
 
Yes, that works mdc.

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 08:47 PM
 
Originally Posted by - - e r i k - - View Post
Yes, that works mdc.

what a releif. I was wondering how this was going to work as well!
     
mdc
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NY²
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 08:50 PM
 
Thanks - - e r i k - -. Glad that works.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 09:04 PM
 
You could set a keyboard shortvut for Time Machine in the keyboard Preferences I'd imagine.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 09:18 PM
 
Originally Posted by adamfishercox View Post
You could set a keyboard shortvut for Time Machine in the keyboard Preferences I'd imagine.
And you'd be imagining wrong

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 09:19 PM
 
Why can't you? You can do it for any other app in Tiger, did they take it out in Leopard?
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 09:24 PM
 
Originally Posted by adamfishercox View Post
Why can't you? You can do it for any other app in Tiger, did they take it out in Leopard?
You can't set keyboard shortcuts for launching applications in Tiger nor Leopard.

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 09:26 PM
 
Do you have Leopard? Because if you don't I'm going to hope that they added an exception for TM

Actually, having the icon in my dock doesn't bug me, so its really a non-issue here.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 09:30 PM
 
I do. Sorry to crush your hopes

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 24, 2007, 11:26 PM
 
Originally Posted by - - e r i k - - View Post
Furthermore, not all applications support Time Machine. Invoking it in Mail, iPhoto or Address Book gives Time Machine interfaces for those, but anywhere else it gives you the front-most Finder window.

So wouldn't it make more sense to have a toolbar button in the applications that support it instead? QuickLook gets its own toolbar button in Finder, so why not Time Machine? A global button (dock icon) makes little sense when the feature is applied to a local window.
I concur.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 04:46 AM
 
Installing it this morning. Wont get to mess with it till later.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 05:05 AM
 
Could anyone help me out here:

On Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger we had two types of view options for folders:

1) This window only - specific view settings for this window only
2) All windows - view settings that are applied system-wide unless you set a folder to "This window only"

On Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard I only see a push button saying "Use as defaults". But how on Earth do I force a window that already uses custom view settings to conform to the default ones? On Tiger this could be done by toggling between the above two options.

I really can't seem to find out how.

     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 06:55 AM
 
Originally Posted by adamfishercox View Post
You could set a keyboard shortvut for Time Machine in the keyboard Preferences I'd imagine.
You could set up shortcut in Quicksilver to launch it, which what I'll likely end up doing. Once again, Quicksilver makes my life that much easier!
15" MacBook Pro C2D, 2.16 GHz, 2 GB RAM, Matte Display.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 07:56 AM
 
Ah grid spacing. FINALLY.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paris, Fr
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 08:58 AM
 
Originally Posted by .Neo View Post
Could anyone help me out here:
On Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger we had two types of view options for folders:

1) This window only - specific view settings for this window only
2) All windows - view settings that are applied system-wide unless you set a folder to "This window only"

On Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard I only see a push button saying "Use as defaults". But how on Earth do I force a window that already uses custom view settings to conform to the default ones? On Tiger this could be done by toggling between the above two options.

I really can't seem to find out how.
I've had the same problem and no solution was to be found. It seems that you can't get a window back to "default settings" if you changed them once...

As much as I like leopard, I'm quite surprised to see how unpolished, or even rough, it can feel as soon as you really use it.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 09:13 AM
 
Originally Posted by kilechki View Post
As much as I like leopard, I'm quite surprised to see how unpolished, or even rough, it can feel as soon as you really use it.
This scares me. (It's installing at my house right now.. ) what do you mean by this? The look? How it works?
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: A House of Ill-Repute in the Sky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 09:24 AM
 
So can I look forward to a day full of Leopard screens?
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 09:37 AM
 
Originally Posted by kilechki View Post
I've had the same problem and no solution was to be found. It seems that you can't get a window back to "default settings" if you changed them once...
What retard at Apple thought that would be a good idea?! Seriously that's just stupid.

About Mac OS X Leopard is being rough around the edges that's certainly true. The interface can really lag at times, not all the time, sometimes. Especially when dragging stuff around. The placement of windows when moving them between Spaces is still a bit buggy as well.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:01 AM
 
Originally Posted by Dakarʒ View Post
So can I look forward to a day full of Leopard screens?
Naw, only when I've hacked the GUI maybe

About Mac OS X Leopard is being rough around the edges that's certainly true. The interface can really lag at times, not all the time, sometimes. Especially when dragging stuff around. The placement of windows when moving them between Spaces is still a bit buggy as well.
Well that sucks. But it does explain why the GUI seems unfinished. They were probably spending time on making it WORK better, and had little time to spend on the GUI (lots of the GUI team have been working on the iPhone as well)

I expect .x updates soon.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: A House of Ill-Repute in the Sky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:07 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
Naw, only when I've hacked the GUI maybe
I was addressing everyone in general.
     
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:07 AM
 
Is the iPhone killing OS X? Hahaha.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:09 AM
 
Originally Posted by Big Mac View Post
Is the iPhone killing OS X? Hahaha.
Huh? I doubt it. But I am sure it put a dent in the time spent on it.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by Dakarʒ View Post
I was addressing everyone in general.
He frequently makes this mistake.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by Dakarʒ View Post
I was addressing everyone in general.
Oh.. then there will probably be screenshots here

http://forums.macnn.com/94/gui-custo...ot-thread/283/

Originally Posted by .Neo View Post
He frequently makes this mistake.
How does one know who one is replying to when they aren't quoting anyone? I don't see what mistake I am making. When you don't quote what you are replying to, people have to GUESS who you are talking to. If they guess wrong, that doesn't mean they did something wrong. That just means the person that they replied to failed to make it clear as to whom they were responding to. It's no big deal. Everyone has done it.
( Last edited by Kevin; Oct 25, 2007 at 10:22 AM. )
     
mdc
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NY²
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
Naw, only when I've hacked the GUI maybe
I assume you're going to be replacing the scrollbar images with iTunes-type scrollbars?
That is the one change I hope someone makes and releases an installer.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:12 AM
 
Is it already clear where Mac OS X Leopard actually stores it's GUI files? The new AquaUI.bundle seems incomplete.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: A House of Ill-Repute in the Sky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:13 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
Oh.. then there will probably be screenshots here

http://forums.macnn.com/94/gui-custo...ot-thread/283/
Not for discussion, no.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:13 AM
 
Originally Posted by mdc View Post
I assume you're going to be replacing the scrollbar images with iTunes-type scrollbars?
That is the one change I hope someone makes and releases an installer.
Yes I will and no, you wont need SS to use it. It will be in installer form.
Originally Posted by .Neo View Post
Is it already clear where Mac OS X Leopard actually stores it's GUI files? The new AquaUI.bundle seems incomplete.
http://forums.macnn.com/94/gui-custo...rces-location/

If there is other ways, I am sure I/someone will find it. There was 4 of us here back in the early OS X days that experimented till we got things right. I think we can do it with 10.5 too.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:18 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
If there is other ways, I am sure I/someone will find it. There was 4 of us here back in the early OS X days that experimented till we got things right. I think we can do it with 10.5 too.
The main thing I wonder is if Extras(2).rsrc is actually still in use.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:20 AM
 
Originally Posted by .Neo View Post
The main thing I wonder is if Extras(2).rsrc is actually still in use.
Modify it and find out
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Behind the dryer, looking for a matching sock
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:27 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
Yes I will and no, you wont need SS to use it. It will be in installer form.
Sweet, on both counts.
     
mdc
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NY²
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:45 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
Yes I will and no, you wont need SS to use it. It will be in installer form.
Glad to hear that. I stay away from haxies
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:51 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
Modify it and find out
Haha not this time. Can't afford it if my system dies right now.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 10:57 AM
 
You'd only kill your system if you didn't know what you were doing.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 11:51 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
You'd only kill your system if you didn't know what you were doing.
Isn't that the whole problem on Mac OS X Leopard? Basically no one really knows what they are doing, as there are no real experiences with GUI hacking on this OS. Next to that ThemePark hasn't been updated to officially support Leopard.

I'm not taking any chances right now.
     
Kevin  (op)
Baninated
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In yer threads
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 02:13 PM
 
From what I have been told the theme resources aren't in a file like the Extras.rsrc was?

Regardless, where there is a will, there is a way. I have a 2nd backup drive for a reason.

I made Sosumi before Themepark was even out.
     
mdc
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: NY²
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 02:14 PM
 
Could someone post a screenshot of QuickTime Player running on 10.5?
Does it look the same as 10.4? Borders?

Nevermind. I found some on AppleInsider. I like the new borderless QuickTime
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 02:43 PM
 
Originally Posted by Kevin View Post
From what I have been told the theme resources aren't in a file like the Extras.rsrc was?

Regardless, where there is a will, there is a way. I have a 2nd backup drive for a reason.

I made Sosumi before Themepark was even out.
Well, Godspeed and good luck to you then!
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 03:29 PM
 
QuickTime movies won't continue playing in the Dock anymore. Just a static image. Pretty lame.
     
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 03:30 PM
 
Really? Poor little Core Animations can't handle that?
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 04:13 PM
 
Originally Posted by adamfishercox View Post
Really? Poor little Core Animations can't handle that?
Yup. No idea why they would suddenly disable it after all these years.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 05:17 PM
 
Probably has something to do with reflecting a playing movie off the silly new dock.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 05:22 PM
 
Originally Posted by MindFad View Post
Probably has something to do with reflecting a playing movie off the silly new dock.
If it can live reflect a window you move directly above it, a running movie shouldn't be much of a problem either.
     
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 05:27 PM
 
Originally Posted by .Neo View Post
QuickTime movies won't continue playing in the Dock anymore. Just a static image. Pretty lame.
Probably a bug, I'm guessing.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Auckland, NZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 06:56 PM
 
Annoying little bits of news coming through here. At least we can all look forward to the grey scrollbars .

I'll chime in in about 7 hours - the apple.com countdown is down to 6! It would be nice to have webclip already so I could easily make that countdown into a widget.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 07:14 PM
 
Originally Posted by .Neo View Post
If it can live reflect a window you move directly above it, a running movie shouldn't be much of a problem either.
You'd think so, yeah, but maybe it's a performance issue? A bug? What machine are you running it on? Does the movie playback in the "no glass" version of the Dock?
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 07:18 PM
 
Originally Posted by MindFad View Post
You'd think so, yeah, but maybe it's a performance issue? A bug? What machine are you running it on? Does the movie playback in the "no glass" version of the Dock?
A latest 24" 2.8 GHz iMac. So it's highly unlikely a performance issue.

There's no movie playback in the Dock period. Regardless if you use the 3D or 2D Dock.
     
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FFM
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 07:25 PM
 
What about iTunes video playback?
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 25, 2007, 07:29 PM
 
I'll be finding out tonight whether these still exist in Leopard, but I notice no-one has mentioned the physical aspects of OSX/s GUI.

In particular is the problem of "lurching" in drag and drop operations in Finder in Tiger. This is where there is a delay in the movement of the cursor over a file or folder, followed by a sudden movement, usually well past the intended destination. You get these particularly when scrolling up near the edges of windows, when crossing columns, or when approaching a folder and it pops open, or just before dropping a file.

Often this leads to files going into the wrong (but unknown) location.

This is further exacerbated by 3 other flaws in the operation of OSX. First is where in certain instances files do not appear on the desktop until after some delay or other events have taken place. Second is where files dragged in list/outline view from one folder to another, simply disappear to reappear some time later. Third is where a smaller file when moved offers no feedback because there is no progress bar and no beep or dropping sound.

All of these cause a constant uncertainty about the success of moving operations and cause unnecessary errors.

There is a similar problem with delays in the cursor crossing pop-out menus like in the Recent Items/Applications/Documents/Folder in the Apple menu. Or anywhere that there is a pop out/up menu.
I look forward to a future where the present will be in the past.
     
 
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2015 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2