Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac OS X > File Sharing enabled after restart bug

File Sharing enabled after restart bug
Thread Tools
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 6, 2014, 12:48 AM
 
Hi - on several different occasions after having to restart due to a freeze, I noticed the File Sharing box automatically checked in System Prefs when it had not been checked before. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm on a MBP 2012 running 10.9.2. Thanks.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 6, 2014, 03:27 PM
 
Sounds like bad preference files that somehow fail to save.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 6, 2014, 04:54 PM
 
Thank you. How would I fix this?
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 7, 2014, 04:55 AM
 
Look through your Preferences folder (it's in your hidden Library folder, hold option to select it from the Go menu in Finder) to see if you can find a file with a promising name. All of Apple's have names beginning with "com.apple". Try moving it out of the Preferences folder and restarting to see if that fixes the problem. I'm not at a Mac right now so I can't check exactly what the filename is, but have a look and see if you can find it.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 7, 2014, 11:46 PM
 
Thanks, I assume it is this one: com.apple.systempreferences.plist but not sure what to do after
     
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 9, 2014, 06:45 AM
 
Drag that file to your desktop. Make sure it doesn't just copy the file (there should not be a little "+" shown with the cursor). Now restart and see if sharing stays off.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 9, 2014, 03:55 PM
 
I was going to suggest restarting for another reason - sometimes changes made to apps are lost when the computer crashes, and the app reverts to its previous state when opened again. I don't know if this would apply to System Preferences, but restarting on purpose after changing the preference (so the computer will shut down methodically) might do the trick.
     
   
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2014 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2