Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > GUI Customization > The Offical OS X Customizations Screenshot Thread

The Offical OS X Customizations Screenshot Thread (Page 201)
Thread Tools
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 06:57 PM
 
Originally Posted by vip
click on the desktop, hold apple+j then select show item info
Got it, Thanks
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 07:23 PM
 
Would you be able to tell me why is my second HD does not show the whole info?
"148.93 GB, ...13GB free"

Is there a way to make it shows the whole thing instead of "...13GB free"?
( Last edited by Lucky8; Jun 10, 2005 at 12:50 PM. )
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 07:44 PM
 
Originally Posted by Lucky8
Would you be able to tell me why is my second HD does not show the whole info?
"148.93 GB, ...13GB free"
http://www.homepage.mac.com/gluck8/..../Picture 1.jpg
Is there a way to make it shows the whole thing instead of "...13GB free"?
To much text...lower the font size..
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 08:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by digitaljames
To much text...lower the font size..
lowered text font size, no change.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Home in front of my computer
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 08:26 PM
 
It's a bug in OS X with huge HD sizes. My HD's only go at most to 2 digits. But it seems 3 digit GB disks are pains.

Report it to Apple. Everyone report it to Apple. Then drive over to Cupertino and let them know what for. Tell them you must have it fixed or you'll organize a sit-in. And Steve won't be able to ignore a sit-in, he'll probably sit in with you guys. Apple's production will come to a halt all because Steve couldn't ignore a good old fashioned sit-in. They'll have it fixed by tomorrow.

Good luck!
     
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london, uk
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 09:22 PM
 
i'm new to all this themeing and modding malarky, having been in awe of all you great, talented artists who create such beautiful themes and so, having read as much as i could- great resources to be found here, i have begun...

i was dying to get rid of that horrible (in my opinion) brushed metal look so i have been busy modding my system and i now have got to this...


click on snapshots for full images-





expose'd





just wanted to say thanks to this community for being so inspiring and human (?!)

thanks.
( Last edited by sofamystic; Jun 10, 2005 at 07:32 AM. )
Some people wear their heart up on their sleeve.
I wear mine underneath my right pant leg,
strapped to my boot.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 09:29 PM
 
Originally Posted by sofamystic
i'm new to all this themeing and modding malarky, having been in awe of all you great, talented artists who create such beautiful themes and so, having read as much as i could- great resources to be found here, i have begun...

i was dying to get rid of that horrible (in my opinion) brushed metal look so i have been busy modding my system and i now have got to this...


expose'd

i haven't learnt yet to post snazzy little teaser boxes of snapshots, that will come, so the screenshots are "raw", so to speak.

just wanted to say thanks to this community for being so inspiring and human (?!)

thanks.
Welcome to macnn.....now, stop posting until you learn to make "little teaser boxes of snapshots" because you breaking the forum rules for inline images.
This will make your teasers for you....

http://www.twistedninjasw.com/snapshooter/
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:13 PM
 
Originally Posted by Jasoco
It's a bug in OS X with huge HD sizes. My HD's only go at most to 2 digits. But it seems 3 digit GB disks are pains.

Report it to Apple. Everyone report it to Apple. Then drive over to Cupertino and let them know what for. Tell them you must have it fixed or you'll organize a sit-in. And Steve won't be able to ignore a sit-in, he'll probably sit in with you guys. Apple's production will come to a halt all because Steve couldn't ignore a good old fashioned sit-in. They'll have it fixed by tomorrow.

Good luck!
It's not a bug with 3 digit drives....


     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:21 PM
 
Originally Posted by sofamystic
i'm new to all this themeing and modding malarky, having been in awe of all you great, talented artists who create such beautiful themes and so, having read as much as i could- great resources to be found here, i have begun...

i was dying to get rid of that horrible (in my opinion) brushed metal look so i have been busy modding my system and i now have got to this...

expose'd

i haven't learnt yet to post snazzy little teaser boxes of snapshots, that will come, so the screenshots are "raw", so to speak.

just wanted to say thanks to this community for being so inspiring and human (?!)

thanks.
How did you put that calendar date on the right top of the menu bar?
( Last edited by Lucky8; Jun 9, 2005 at 10:41 PM. )
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:25 PM
 
WTF are you quoting his images for?.......
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:33 PM
 
Originally Posted by digitaljames
It's not a bug with 3 digit drives....


Sorry about that.
Anyway how did you get that 3-digit HD to show up?
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:39 PM
 
then-go-back-and edit your post.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:42 PM
 
Originally Posted by digitaljames
then-go-back-and edit your post.
OK, Done.
Now can you tell me how to do it?
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:44 PM
 
I didn't *do* anything. Mine just works. Maybe it's because I have a different system font.....
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 10:49 PM
 
Originally Posted by digitaljames
I didn't *do* anything. Mine just works. Maybe it's because I have a different system font.....
Ah...that sucks...
Do you know how to put that calendar thing on the top right of the menu bar?
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2005, 11:17 PM
 
looks like fuzzy clock...look at versiontracker.com
     
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:00 AM
 
Today's desk:


Clean Dirty

Quick question...

Has anyone made a widget that looks better than iTunes Companion. It works pretty well for me, yet I wish there was something a bit more stylish...

Also, I want to install Docunium 1,5, but I can't figure out how to install all the icons. Any tips?
Click Away
"It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool, than to open it and remove all doubt." - Mark Twain
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Home in front of my computer
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:00 AM
 
Thread. Going. Downhill. Fast.

The HD space bug doesn't show up when text is on the side apparently because the label is wider there. Which is actually where I keep my text (as having my icons set to 72x72 and font size at 12 is the only way to have icons tile to the left edge perfectly.

Also, to edit a post, use the edit button on the post. Now please, edit that post someone and turn them into links!
     
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 04:39 AM
 
Sofamystic, I believe that is a pretty cool solution to getting rid of brushed metal (other than removing the texture), now the question on hopefully everyones lips.... care to share??
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 04:42 AM
 
Originally Posted by bmzollinhofer
Also, I want to install Docunium 1,5, but I can't figure out how to install all the icons. Any tips?
If you have Candybar, try dropping the app icon into the "App Extras" section of Candybar. For example, drop Preview.app into the App Extras well in Candybar and you can replace the filetype icons with those of Docunium.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london, uk
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 07:13 AM
 
Originally Posted by digitaljames
Welcome to macnn.....now, stop posting until you learn to make "little teaser boxes of snapshots" because you breaking the forum rules for inline images.
This will make your teasers for you....
got it and will use it from now on. thanks.

Originally Posted by Lucky8
How did you put that calendar date on the right top of the menu bar?
MenuCalendarClock ical, and the time is fuzzy clock- great freeware- it can even tell the time in elmer fudd english and bavarian...

Originally Posted by orwell
Sofamystic, I believe that is a pretty cool solution to getting rid of brushed metal (other than removing the texture), now the question on hopefully everyones lips.... care to share??
i stole and borrowed resources from Max and from various threads here. don't want to share without getting permissions... but will get on it (no promises on how soon...)
Some people wear their heart up on their sleeve.
I wear mine underneath my right pant leg,
strapped to my boot.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: las vegas
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 11:25 AM
 
a halo movie?



theme: dark grey (mip - mod in progress)
wall: the dark grey one supplied by apple
apps running: safari, mail, pixadex, and a couple of others.
sounds: gorillaz
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 12:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by Jasoco
Thread. Going. Downhill. Fast.

The HD space bug doesn't show up when text is on the side apparently because the label is wider there. Which is actually where I keep my text (as having my icons set to 72x72 and font size at 12 is the only way to have icons tile to the left edge perfectly.

Also, to edit a post, use the edit button on the post. Now please, edit that post someone and turn them into links!
It's still the same thing with the icons to the left.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:07 PM
 
Lucky, where did you get that desktop?

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NY, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:12 PM
 
Originally Posted by Lucky8
It's still the same thing with the icons to the left.
how do you get the temperature in the toolbar?
iMac 17 800
12" Powerbook Rev. C
20GB 3rd Gen iPod
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:14 PM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
Lucky, where did you get that desktop?
I forgot where I got it from. I'll see if I can find it.
Anyway, do you know how to fix my problem with the HD info?
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:22 PM
 
What size are your drives? Free space on both?

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:30 PM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
What size are your drives? Free space on both?
Boot drive = 74.41GB, 62.03 GB free
Data drive = 148.93 GB, 148.13 GB free (recently installed)
What's up with the HD size? They were suppose to be 80GB and 160GB but after initialization turned out to be 74GB and 148GB.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by shreddog
how do you get the temperature in the toolbar?
Shreddog,
Google "Temp Monitor" and you will find it.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:40 PM
 
Hmm, they should be showing. The size it right. Once you install the OS and the other invisible stuff in a drive, you come up with less than what's on the box.

Have you tried logging off and logging back in and seeing if that helps? What about quitting the Finder? You could also try searching (Apple F) for finder. Trash the finder.plist and try setting the view options again.

If that fails, start a thread on it. Will probably get more answers than a desktop screenshot thread.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 01:50 PM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
Hmm, they should be showing. The size it right. Once you install the OS and the other invisible stuff in a drive, you come up with less than what's on the box.
Yeah, but my second HD is empty. And its showing 148GB instead of 160GB.

Have you tried logging off and logging back in and seeing if that helps? What about quitting the Finder? You could also try searching (Apple F) for finder. Trash the finder.plist and try setting the view options again.

If that fails, start a thread on it. Will probably get more answers than a desktop screenshot thread.
I have tried everything and NO luck. But some ppl got it to show up OK. Like digitaljames, but he said he didnt do nothing. It just shows up.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london, uk
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 02:10 PM
 
regarding how much GB's show up - in computer language 1 kilobyte is actually 1024 bytes. Therefore, 1GB is actually 1.07 billion bytes (1024x1024x1024). In the real world, 1 gigabyte equals 1 billion bytes (1000x1000x1000), and this is the way the manufacturers of hard drives choose to quote their capacities- so 160GB will show up as anything from 145 to 150GB. it's al for marketing purposes- my "40GB" ipod only shows around 37 GB and my "20GB" internal hd on my powerbook registers at 18GB

formatting a drive also installs firmware onto it which takes up room, not much, but...
Some people wear their heart up on their sleeve.
I wear mine underneath my right pant leg,
strapped to my boot.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 02:19 PM
 
Originally Posted by sofamystic
regarding how much GB's show up - in computer language 1 kilobyte is actually 1024 bytes. Therefore, 1GB is actually 1.07 billion bytes (1024x1024x1024). In the real world, 1 gigabyte equals 1 billion bytes (1000x1000x1000), and this is the way the manufacturers of hard drives choose to quote their capacities- so 160GB will show up as anything from 145 to 150GB. it's al for marketing purposes- my "40GB" ipod only shows around 37 GB and my "20GB" internal hd on my powerbook registers at 18GB

formatting a drive also installs firmware onto it which takes up room, not much, but...
Thanks for the inputs Sofamystic,
Anyway did you have to pay for that MenuCalendarClock?
I heard they give you problems and wont let you uninstall it unless you pay for it.
     
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 02:20 PM
 
CalendarClock used to be freeware then it jumped to shareware. I still use the free version and have no problems with it. Still works great.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london, uk
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 02:29 PM
 
a nice freeware/donatinware menubar calendar is menucal

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16760

"MenuCal is a simple menu item for Mac OS X. It features a drop down calendar that can display iCal information for any date. It is currently in its infancy, and this release is mainly intended to gather feedback. Please visit the website to see what it can and can't do in its current form.

MenuCal is considered donationware"
Some people wear their heart up on their sleeve.
I wear mine underneath my right pant leg,
strapped to my boot.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 02:55 PM
 
Originally Posted by sofamystic
a nice freeware/donatinware menubar calendar is menucal

http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/16760

"MenuCal is a simple menu item for Mac OS X. It features a drop down calendar that can display iCal information for any date. It is currently in its infancy, and this release is mainly intended to gather feedback. Please visit the website to see what it can and can't do in its current form.

MenuCal is considered donationware"
That's not the one you are using, is it?
     
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: london, uk
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 03:38 PM
 
no, but it's a freeware alternative to menucalendarclock ical- and has the functions that most (including me) would need. and to answer your original question, yes, i have registered menucalendarclock.
Some people wear their heart up on their sleeve.
I wear mine underneath my right pant leg,
strapped to my boot.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 08:30 PM
 
Back to mods....

Siro 2.0 Black Menus (NFR)
G5 Icons by the Iconfactory
Organic wall mod (Sticboy)



(NFR) = *not for release
     
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2005, 08:58 PM
 
how can you post so many screenshots, all with different themes? i mean...i see one a day from some people, but i'm fine with a theme for a few weeks. i understand the ones from those who change the desktop picture, but...some change everything daily/weekly, it seems.

it'll get sore, if you keep playing with it like that.
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 04:37 AM
 


Theme: Milk (Powermetal apple menu button)
DP: 07734 by Scott Jackson
Icons: Minite (esXXI) and Milkanodized (rimshot)
Preview c/o Snapshooter with border by me
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Home in front of my computer
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 06:07 AM
 
Damn. Scott Jackson needs to make his desktops bigger than 1024x768! I really like that picture!
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 06:08 AM
 
Originally Posted by nbn22385


Theme: Milk (Powermetal apple menu button)
DP: 07734 by Scott Jackson
Icons: Minite (esXXI) and Milkanodized (rimshot)
Preview c/o Snapshooter with border by me

I can't seem to find a link for that cool font you're using... handlebrot or something like that. Can you help me out?
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 06:59 AM
 
Originally Posted by His Dudeness
I can't seem to find a link for that cool font you're using... handlebrot or something like that. Can you help me out?
http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/urw/han...ac-ttf/222083/
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cupertino
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 07:05 AM
 
Originally Posted by cruciarius
how can you post so many screenshots, all with different themes? i mean...i see one a day from some people, but i'm fine with a theme for a few weeks. i understand the ones from those who change the desktop picture, but...some change everything daily/weekly, it seems.

it'll get sore, if you keep playing with it like that.
I work during the day, you can't play golf at night....it relaxes me.
     
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 07:54 AM
 
Thanks!
     
TSU
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tokyo
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 10:54 AM
 


Cathobe Beta
icons: mix
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 02:03 PM
 
Originally Posted by Gerrit Vanoppen
How do you make the menu bar transparent?
     
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: May 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 02:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by Lucky8
How do you make the menu bar transparent?
This menubar is hardcoded in the same color I'm using for the desktop. AFAIK menubar transparancy doesn't (yet) work in Tiger like it did in Panther.
     
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 02:10 PM
 
Originally Posted by Gerrit Vanoppen
This menubar is hardcoded in the same color I'm using for the desktop. AFAIK menubar transparancy doesn't (yet) work in Tiger like it did in Panther.
So there is no way to make the menu bar transparent in Tiger?
     
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Paris, Bruxelles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2005, 03:52 PM
 
     
 
Thread Tools
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2015 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd., Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2