MacNN Forums (http://forums.macnn.com/)
-   Applications (http://forums.macnn.com/applications/)
-   -   Can't delete song from playlist and library both? (http://forums.macnn.com/82/applications/504068/cant-delete-song-playlist-library-both/)

 
jeff k Sep 16, 2013 11:26 PM
Can't delete song from playlist and library both?
itunes 11.0.5,
Strangely, I don't see a way to delete a song from my playlist which will also nuke it from the Library. Have I missed this? thanks.
 
Laminar Sep 17, 2013 12:30 AM
What happens if you hold the Option key and press the Delete key?
 
jeff k Sep 17, 2013 02:43 AM
I think that it, thanks Laminar, but it does bring up a dialogue box, is there a keystroke that nukes both without even that dialogue box?
 
Laminar Sep 17, 2013 04:17 AM
I'm not sure - you can find all of the keyboard shortcuts in the iTunes Help menu > Keyboard shortcuts (don't have a Mac in front of me right now).
 
jeff k Sep 17, 2013 02:09 PM
thanks L, just see the one you gave there.
 
Pat J Oct 1, 2013 03:47 PM
Library vs. Playlist
In order for you to totally delete a song, you must delete it from the library. Deleting it from the playlist only deletes it from there. All your songs reside in the Library. Playlists are basically shortcuts to the song. That's why you can have them in different playlists. The song isn't being duplicated. It's just creating another pointer to that song.
 
jeff k Oct 1, 2013 05:36 PM
Excellent post Pat.
Yet the option key and delete with give the option then to nuke it from the Libary correct?

Also, interesting that after I import, I make a playslist (from the songs imported), then name the songs inside the playlist and those names seem to stick and become the official Library songs.
 
Spheric Harlot Oct 2, 2013 03:00 AM
Of course.

You only have one single copy of a song in the library. That song can be shown in any number of playlists.

This is a basic concept of Apple's stuff: photos are in the iPhoto library and can show in multiple albums (still the same, one photo, though). Address Book contacts live in the basic address book library, but can be members of multiple groups. And same with iTunes playlists.

In all of these cases, if you're working on something in a playlist, iPhoto album, or contact group, you're working on the original.
If you remove it from a playlist, photo album, or group, it will remain in the library, and in all other playlists, photo albums, groups.
If you remove it from the library, it's gone and will have disappeared from all playlists/photo albums/groups.
 
jeff k Oct 2, 2013 01:46 PM
thanks S, nice explanation.
 
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.

Copyright © 2005-2007 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2