MacNN Forums (http://forums.macnn.com/)
-   iPhone, iPad & iPod (http://forums.macnn.com/iphone-ipad-and-ipod/)
-   -   iPhone 1 - Lost My Apps! (http://forums.macnn.com/103/iphone-ipad-and-ipod/503843/iphone-1-lost-my-apps/)

l008com Sep 10, 2013 03:12 AM
iPhone 1 - Lost My Apps!
I still have my original 2007 iPhone. I have a much newer one I use as a phone, and I've been using my old one for a few years as an alarm clock. I set the screen to never sleep, and leave the alarm clock running. It has worked pretty well. Until yesterday. I did a backup, and restore of the phone, because it was acting weird. Now ALL of the 3rd party apps are gone, except for the old TDAmeritrade app. The newest OS this phone can run is OS3, and of course no current apps can run on an OS that old. I don't know why the apps weren't restored from the backup? Is there any way to get them back? Without apps, this thing is now completely useless.

shifuimam Sep 10, 2013 11:04 AM
I'm pretty sure you're SOL.

I don't know why your apps didn't restore when you restored your backup. It's possible that iTunes enforced an update of all the apps on the phone, which would have rendered all of them unusable since they probably all require at least iOS 4 now.

You might try jailbreaking and manually installing all the apps you want. I think there's a program that lets you recover stuff from an iPhone backup.

P Sep 17, 2013 11:55 AM
Apple has just modified the App Store so it will offer older versions of software for devices that are limited in which OS versions it will support. Give it a try to see if you can download your apps again now.

Spheric Harlot Sep 17, 2013 03:12 PM
I was just going to post that.

This is awesome, and it's exactly what you're looking for:

Apple Begins Offering 'Last Compatible' Version of Apps for Users Running Legacy Versions of iOS - Mac Rumors

l008com Sep 18, 2013 05:56 PM