Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Developer Center > What can I do with my HTML site?

What can I do with my HTML site?
rozwado1
Mac Elite
May 5, 2004, 11:12 PM

Right now I have an HTML page and I hate it.

I'm on my school's server and they don't offer PHP or MySQL, and I don't have the money to buy space on a server. I'm new to anything outside oh HTML, so I have a few basic questions.

Can I run any cool Javascripts without installing apps on the server?
I know PHP and MySQL require some installations, even though I don't really understand.

Are there any neat ways to post pics in HTML? I've used iPhoto to do some of the pages, but I'm looking for a .Mac slideshow (without .Mac). Ideally, I'd like to have something like Gallery, but then I need PHP.

I just need to redo this page b/c it's boring and pointless. I want to implement my iTunes Library, but I think I'll need PHP to do anything cool with it. So, should I just scrap this project and wait til I can afford PHP?
( Last edited by rozwado1; May 12, 2004 at 02:46 PM. )

heresiarh
Dedicated MacNNer
May 5, 2004, 11:19 PM

If you can develop a nice clean design, go for it. that is the most you can do. using cool javascript applets or scripts just ruins the website according to my experience.

thePurpleGiant
Mac Elite
May 6, 2004, 02:17 AM

Originally posted by rozwado1:
Are there any neat ways to post pics in HTML? I've used iPhoto to do some of the pages, but I'm looking for a .Mac slideshow (without .Mac). Ideally, I'd like to have something like Gallery, but then I need PHP.