Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Drudge Report vs. Safari

Drudge Report vs. Safari
Thread Tools
Yokohama
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 6, 2009, 07:44 PM
 
When I log onto the drudgereport.com using Safari, I soon get a pop-up message saying Slow Script: A script is making Safari unresponsive. Do you want to continue running the script, or stop it?
If I click STOP the message returns maybe a minute or two later. If I press CONTINUE, the message returns in a few seconds.
I don't have this problem when using FireFox. I use the latest versions of Mac OS and Safari on a G5 PowerPC chip in an iMac. Any suggestions about what is causing this will be appreciated.
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 6, 2009, 07:59 PM
 
It loads OK for me on Leopard 3.2.1, what OS and version of Safari are you using?
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 6, 2009, 10:03 PM
 
I'll bet a script in the banner ads caused Safari to stumble. Yet another reason I use FireFox and Ad Block Plus...

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
Yokohama  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2009, 12:50 AM
 
"It loads OK for me on Leopard 3.2.1, what OS and version of Safari are you using?"

I'm using 10.5.6 and Safari 3.2.1. This has happened fairly recently, maybe two months ago. Before that no problems on this site for years using Safari. Also, it is ONLY this website where the trouble occurs. Given the site's popularity, it seems strange other Safari users would not have encountered it.
     
mactoids
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2009, 12:51 PM
 
I went to Drudge with Safari to see if I'd get any script errors but no problems here either. You might wish to enable the hidden Safari Develop Menu and then navigate to Drudge and select Develop > Show Error Console > Scripts to see what turns up. Good luck.
mactoids.com  work smarter
mac os x tips and imac history
     
Laminar
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2009, 02:29 PM
 
Could this be flash-related?
     
fisherKing
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: brooklyn ny
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2009, 03:02 PM
 
okay here, too. 10.5.6, safari 3.2.1...
"At first, there was Nothing. Then Nothing inverted itself and became Something.
And that is what you all are: inverted Nothings...with potential" (Sun Ra)
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2009, 10:37 PM
 
<polwar> the obvious answer here is to stop visiting the drudge report.</polwar>

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
spacefreak
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2009, 10:56 PM
 
I've visited Drudge a few times each day for years, almost always in Safari. Once in a blue moon, some ad appears that triggers the error. It's never often enough to make me use a different browser.
     
milhous
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Millersville, PA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2009, 01:20 AM
 
Aside the fact that I've been reading Drudge for over 10 years, I've seen those script errors a handful of times, but I've never seen when browsing Drudge.

Maybe it could do with Leopard's self-tuning TCP stack? What kind of ping times are you getting? Open the Terminal app and ping drudgereport.com. I get sub-100ms.
F = ma
     
Yokohama  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2009, 11:22 PM
 
"Maybe it could do with Leopard's self-tuning TCP stack? What kind of ping times are you getting? Open the Terminal app and ping drudgereport.com. I get sub-100ms."

Thanks for all the suggestions. Don't know how to do ping, though.
I'm wondering if it's a straightforward procedure to save my bookmarks, delete Safari, download Safari again and import my bookmarks--then try Drudge fresh?
     
Cold Warrior
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Polwaristan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2009, 11:43 PM
 
Open Network Utility (in your Applications/Utilities folder), click the Ping tab, and input drudgereport.com. See what ms (millisecond) reports you get back.
     
MindFad
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 02:33 AM
 
Originally Posted by chris v View Post
<polwar> the obvious answer here is to stop visiting the drudge report.</polwar>
Well, if someone wasn't gonna do it, I was.
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 10:57 AM
 
It just means that a Javascript action is timing out. It is quite possible that your CPU isn't fast enough to handle whatever is going on, especially if you are doing something that is also CPU intensive in another app at the same time.

Fwiw, it happened all the time at me.com during the first week or two of the MobileMe upgrade on any platform and in any browser.
     
Yokohama  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 07:32 PM
 
Cold Warrior thanks for the ping explanation. Here is my report. Here it is, but what does it all mean!?
PING drudgereport.com (66.28.209.219): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=0 ttl=53 time=136.423 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=1 ttl=53 time=135.839 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=2 ttl=53 time=135.972 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=3 ttl=53 time=136.228 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=4 ttl=53 time=135.460 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=5 ttl=53 time=135.520 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=6 ttl=53 time=136.061 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=7 ttl=53 time=135.753 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=8 ttl=53 time=135.650 ms
64 bytes from 66.28.209.219: icmp_seq=9 ttl=53 time=136.277 ms

To JKT: But wouldn't the same problem affect FireFox?

To MindFad and chris v: If you had a problem posting on this Forum, would you take your own advice and just give up without attempting to solve the problem?
     
MindFad
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 09:49 PM
 
The PolWar is arguably as terrible as Drudge, so you may have a point there! I wasn't advising giving up—just partaking in Chris's funny. In this context, though, some things are obviously worth giving up on.
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 10, 2009, 04:07 AM
 
Originally Posted by Yokohama View Post
To JKT: But wouldn't the same problem affect FireFox?
Not necessarily - they use completely different engines to run JS code so it is possible that Safari is getting stuck on a bit of code that Firefox is able to handle without issue. Try some other WebKit-based browsers and see if it still occurs, including the WebKit nightly from Surfin' Safari.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,