Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > FTP in through Firewall

FTP in through Firewall
Thread Tools
jhopkins
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Upper East Coast
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 05:12 PM
 
Is it possible to have inbound FTP access to a server through a Firewall that is NAT with PPPoE? I know the short answer is to pony up for a static IP, but i'm curious if what I am trying to do is even an option.
     
John Strung
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 06:34 PM
 
     
Scarpa
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 07:19 PM
 
Yeah, you'll have to forward the ftp port to your ftp server on the LAN. Dealing with PPPoE isn't as bad as I thought, I used to have a static and just got new service with pppoe. I figured out my IP about a week ago using www.whatismyip.com and it hasn't changed since.

You can also look into a dynamic dns service so you don't have to worry about it, but IMO I'd just pay for the static ip in that case since both cost money.
     
MrNo
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2003, 08:01 PM
 
If you are going to use default ports, just forward port 20 and 21 to whatever IP address is the computer you are running a server on.
     
kampl
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 04:48 PM
 
Originally posted by Scarpa:
Yeah, you'll have to forward the ftp port to your ftp server on the LAN. Dealing with PPPoE isn't as bad as I thought, I used to have a static and just got new service with pppoe. I figured out my IP about a week ago using www.whatismyip.com and it hasn't changed since.

You can also look into a dynamic dns service so you don't have to worry about it, but IMO I'd just pay for the static ip in that case since both cost money.
Free Dynamic DNS Service
     
Scarpa
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 06:47 PM
 
Originally posted by kampl:
Free Dynamic DNS Service
Cool! My friend told me he pays $25 a year for this service, but I guess he forgot to mention he has his own domain. I just registered and setup an account in 10 minutes. Thanks
     
kampl
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 29, 2003, 08:30 PM
 
Originally posted by Scarpa:
Cool! My friend told me he pays $25 a year for this service, but I guess he forgot to mention he has his own domain. I just registered and setup an account in 10 minutes. Thanks
Glad to help. The DNS Update application works very well in my experience for automatically updating their service with your current IP address also. Enjoy.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,