Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Soldier of Fortune II

Soldier of Fortune II
Thread Tools
littlegreenspud
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 07:04 AM
 
Soldier of Fortune (SOF) runs about 10 to 20fps on my dual gig 2002 quicksilver with a GeForce 4Ti!

what is going on

I am running 10.2.1, 1.5Gig RAM. No other apps are running.

Is SOF dual processor aware?
     
blizzard
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 09:47 AM
 
Resolution? Options? Operating system?
Living, working, and freezing in the Canadian north.
     
HamSandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 09:50 AM
 
Ugh, you are almost on the ultimate mac gaming machine and now this...

I am on a 15" TFT iMac and have set everything to something below medium and 640x480 and it still slows down in some places.. But it shouldn't do this on your machine, darn...

Which resolution are you using?

Steve
     
littlegreenspud  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 11:29 AM
 
The operating system is (as mentioned in the original post is 10.2.1

The resolutions I have tried are all of them except 1600x1200 - my monitor does not this.

I have tried all the way from 640x480 with all the settings on lowest and get 10-20fps.

To all the settings on max and get 10-20 fps.

sigh

And I tried the suggestion on the macplay website to no avail.
     
rhombus
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 02:15 PM
 
Originally posted by
Is SOF dual processor aware? [/B]
Only in multiplayer.
     
littlegreenspud  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 02:43 PM
 
I should add that I get 200-240fps in quake III with everything maxxed out at 1280x1024.

50-100fps in Wolfenstein.

50-100 in HOHAA.
     
CheesePuff
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 02:43 PM
 
Originally posted by littlegreenspud:
The operating system is (as mentioned in the original post is 10.2.1

The resolutions I have tried are all of them except 1600x1200 - my monitor does not this.

I have tried all the way from 640x480 with all the settings on lowest and get 10-20fps.

To all the settings on max and get 10-20 fps.

sigh

And I tried the suggestion on the macplay website to no avail.
Something wrong, probably not on your end. Maybe they have a bug with GeForce4 Ti cards with 10.2.1... who knows. E-mail them, I'm sure you'll get a response with "its a known issue".

On my G4 800, ATI Radeon 7500 (32 MB DDR) and 512 MB RAM I get over 50 fps in 800x600.
     
Vash
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 02:56 PM
 
Always try support sites first....
I had same problem, so after 10 minutes of gameplay I went to Macplay's site.
It says change texture detail to High, then everything is fine, instead of Very high. Go and see for yourself at Macplay.com
Revenge is a meal best served cold.
     
Brad Oliver
Aspyr Staff
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Glendale, AZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2002, 06:49 PM
 
Originally posted by rhombus:
Only in multiplayer.
No, it's not even SMP-aware then, at least on my Mac. Does SMP support work for you? In my SOF2MP console, it says that it's trying, and then it says it failed.

Brad
     
littlegreenspud  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2002, 11:04 AM
 
Update...

The same settings running a Radeon PCI in the quicksilver gives me 10-15 FPS (down to 6-8fps in hectic fights). This is from a PCI card!

Vash, I mentioned in my second post that I have tried the 'solution' from the macplay web site

Using CPU Monitor and System manager to check the CPU usage (just incase it was them holding back the Geforce 4 Ti) Shows that the maximum for either CPU only reached 50%

Any other ideas?
     
rhombus
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2002, 01:39 PM
 
Originally posted by Brad Oliver:


No, it's not even SMP-aware then, at least on my Mac. Does SMP support work for you? In my SOF2MP console, it says that it's trying, and then it says it failed.

Brad
I haven't got SoF II yet. I may not get it at all if that it true (I have a G4 450DP). I emailed Macplay about SMP before SoF 2 was released and they replied that it worked in multiplayer only and it was Raven's decision not enable it in singleplayer.
If SMP doesn't work at all I assume it is a bug which Macplay may not know about.
     
littlegreenspud  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2002, 02:21 PM
 
Ok more updates.

Brad, smp also fails on my dual G4 in multiplayer.

But when multiplayer runs I get 90 fps constantly compared to single player, 10-20 fps
     
imacman11
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Pensacola, FL, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 25, 2002, 09:44 AM
 
I think that if they purposely disabled SMP on the single player, that is retarded! This game is probably by far the most demanding and for it not to take advantage of the dual processing, makes for horrible gameplay! Also, it makes the Mac look even worse as a gaming machine.... (maybe thats what raven had in mind?)
     
littlegreenspud  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 27, 2002, 11:33 AM
 
Update: -

Still no reply from Macplay re my query...
     
Guy Incognito
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 28, 2002, 12:58 AM
 
Where's Rickster...I'm disappointed about this 'non-MP-awareness' issue.
     
blizzard
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2002, 12:59 PM
 
It's not just a matter of wishing SMP-awareness into an application, guys...while it's true that the Q3 engine upon which SoF2 is based is SMP-aware, there is a whole lotta other code in there (scripting et al) that can't be SMP aware unless the original creator (Raven I believe) designed it like that from the get-go. So, if it isn't SMP-aware on the PC, it won't be on the Mac either. Not a whole lot that Omni can do about it, no matter how talented they are.
Living, working, and freezing in the Canadian north.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,