Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > Will a flight sim work with integrated graphics?

Will a flight sim work with integrated graphics?
Thread Tools
littlegreenspud
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2006, 02:21 PM
 
Mods - I didn't know which forum to put this in so please feel free to move it if you think it needs it.

I have a friend that wants to buy a Mac (Mac mini or maybe the new MacBook) but wants to be able to run a dedicated radio control flight simulator. None exist for the Mac, so he wants to use Boot camp to boot into Windows to run the flight sim and OS X for everything else.

So the questions I have are:

Is the integrated graphics up to running one of these sims?
Has anyone booted into windows tried this?
Will anyone please try and let me know if it works?

I know it's a lot to ask, but as my Nan says "You don't ask, you don't get!"

Here is a link to a free demo of Reflex XTR.
http://www.reflex-sim.de/reflex-sim/...8bb9641f68bee7

Thanks
     
SpaceMonkey
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2006, 02:30 PM
 
Maybe you should have looked around their web site some more:

Minimum requirements:

* PC Pentium 4 1200 MHz
* 256 MB RAM
* 1 GB available hard disk
* DirectX 8.1-capable 3D hardware accelerated video card with at least 32 MB video ram - AGP2x or better. Shared RAM and 3D software emulation is not supported.
* CD drive
* USB port
* R/C transmitter with student or DSC socket of at least 4 channels
* Operating system Windows 98/98SE/ME/2000 and XP
So I would guess that no, it doesn't work with integrated graphics.

"One ticket to Washington, please. I have a date with destiny."
     
littlegreenspud  (op)
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: The Sunny Isle of Wight
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2006, 03:32 PM
 
Oops, yes I should have read more, but I was posting for a friend and that was one example of a flight sim that had a demo that could be tried.

Well that's my excuse!
     
Gordio
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 16, 2006, 05:57 PM
 
How odd. I never seen taht restriction while my days of PC gaming. but then again, i never had to worry about it since i had a separte V card
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,