Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Alternative Operating Systems > VISTA on its own MacPro Hard Drive??

VISTA on its own MacPro Hard Drive??
Thread Tools
masugu
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bay Area
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 27, 2007, 10:47 PM
 
Hope this topic is fine for this forum.

I want a new MacPro. If / when they get a decent graphics card - pray for NVIDIA 8800...Can someone tell me if I can load Windows VISTA on its own Hard Drive via Boot camp and keep OS 10 pristine on the main drive? I am hoping to avoid building another Win Box - just for games - if I can have Vista and whatever service packs etc. by end of year on a Mac and devote that drive to gaming.
masugu - "Straight Ahead"
BlacBook Core Duo / Original Intel-based MB - DIY Core i7 PC |
     
Mac Write
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 28, 2007, 12:34 AM
 
You can use a PC video card, just switch from the Mac video card to the PC one when you reboot (since the PC Video card won't work on Mac OS X). Yes you can erase an entire drive and use it just for Windows using Boot Camp.
Get busy living or get busy dying
--Stephen King
     
mac128k-1984
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 28, 2007, 08:44 AM
 
Yes,
I'm running my macpro just as you said. I have OSX on one 250gig drive, I have Vista on another 250gig drive. I'm not running a nVidia 8800 though, I have the supplied xt1900x video card.
Michael
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 28, 2007, 09:21 AM
 
Using Boot Camp, you can install another OS on ANY internal drive. And with the MP's space for multiple drives, that means you could have OS X on the first drive and another OS on that one and every other hard drive you could install.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 1, 2007, 09:11 PM
 
Yep. I have a triple boot system - one OS per drive; OS X, Win XP, Vista.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,