Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Airport firmware update

Airport firmware update
Thread Tools
Thorzdad
Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nobletucky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 15, 2017, 12:26 AM
 
Anyone else get a firmware update pushed out to you today? Apple sure is adamant about getting you to update. My network was down unless I ran the update.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 15, 2017, 09:26 AM
 
IIUC, it has the KRACK patch, so that’s why they’re being forceful.

That said, I, umm... have a friend who hasn’t updated and their network is still up.
     
Thorzdad  (op)
Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nobletucky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 15, 2017, 09:31 AM
 
Really? I went to the kitchen to get some coffee and, when I came back, Airport Utility had self-launched and was front-and-center on my screen, and my Airport Extreme was madly blinking yellow. It was update the firmware or go without a network.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 15, 2017, 09:52 AM
 
At the moment it’s all green.
     
Thorzdad  (op)
Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nobletucky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 15, 2017, 10:34 AM
 
Do you have your utility prefs set to automatically check for updates?
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 15, 2017, 11:36 AM
 
Umm... you mean my friend.

My network is always up to date and completely impregnable. No one out there even think about it.

My friend has no idea.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 16, 2017, 05:03 PM
 
One TC has started blinking, but the other is green. My other APs are hidden in the ceiling so I’m not sure about those.

Dammit! DAMMIT! My friend’s APs.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 18, 2017, 05:40 AM
 
The KRACK bug is not exploitable from the Internet side, subego. It's a nasty one because it is arguably a specification bug, but it isn't very severe.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 18, 2017, 02:32 PM
 
It was for the benefit of the guys in the white van parked outside.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 19, 2017, 08:56 AM
 
They’ve all gone amber at this point (been too busy to fix), but the WiFi’s stayed live.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 19, 2017, 10:22 PM
 
Correction. The two super-old Airport Expresses are still green. I dont think they get updates anymore.

Luckily, they’re only AirTunes clients.
     
Thorzdad  (op)
Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nobletucky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 20, 2017, 09:20 AM
 
Those must be really ancient Expresses. I also have a very old AE on my network (also being used for AirTunes) and it went yellow at the same time my Airport Extreme did.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 20, 2017, 03:14 PM
 
First gen.
     
Waragainstsleep
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 21, 2017, 10:02 PM
 
I have seen one network of Expresses and a time cap do this. Password rejected on one SSID until I updated firmware.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:38 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,