Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > How much have you put into your G5?

How much have you put into your G5?
Thread Tools
ThisGuy
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2004, 02:19 PM
 
I just got a Dual 2.0 (rev. B) 2 weeks ago and so far I have added another 512 MB of RAM, Logitech Z5300 speakers (couldn't pass up the $109 price), and I just placed my order for a 250 GB hard drive. So far that is about $360. I also plan on getting a Bluetooth adapter, PCI Friewire/USB card, and a new monitor. Damn computer and stupid money.
     
flanders
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2004, 04:40 PM
 
just out of curiosity, why a PCI firewire card? Just need more USB ports?
     
davidflas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2004, 04:47 PM
 
I've had a Rev A. Dual 1.8 for about two weeks. The only thing that I've added so far is another GB of RAM. I'm sure down the road I'll add an Aiport Extreme card, another HD or two, and a video card... So far I've spent $193.00USD on my new Mac.
2.7Ghz 15" Mid 2012 MBP 16GB RAM 7.2k 750GB HD anti-glare display|64GB iPad4 ATT LTE|
     
ThisGuy  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2004, 05:46 PM
 
Originally posted by flanders:
just out of curiosity, why a PCI firewire card? Just need more USB ports?
this was the one i was looking at.
Adaptec DuoConnect
it is a Firewire (2 port) & USB (3 port) PCI card.
     
Mac Zealot
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Vallejo, Ca.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2004, 06:09 PM
 
-$2499, I took a mortgage out on it because it added value to my property
In a realm beyond site, the sky shines gold, not blue, there the Triforce's might makes mortal dreams come true.
     
UnixMac
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 33-37-22.350N / 111-54-37.920W
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2004, 07:12 PM
 
Originally posted by ThisGuy:
I just got a Dual 2.0 (rev. B) 2 weeks ago and so far I have added another 512 MB of RAM, Logitech Z5300 speakers (couldn't pass up the $109 price), and I just placed my order for a 250 GB hard drive. So far that is about $360. I also plan on getting a Bluetooth adapter, PCI Friewire/USB card, and a new monitor. Damn computer and stupid money.
Just read my signature line... all has arrived except the CPU box and included Nv6800..

Gotta wait another month for that!
Mac Pro 3.0, ATI 5770 1GB VRAM, 10GB, 2xVelociraptor boot RAID, 4.5TB RAID0 storage, 30" & 20" Apple displays.
2 x Macbook Pro's 17" 3.06 4 GB RAM, 256GB Solid State drives
iMac 17" Core Duo 1GB RAM, & 2 iPhones 8GB, and a Nano in a pear tree!
Apple user since 1981
     
kcourt
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Southern California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2004, 11:26 PM
 
I ordered 2gb ram with my new 2.5 G5, which has not yet arrived. I also got a new digital camera (Canon sureshot A80 - just love it) and a new Canon i960 photo printer. I also ordered the JBL creatures speakers. I already had a canon scanner and HP color laser printer which I will use with my new set-up.

Kathy
     
yfan
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 27, 2004, 12:05 AM
 
Had my rev A 1.8 dp about 4 days now. Just purchased an external enclosure, 300gb drive, 1.5 gb of ram, powermate, and on the brink of getting new speakers.
     
jasonsRX7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 27, 2004, 08:30 AM
 
I've put in 2gb of Crucial ram, a 160gb Seagate sata drive, and an Adaptec DuoConnect usb/firewire card, like ThisGuy mentioned. That card works great, btw.
     
alligator
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Minnesota
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 27, 2004, 09:38 PM
 
Stupid G5 made me like Macs so much I went out and bought a PowerBook too. Did I need it? Nope. Do I use them? All the time.

Oh, and I bought more memory for each one, new LCD monitor, Creature speakers, iPod to go with it, and a while bunch of other junk just to make the desk look "cool." It's only money.
     
Maflynn
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 27, 2004, 10:15 PM
 
Originally posted by alligator:
Stupid G5 made me like Macs so much I went out and bought a PowerBook too.
I've been a mac user for some time but I'm in the same boat. I have a PB which by the way I'm typing on and a G5. The G5 is my main machine but when I need to be mobile or just want to surf the net in the living room with the tv on. The PB comes out. That too is an awesome machine.

Mike
     
OzarkMtn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Heber Springs, AR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2004, 01:05 AM
 
If your serious about listening to music and want to take advantage of the optical(Toslink) digital out connectors, take a look at these speakers. They have great sound with absolutely no noise or hum.

These are what I added to my G5 system, I was tired of plastic speakers.

http://www.edirol.com/products/info/ma20d.html
Cheers,

Just say "NO" to PLASTIC SPEAKERS!!
     
nbnz
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2004, 01:34 AM
 
Originally posted by OzarkMtn:
If your serious about listening to music and want to take advantage of the optical(Toslink) digital out connectors, take a look at these speakers. They have great sound with absolutely no noise or hum.

These are what I added to my G5 system, I was tired of plastic speakers.

http://www.edirol.com/products/info/ma20d.html
wow, they are NICE speakers...
iMac, Intel Core-Duo 2GHz, 2GB, 250GB, OS X 10.4
PowerBook 12", 867MHz, 640MB, 60GB, OS X 10.4
iMac G3, 333MHz, 288MB, 6GB, OS X 10.3
iPods: 3G iPod, 1G mini, 1G shuffle, 2G nano
     
ThisGuy  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2004, 04:21 PM
 
Originally posted by ThisGuy:
I just got a Dual 2.0 (rev. B) 2 weeks ago and so far I have added another 512 MB of RAM, Logitech Z5300 speakers (couldn't pass up the $109 price), and I just placed my order for a 250 GB hard drive. So far that is about $360. I also plan on getting a Bluetooth adapter, PCI Friewire/USB card, and a new monitor. Damn computer and stupid money.
FYI the 250GB Maxtor drive is $159.99 through CompUSA.com.
http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...04&cm_pla=site
     
losta
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: White Plains, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2004, 06:29 PM
 
Any one know how much the Edirols cost?
Thanks in advance.
     
nbnz
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2004, 07:33 PM
 
Originally posted by losta:
Any one know how much the Edirols cost?
Google is your friend...

MA-20D $295
http://www.dvwarehouse.com/_msites/edirol/speakers.html
No doubt you could find them cheaper elsewhere but that's the first place I looked.

Like here...
http://www.andysmusiconline.com/product_p/ma20d.htm
iMac, Intel Core-Duo 2GHz, 2GB, 250GB, OS X 10.4
PowerBook 12", 867MHz, 640MB, 60GB, OS X 10.4
iMac G3, 333MHz, 288MB, 6GB, OS X 10.3
iPods: 3G iPod, 1G mini, 1G shuffle, 2G nano
     
Rev-O
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Parker, Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2004, 09:46 PM
 
I've been strong. I got my rev.A dual 2 GHz with a 23" cinema display, and behaved myself. Just added an extra gig of ram thru Crucial.
Well, I bought an Asante router as well. Which also meant I had to buy some RJ 45 crimpers and a wee bit of Cat5e so I could wire my G5 to my old G3 iMac. Alas, my network was missing something... like an iBook. Had to get one just to round things out.

Been good until now. The dam is starting to break. Just bought a 250 gb external LaCie fw 800 drive today. Planning on the 30" monitor and GeForce 6800 (but haven't ordered it yet). Figure while I'm at it, I'm gonna get some nice speakers... and a ProScope. Always wanted a ProScope.

I'm starting to get really weak...
Curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal!
     
Commodus
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2004, 11:09 PM
 
The system's not even here yet, but since I already have a PowerBook I thought I'd get a couple of components early: a Samsung 710T (17" LCD display with a really fast 12 ms response time) and Logitech Z2200 speakers. The speakers, by the way, sound really nice considering that they only cost $150 Canadian (they normally go for $230).

I'm also going to load up on RAM when the time comes - probably another gigabyte (to bring it up to 1.5 GB). Gotta be ready for Doom 3, you know.
24-inch iMac Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2004, 12:05 AM
 
Had my Dual 2.0 since Monday. Added another GB of RAM to it this afternoon. I did some before/after runs with Photoshop, and while I didn't time it in seconds, it made a pretty substantial difference with filters, resizing, etc. Relaunches PS 7 in ~ 4 secs. compared to ~15 with only 512.

Also ordered a D-link Bluetooth dongle, which works great with my Sony/Erickson T-637.

Not quite sure what to add next-- I need a new display-- my 15" 1024x768 is getting really cramped. I'd like to add another 160 GB internal drive, and another GB of RAM.

I am so over my Cube.

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
wulf
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2004, 07:36 AM
 
The Dual 2GHz I'm typing from (work machine) got an extra 2GB RAM and a second 250GB drive BTO, plus 20" Cinema Display. Then we got an external 500GB FW800 drive to use as the startup disk and striped the two SATAs as a RAID. Added a Blackmagic Decklink card and now have an inexpensive uncompressed video editing setup.

Works very nicely too
     
Gankdawg
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Pacific Northwest
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2004, 09:20 AM
 
1GB of RAM
SuperDrive (from my trusty G4)
Fireware hard drive enclosure (put in an 80GB hard drive from my trusty G4)

Would like to get another gig of RAM and add a second 250GB internal hard drive at some point. And maybe that eyehome device from elgato.
     
Commodus
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2004, 11:29 AM
 
Originally posted by chris v:

Not quite sure what to add next-- I need a new display-- my 15" 1024x768 is getting really cramped. I'd like to add another 160 GB internal drive, and another GB of RAM.

I am so over my Cube.

CV
Okay, running a G5 with a 15" display should be considered a crime against humanity.

I have a 17" LCD, and I'm seriously considering getting a second when my G5 ships!
24-inch iMac Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2004, 12:32 PM
 
Originally posted by Commodus:
Okay, running a G5 with a 15" display should be considered a crime against humanity.

I have a 17" LCD, and I'm seriously considering getting a second when my G5 ships!
Heh, true. My credit card bills are also a crime against humanity, though. My cube died a sudden death, and I just needed to get something up and running at home. Another monitor is definitely in the short-range plan for world-domination.

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
york28
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2004, 01:08 PM
 
Froogle is your friend...
MA-20D $189

When my DP 1.8 arrives monday I will be adding a gig of RAM. Plus I already upgraded the video card to the 9600 and added Airport Extreme and Bluetooth. And bought a Samsung 712N LCD for it (I wanted an Apple display, but the price differential ($450 vs. $1100) was too great.

Next purchase: another display, either another Samsung or a Lacie Electron Blue 19in CRT. And a high capacity SATA HD.
We need less Democrats and Republicans, and more people that think for themselves.

infinite expanse
     
yfan
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2004, 02:53 PM
 
g5s are ram hungry depending on what you do. In a week I went from 512 to 1 gig to 2.5 gigs and there was a drastic imrovement each step of the way up while using AE 6.5 and shake 3.5. The G5s also mix and match ram very well, i've got two muskin cl 2.5 sticks and 2 kingston cl 3 sticks in there.
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 31, 2004, 11:09 PM
 
Added to my stock rev. A DP2.0GHz G5, not including external devices like FW drives, iSight, etc...:
- 2GB of RAM (2.5GB total)
- D-Link bluetooth
- Radeon 9800 Pro Mac Special Edition 256MB
- Adaptec USB 2.0 PCI card (I hate hubs)
     
losta
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: White Plains, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 31, 2004, 11:44 PM
 
20" Apple Cinema Display rev A $1000
1 GB Crucial RAM $156
250 GB SATA drive $159
G5 1.8 dual rev A and Airport extreme card, AppleCare $1999
Adaptec DuoConnect FireWire/USB card $45
Thanks in advance.
     
rob5243
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boston / Ithaca
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 1, 2004, 12:11 PM
 
Dual 2.0 Rev B.
+ 512 MB from crucial
+ Apple Cinema Display "20 (The new one)

Looking to get a better video card in the near future, as well as more RAM. But I'm a bit broke after buying the above mentioned items
     
yfan
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 1, 2004, 08:26 PM
 
anyone have Raptors in their G5? I'm think of picking up pair and putting them into the G5 in raid 0 mode to speed up my HD access time when I'm compositing.
     
ranga
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 2, 2004, 01:35 PM
 
I bought one of the new dual 1.8ghz G5s. I ordered it with 512mb of Ram and a 9600, but I downgraded to the combo drive and removed the modem to save money. Including tax the G5 came to ~ $2000.

After getting the G5 I swapped the combo drive for the DVR-105 I had in my QuickSilver 867. I also added an extra 1gb of Ram (~ $120) and a 250gb Western Digital SATA HD (~ $110).

After buying the G5, I also bought a Canon LiDE 80 (~ $125).

I'm thinking about buying a USB 2.0 PCI card so that I can have my scanner, cf card reader and usb ups plugged in at the same time. Does anyone know of a USB 2.0 PCI card that works in the G5 and supports deep sleep?

--ranga
     
york28
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 3, 2004, 10:19 AM
 
ranga- where did you find a gig of RAM for $100? Everywhere I looked it was around $99 for 512, or $200 for a gig.
We need less Democrats and Republicans, and more people that think for themselves.

infinite expanse
     
ranga
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 3, 2004, 11:53 AM
 
Originally posted by york28:
ranga- where did you find a gig of RAM for $100? Everywhere I looked it was around $99 for 512, or $200 for a gig.
Fry's has a sale on 1 GB (2x512MB) OCZ DDR-3200 400MHz Dual Channel Ram; $130 (after mir). It is $155 (after mir) on outpost.com.

When I said I paid ~ $120, I was off by ~ $10.

HTH,

--ranga
     
fibroptikl
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 3, 2004, 08:02 PM
 
$0

Don't own a G5 so I can't put any money into it.

/me goes to his corner and cries.
     
bells0
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Super Leeds - U.K.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2004, 08:42 AM
 
Haven't even got my D1.8 yet Why do u taunt me Apple??!

But ordered 2 gig of crucial ram to go in her. As for my next purchases:

Looking at getting Logitech's Z3 2.1 Speakers

A new desk to put my baby on and relegate my pc to the floor

New keyboard and mouse when i can decide which best suits the G5 but will work ok on my Xp Pc too

3 weeks tomoz and still no idea when the box will arrive on my doorstep

Chris
     
fritzair
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: WA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2004, 10:50 AM
 
Originally posted by ThisGuy:
this was the one i was looking at.
Adaptec DuoConnect
it is a Firewire (2 port) & USB (3 port) PCI card.
Bought this card some time ago and found it had the "Deep Sleep"issue. Please report back and let me know if this is not the case for your machine.

Thanks,
Mike
     
DeathToWindows
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashville, TN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2004, 11:32 PM
 
I've bought the following

17" Sony LCD
Altec Lansing 3121's
1GB Ram

will be buying an Epson 4180... to replace my ##%#$%$%$ 2450 that died

DP2.0 Refurb due for delivery friday!

Don't try to outweird me, I get stranger things than you free with my breakfast cereal.
     
UnixMac
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 33-37-22.350N / 111-54-37.920W
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2004, 11:46 PM
 
read my signature,,,
Mac Pro 3.0, ATI 5770 1GB VRAM, 10GB, 2xVelociraptor boot RAID, 4.5TB RAID0 storage, 30" & 20" Apple displays.
2 x Macbook Pro's 17" 3.06 4 GB RAM, 256GB Solid State drives
iMac 17" Core Duo 1GB RAM, & 2 iPhones 8GB, and a Nano in a pear tree!
Apple user since 1981
     
solaris
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 03:54 AM
 
Rev A dual 2.0GHz CTO:
+ 2x250GB HDD's
+ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
+ Airport Extreme card
+ 2.5GB RAM (stock 512 + 2GB Crucial)
+ Soundsticks & iSub
+ 23" Cinema HD display
- Modem (no need)

Once they are widely supported (in iApps etc...) I'll be looking for a dual layer/BluRay/etc... Superduperdrive!!!!
     
iCol
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 10:50 AM
 
Not fair. What about us G4 owners? I bought my dualie just after the G5's came out as the store in Sheffield was getting rid of the the FW800 models cheap.

I also added a further 512MB of RAM, a second Ethernet Card, a 17" Apple Studio Display, a 20gig iPod (jump up from my old 5 gig one), and a new digital camera.

And you guys 'serious' about your music? The only realy way is to hook your computer up to a good quality external amplifier, and then have a nice pair of speakers to go with that.

I use a Kenwood 3030R AMP, and a pair of bi-wired Gale 3030 cabinet speakers. Sounds wonderful.

Col
F is for Fooyork.
     
videian28
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: fredericksburg va
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 01:27 PM
 
added 1.5gb to the stock dual 2.5 (cheap ebay ram)

waiting indefinatly on a 6800 lol one day it will come
     
OzarkMtn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Heber Springs, AR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 01:57 PM
 
iCol,

You are absolutely right in your statement about people being serious about listening to music. You can't listen to music and expect to get decent reproduction with PLASTIC SPEAKERS!

I got Edirol MA-20D speakers when I got my G5.


http://www.edirol.com/products/info/ma20d.html

People buy a nice computer like the G5 & then use PLASTIC SPEAKERS.....
( Last edited by OzarkMtn; Aug 24, 2004 at 02:09 PM. )
Cheers,

Just say "NO" to PLASTIC SPEAKERS!!
     
Cincinnatus
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 06:15 PM
 
Hmm...I've replaced the stock Nvidia FX 5200 with an OEM ATI Radeon 9800 Pro, with an aftermarket Verax G03 fan. I also stopped using the analog audio out, instead routing the optical audio through an old standalone Technics AC3 processor.

/Cincinnatus
     
mjankor
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 05:27 AM
 
I've put in 1GB ram, Radeon 9800 Special Edition, ATI Silencer and I'm soon going to add a second 160GB HDD and another 1GB ram.

Chances are if I get bored around the end of the year the Radeon will become an Nvidia 6800 too.
     
voth
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 11:17 AM
 
G5 Dual 2.0Ghz
+ 2GB Ram
+ 160GB HDD
     
discstickers
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 03:12 PM
 
Stock 2.0 CTO'd:
+AE
-SuperDrive
+9600xt (waiting on 6800 )

Purchased:
1GB RAM from Macsolutions
Dell 2001fp 20" LCD.
"It's not like Windows users don't have any power. I think a lot of people are happy with Windows, and that's an incredibly depressing thought." -Steve Jobs
     
JCT
Forum Regular
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NY, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 09:29 PM
 
Original Mac:

Stock 2.5 GHz DP G5 (got tired of waiting for my CTO and hit the Apple Store...)
23" Cinema Screen

Added:

1. 74GB 10K RPM Raptor HDD as a boot disk
2. 250 GB 7200 RPM Hitachi drive
3. Additonal 4.5 GB RAM (Total - 5 GB)
Seritek SATA PCI card hooked up to an external enclosure (with original 160 GB Maxtor drive) + a second 160 GB Maxtor set up as RAID0 for Photoshop scratch
4. M-Audio Audiophile 2496 PCI audio card
5. Altec Lansing Mx501 speakers
6. External FW drive via FW800 (Granite Digital Enclosure + 120 GB WD drive)

Everything works great!

JT
Quad 2.5 Ghz G5 7GB RAM + 7800GT
15" MBP 2.16 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 100 GB 7200 RPM HDD
G4 DA 1.2 Ghz 1.5 GB RAM + 4 HDD (fileserver)
G4 Cube 800MHz , Radeon 7000, 1.5 GB RAM
<not bad for a relatively new switcher...>
     
flukewurm
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 22, 2004, 10:16 PM
 
those ediros are pretty crap - seriously - compared to other speakers in its catagory (studio monitors) theyre not that good.

for video games and movies the klipsch promedia series or some other comparable 2.1/5.1 system is more desirable for the prosumer...

if youre hellbent on getting studio monitors for your rig then i recommend m-audio, mackie, krk, or yorkville....
     
discstickers
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jun 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2004, 12:40 AM
 
Originally posted by JCT:

Added:

1. 74GB 10K RPM Raptor HDD as a boot disk
I've been thinking about doing that.

Did you move your home directory to another drive?

Is the speed increase noticable?
"It's not like Windows users don't have any power. I think a lot of people are happy with Windows, and that's an incredibly depressing thought." -Steve Jobs
     
///Milien
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: In my own little world
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2004, 08:46 AM
 
Rev. A Dual 2.0 G5:
- 4 GB RAM
- 23" ACD
- Airport Extreme Card
- iSight
- 160GB Porsche Design LaCie HDD
- D-Link Bluetooth adapter
- Apple Bluetooth Keyboard & Mouse
- JBL Invaders
- PCI Firewire Card
- 40GB iPod
- Canon i70 Photo Printer & Digital EOS Camera
 Mac Pro 8-Core 2.26GHz Xeon | 12GB RAM | 2.5TB HDD | ATI Radeon HD 4870 | 24" LED Cinema Display
 Mac mini [Unibody] 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo | 8GB RAM | 500GB Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid HDD | 24" LED Cinema Display
 MacBook Air 1.6GHz Core 2 Duo | 4GB RAM | 256GB SDD
Too many accessories to list...
     
gururafiki
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Good question...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 23, 2004, 02:29 PM
 
All right, after setting everything up, here is goes:

200gig External FW 800
Canon S9000 Printer
Canon Canoscan 9900F
Alchemy TV Tuner
3 USB 2.0/2 Firewire 400 PCI Card
1 gig RAM
Altec Lansing MX5021 Speakers
iSight
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,