Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Need help with an error code -3170

Need help with an error code -3170
Reddleader
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Jun 16, 2002, 03:53 PM

Does anyone know how to get rid of this error code -3170 I get it when I try to connect to the internet. I only get it under os9. When using osx I can connect without any problem. I'm not a programmer so I don't understand it. I reinstalled the os, but that did not help. Please help me if you can

Good day
Mike
Good day

ddiokno
Mac Elite
Jun 16, 2002, 04:25 PM

Hi Mike,
In OS9, does this error occur with any internet application (ie when trying to check email, internet, etc)? or with just a specific application? Are you connecting via modem, or broadband? When you reinstalled, did you just install over the current, did you erase and install, or did you do a clean system install?
dave

Reddleader  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Jun 16, 2002, 05:13 PM

Hi Dave,

The only time I get it is when I use the "remote access" from the control strip on my ibook 500. Its the only thing I use to connect and I have not noticed the error on anything else. I connect using the internal modem over the the slooooooooow phone line. When I did the reinstall (which I did today) I just reinstalled over the exsisting OS, I did not do a clean install because I did not want the hassle of redoing everything. Hope this Helps, thanks for responding.

Mike
Good day

Sword of Orion
Forum Regular
Jun 17, 2002, 01:34 AM

According to <a href="http://www.appleerrorcodes.com" target="_blank">Apple Error Codes Web Page</a> , it's an Open Transport error, "The endpoint name is invalid."