Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Return to castle wolfenstein and 10.2 ??

Return to castle wolfenstein and 10.2 ??
Thread Tools
KeithOP
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2002, 06:47 PM
 
Hi all,

Just got a new machine, one of the new G4s dual 1gig and it came with jaguar 10.2 installed on it.

Bought rtcw to try on it but not getting anywhere... other than a whole pile of "this application has crashed no other app is affected" blah blah when I try to start it up.

Are there any updates out for this game? any ideas what could be wrong?

The machine has a geforce4ti in it.. nothing else non-standard really and the machine is a pretty clean install of 10.2

Any ideas appreciated,

Cheers,
Keith
     
Hydra
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2002, 07:29 PM
 
Originally posted by KeithOP:
Hi all,

Just got a new machine, one of the new G4s dual 1gig and it came with jaguar 10.2 installed on it.

Bought rtcw to try on it but not getting anywhere... other than a whole pile of "this application has crashed no other app is affected" blah blah when I try to start it up.

Are there any updates out for this game? any ideas what could be wrong?

The machine has a geforce4ti in it.. nothing else non-standard really and the machine is a pretty clean install of 10.2

Any ideas appreciated,

Cheers,
Keith
There was an update a few weeks ago but it was pulled for some reason. I just fired it up under 10.2 on my dual 800 w/ a GF3 and it seems to run fine.

-Jerry C.
     
Vash
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2002, 07:44 PM
 
There is indeed a beta update out right now right here
This seems to run fine on my (older model) dual 1ghz G4.
Revenge is a meal best served cold.
     
KeithOP  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 26, 2002, 09:57 AM
 
Thanks both....

Even with the update here it crashes out when selecting "play"... odd :/

cheers,
Keith
     
isometric
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utopia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 26, 2002, 04:29 PM
 
Thats really odd. I'm currently running Mac OS 10.2 on a QS 800 MHz and I have had no problems yet. Have you tried deleteing the Prefs?
Power Mac G4 800 MHz | 512 MB RAM | 60 GB HD | ATI Radeon 7500 | DVD-ROM/CD-RW
     
villalobos
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 26, 2002, 07:57 PM
 
Originally posted by isometric:
Thats really odd. I'm currently running Mac OS 10.2 on a QS 800 MHz and I have had no problems yet. Have you tried deleteing the Prefs?
To add to the oddity of RTCW. I installed it on 10.1.5, where it did not work (I only got a white screen and what apparently looked like a computer freeze). I then booted in 9.2.2. The game was working nicely (both SP and MP). Rebooting in 10.1.5, trying again, and lo and behold it worked.... well for a few times. I now refuses to launch (same white screen and computer freeze in both SP and MP). Works fine in 9.2.2.

It is very annoying to have to reboot to play this game (addictive btw).

The demo never gave me any trouble.

villa
     
CheesePuff
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 26, 2002, 10:46 PM
 
Originally posted by isometric:
Thats really odd. I'm currently running Mac OS 10.2 on a QS 800 MHz and I have had no problems yet. Have you tried deleteing the Prefs?
OMG YOU STOLE MY COMPUTER! (sigs)
     
isometric
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Utopia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 27, 2002, 05:04 PM
 
Thats kind of funny but your right. They are the exact same (Almost)..
Great minds think alike.
Power Mac G4 800 MHz | 512 MB RAM | 60 GB HD | ATI Radeon 7500 | DVD-ROM/CD-RW
     
Anand
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Between heaven and hell
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 27, 2002, 10:30 PM
 
I have a G4 iMac (800) and RTCW runs great with 10.2. My FPS went from 20-30 (with 32 bit at 800 x 600) to 30-60 with 32 bit and 1024 x 820. 10.2 is really rough but the Open GL performance in games is great.
Yes, I know I could buy a PC, but why?
     
schwa
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2002, 09:38 AM
 
Quick question- what's the console command to see frame rates?
     
OwlBoy
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Madison, WI
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2002, 01:58 PM
 
hehe wrong thread but...

cg_drawFPS 1

-Owl
     
a2daj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Edmonds, WA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 30, 2002, 07:22 PM
 
Originally posted by OwlBoy:
hehe wrong thread but...

cg_drawFPS 1

-Owl
If you're in game
/cg_drawFPS 1
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:42 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,