Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > AAC Crop?

AAC Crop?
Thread Tools
tavilach
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 16, 2004, 12:42 AM
 
I ripped a CD that included a hidden track attached to the last song, with a three minute interlude of silence between them...

Without taking out the CD again, and ripping the file to a WAV first, is there any way to split the AAC file without losing any quality by double conversion?
"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world." -Archimedes
     
Krypton
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cambridge UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 16, 2004, 03:32 AM
 
Yes - get info on the track in question in iTunes, and set the start and finish time to the duration of the main track - now rip that track.

Then do the same, but set the start and finish for the hidden track, and rip that.

You now have 2 separate tracks because iTunes adheres to the track start finish time when ripping.

(Plus I think this should be in software).
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 16, 2004, 08:31 PM
 
I thought he didn't want to re-rip?
     
Krusty
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Always within bluetooth range
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 16, 2004, 08:42 PM
 
edit: scratch my screwed up post. I just realized it didn't work as I thought.
( Last edited by Krusty; Apr 16, 2004 at 09:20 PM. )
     
tavilach  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2004, 04:27 PM
 
So...
"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world." -Archimedes
     
Krypton
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cambridge UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2004, 04:31 PM
 
Originally posted by bradoesch:
I thought he didn't want to re-rip?
Well ok, I didn't cater to that part of his question.

However, you can't crop AAC files without loosing some quality. Quicktime won't save to the original format if you try and crop mp3s or AACs - there is an app called 'Mp3 trimmer' though.
     
ShortcutToMoncton
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Rock
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2004, 05:40 PM
 
Originally posted by bradoesch:
I thought he didn't want to re-rip?
ie. "he doesn't own the CD and just downloaded the track, so there's no way he can re-rip it anyway..."



greg
Mankind's only chance is to harness the power of stupid.
     
tavilach  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2004, 06:13 PM
 
Originally posted by ShortcutToMoncton:
ie. "he doesn't own the CD and just downloaded the track, so there's no way he can re-rip it anyway..."



greg
Actually, I'm completely anti-piracy, and I've downloaded over 100 iTMS songs.

I ripped a CD that I took from my sister's room, and I don't want to go back in there (if she see's me, something bad will happen).
"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world." -Archimedes
     
- - e r i k - -
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2004, 04:12 AM
 
Originally posted by tavilach:
I ripped a CD that I took from my sister's room, and I don't want to go back in there (if she see's me, something bad will happen).
Best. Excuse. Ever.

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2004, 12:54 PM
 
Originally posted by ShortcutToMoncton:
ie. "he doesn't own the CD and just downloaded the track, so there's no way he can re-rip it anyway..."



greg
Heh, that reminds me of when Jaguar came out, which was the first release of X that came on 2 CDs. So many threads about "do I need the second CD?", and so many funny answers of "yes, download that second CD."
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2004, 12:55 PM
 
Originally posted by tavilach:


I ripped a CD that I took from my sister's room, and I don't want to go back in there (if I see her, something bad will happen).
Fixed.
     
Krypton
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Cambridge UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2004, 01:52 PM
 
Originally posted by - - e r i k - -:
Best. Excuse. Ever.
Hahahahahahahah hahaha............ ahem
     
tavilach  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2004, 07:46 PM
 
Originally posted by - - e r i k - -:
Best. Excuse. Ever.
I'm actually telling the truth, though. Find diabloburnout or goozballs3. They'll attest to my legit'ness.
"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world." -Archimedes
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,