Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > remotely wakeup Mac from sleep?

remotely wakeup Mac from sleep?
Thread Tools
OmniX
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 11, 2003, 09:06 PM
 
is there a way in OSX (or OS9 for that matter) to remotely wake up a machine that is asleep?
[does this have anything to do with the 'Wake for Administrator Access' setting in the Energy Pref Pane?]

and the converse: how can one remotely put to sleep a Mac?

tx,
ox
     
Camelot
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 1999
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2003, 02:02 AM
 
Assuming you're talking about a local area network (LAN), there are a number of utilities that will wake a sleeping system. Check Version Tracker for 'wake on lan'.
Gods don't kill people - people with Gods kill people.
     
awaspaas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2003, 02:56 AM
 
http://www.broadbandreports.com/wakeup

Apple Remote Desktop (the client is now included in 10.3, Admin app is commercial) can wake and sleep machines remotely also.
     
dagaz
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2003, 08:07 AM
 
WakeUp does the trick for me, and its free.
Not compatible with Windows
     
SMacTech
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trafalmadore
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2003, 09:21 AM
 
Originally posted by awaspaas:
http://www.broadbandreports.com/wakeup

Apple Remote Desktop (the client is now included in 10.3, Admin app is commercial) can wake and sleep machines remotely also.
It's supposed to, but it hasn't work for me, so far.
     
Oneota
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Urbandale, IA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2003, 09:28 AM
 
Originally posted by SMacTech:
It's supposed to, but it hasn't work for me, so far.
Me either. It's one of those we-never-actually-tested-it features that Apple stuck into ARD.
"Yields a falsehood when preceded by its quotation" yields a falsehood when preceded by its quotation.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,