Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > App To backup FCS2 Disk?

App To backup FCS2 Disk?
Thread Tools
cbrfanatic
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 3, 2008, 05:48 PM
 
Im looking for an app that will let me back up my final cut studio disk into .dmg format to save on my external drive, i will burn them at a later time when i have a few DL DVD's. i tried CCC but it gave me an error with the DL disks. And Toast only lets me copy it to another disk, i want just a .dmg file.
Any help would be appreciated. I want to protect my $$$$ investment.
     
Cold Warrior
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Polwaristan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 3, 2008, 11:52 PM
 
Won't Disk Utility do this?
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 01:32 AM
 
Toast makes disk images, and so does Disk Utility.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 01:53 AM
 
Originally Posted by Cold Warrior View Post
Won't Disk Utility do this?
yes to a point. it wont do the dual layers for some reason. I selecting my WD My Book Pro as the save destination because i know you cant move files to a drive over i think 4gb or something, and the DL disks are between 6.5 - 7GB each.
     
Cold Warrior
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Polwaristan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 02:08 AM
 
FAT32 has issues with single files over 4GB, IIRC. You may need to make an HFS+ partition on that external (or NTFS, if you want to use a third-party driver to enable OS X write capability.
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 02:20 AM
 
Thank You. I will have to dump everything from the drive somewhere safe and reformat it, then put everything back. Good thing i still have a FW800 port, lol.

Once Again, thanks for the help everyone.
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 04:41 AM
 
OMFG!!!!!!!!
I moved everything from my external, to my internal, formated my external to HFS fine, started to move everything back to my external and it started to take forever, then hung up so i did a hard reboot, not my internal isnt even recognized as being there! i had to boot off of OS X 10.5 that was on my firewire external. my internal is there in disk utility and when i tried to do a repair i got the invalid b tree error thing. i heard disk warrior may work but i dont have it i was in the middle of a project in FCS2 that is due tomorrow even that was almost complete. please tell me there is a way to remedy this?!?!?!?
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 04:50 AM
 
I'm really sorry but that doesn't sound good. B-tree damage is serious stuff.

"B-tree structures are complex. If one becomes damaged, erroneous information is read by the File Manager and the referenced files can also become damaged." -Apple Support

I'd look to Data Rescue if you don't have any viable backup.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 05:00 AM
 
Originally Posted by Big Mac View Post
I'm really sorry but that doesn't sound good. B-tree damage is serious stuff.

"B-tree structures are complex. If one becomes damaged, erroneous information is read by the File Manager and the referenced files can also become damaged." -Apple Support

I'd look to Data Rescue if you don't have any viable backup.
crazy thing is that i do have a backup, but it was moved to my internal from my external so that i could reformat it! this is just my luck! ill give the diskwarrior a shot and report back the hopefully good news *fingers crossed*
Ill have to wait a few hours to go buy a blank CD, no stores are open here in nyc since it 4am, and by the time i get to the 24hr apple store in manhattan other closer stores will already be open...
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 05:08 AM
 
I'm sorry you're having so many problems while being up against a hard deadline. I feel your pain. It's bad luck I guess.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 05:13 AM
 
Yea, nothing i can do now but just hope. 1hr and 50min until the store down the road opens and i can grab a disk. this is the reason why i dont go to casinos and gamble, lol. i should have known, "Anything that can go wrong WILL go wrong!" Thanks for trying to help me. I think a raid setup is in order.....like 5 of them, lol.

Also, i was going to upgrade to leopard after i finished this project since i learned you never should upgrade mid project. Now this happens. lol. im running leopard off of my external and i like it so far. anywho, ill be back in the later AM's to let you know if it worked or not.
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2008, 06:31 PM
 
I've given up, i tried DiskWarrior but while it was midway i got a kernal panic. rebooted, diskwarrior dosnt even see the drive anymore. Im just going to have to replace it and call it a loss. However i have data that is not replaceable so i am sending it off for data recovery. Luckily this can be done free of charge through my brother and his job. what a night.....
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 5, 2008, 01:37 AM
 
Goodnews....Pulled some strings and through my brother had Drive Savers come and do a pick up on the drive. Should have all my data recovered to a new hard drive no later then 24 hours
     
Cold Warrior
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Polwaristan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 5, 2008, 01:40 AM
 
You are very lucky to have that kind of connection. Normally that sort of data recovery, with that sort of turnaround, is not cheap.
     
cbrfanatic  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New Windsor, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 5, 2008, 11:05 PM
 
Originally Posted by Cold Warrior View Post
You are very lucky to have that kind of connection. Normally that sort of data recovery, with that sort of turnaround, is not cheap.
I am very grateful to be able to have it done. My brother was telling me how expensive it is. For example, to have a 100% recovery from a drive, mailing it in yourself, and then a 5-7 business day turnaround is $2400. I can only imagine how much it is for them to pick it up and have it all on a new drive within 24 hours
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,