Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > AEBS Problem

AEBS Problem
Thread Tools
Stogieman
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2004, 10:31 PM
 
I recently purchased an Airport Extreme base station because I wanted to share my HP DeskJet printer between my iMac and PowerBook. The AEBS is connected to the DSL modem and I'm using my old xRouter Pro as a bridge for the non-airport computers on the network. Everything seems to be working fine and I can print to the HP printer from both the iMac and the PowerBook. The only problem is my PowerBook keeps losing it's connection to the base station. The connection time disappears from the menu bar and I can only get it back if I turn Airport off/on. Has anyone here experienced this? I recently updated the firmware but that didn't solve the problem.

I have just one more question. My brother has a PC running WinXP Professional. If he downloaded the drivers for my printer, could he print from the AEBS? Can XP see a Rendezvous printer?

Slick shoes?! Are you crazy?!
     
Naz
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: over here *
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 29, 2004, 03:16 PM
 
Did you update to the latest firmware I had a few problems but now everything seems smooth

check software update
Nazaire's Art - -- iMac 500 DV SE --- 17" PB
     
winwintoo
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 29, 2004, 03:50 PM
 
I'm probably stating the obvious, but have you reset the base station??

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107451

I was having trouble with mine too and after I reset it, no more problems.

m.
     
nobitacu
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 4, 2004, 01:55 AM
 
I've had this problem before too, but after the update, it seems to work fine now. So try updating the firmware through software update under Apple icon on top left, than open up your Airport Admin Utility and update the firmware from there. After that, use it for a few days and see if the problem is fixed.

Ming
A Proud Mac User Since: 03/24/03
Apple Computer: MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 3 GB Memory, 120 GB HD
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:23 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,