Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Airport STILL not fixed!

Airport STILL not fixed!
Thread Tools
M.A.S.
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 29, 2004, 02:06 PM
 
I've got a rev a 17" pb and I'm STILL having airport problems.

Every now and then my pb cant access my network, even though it is still connected to it. I can tell this because the name being broadcast is still visible.

The only way to fix this is to turn airport off then on again.

This is very frustrating, as it interrupts anything using the internet, like downloads or gaming.

Anyone else having this problem still?

17" PowerBook
     
dwood
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 29, 2004, 03:01 PM
 
do you have more then a gig of ram? people have been posting problems with > gb of ram and airport. I would imagine apple is investigating, although it usually takes them a while to get everything figured out.
     
The Placid Casual
Professional Poster
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 29, 2004, 06:14 PM
 
Originally posted by dwood:
do you have more then a gig of ram? people have been posting problems with > gb of ram and airport. I would imagine apple is investigating, although it usually takes them a while to get everything figured out.
...either that or they call the fault a 'feature'
     
M.A.S.  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 29, 2004, 07:36 PM
 
i've got 2 512mb sticks in here.

It's bloody annoying!

Anyone else have the same problem?
17" PowerBook
     
Nebrie
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In my tree making cookies
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 29, 2004, 08:43 PM
 
There's a big huge *ancient* thread somewhere in the Apple forums about this problem. I'm amazed they haven't fixed it yet. The best solution seems to downgrade to a specific old firmware revision.
     
wunderkind
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 30, 2004, 10:38 AM
 
Exactly the same problem, but on PB 12" with 768MB RAM and AirPort Extreme.

The problem appeared after installing AirPort software 3.4.1 (never installed 3.4).

Only two solutions: 1) to turn base station off and then back on; or 2) to restart BS from AirPort Admin Utility.
PB G4 12" 1.5GHz/1.2GB/100GB/SuperDrive/AE/Mac OS X Tiger
     
RealMadrid
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Madrid
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 30, 2004, 11:55 AM
 
Same here with PB 12 rev B / 768 MB / AEx. But it has appeared since I installed 10.3.4.

Ugly!
Check out www.basasoft.com products:
CodeLine (Do Cocoa programming in BASIC)
BasaOne 2.0
AFDragHandler 1.1
BasaOne Web Classes
     
M.A.S.  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 30, 2004, 01:10 PM
 
Mine started after the first of the recent airport updates.

My problem is definatly with my powerbook not my router as when i turn airport off then on again it works. Also when it first started to happen i suspected my router (a Netgear DG834G) so i turned the thing upside down inside out (figuratively speaking of course!)

Also even when i cant connect iStumbler (a wireless network finder) picks up the signal, which makes me think it's a software problem not firmware. Although i could be wrong!
17" PowerBook
     
M.A.S.  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2004, 06:29 AM
 
Maybe all will be well now with this new update

http://macnn.com/news/24935

Ive installed it, it seems good at the mo.
17" PowerBook
     
M.A.S.  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2004, 07:01 AM
 
I take it back, the upsdate has fixed f*** all.

Apple get it right. How many updates and how long is this gonna take?
17" PowerBook
     
winwintoo
Junior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2004, 07:39 AM
 
I got an AEBS when I had my iBook and the reception was crappy even though I was within a few feet of the thing - but I could always access some other guy's network that was broadcasting as "linksys" - the signal was always full strength and it never wavered.

I tried resetting the AEBS and did the updates and it would work for a while and then start having trouble again.

I finally ditched the AEBS the other day and got a Linksys - plugged it in, took 2 minutes to set up, and so far the signal hasn't wavered. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

FS: AEBS - slightly used

m
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,