Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Airport Express bridging Gaming Consoles (xbox, PS2, Gamecube)

Airport Express bridging Gaming Consoles (xbox, PS2, Gamecube)
Thread Tools
fado
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2004, 09:32 AM
 
I have beeen checking the website and sources about how the "express" acts as bridging. I was pleased to see the design works well with a wall outlet, but it seems that this can do so much more besides printing and audio.

I was curious if this will network my gaming console to the network wirelessly besides connecting myself with a 100 foot cable that crosses the office, dining room, down the staircase, and then pass the entertainment area. I called apple and the advisor confirmed that airport express will successfully bridge an xbox, ps2, and gamecube over the network bridge if you have an Airport Base Station. I haven't seen any instructions, but it may just come down for me to experiment the process.

Are there any network aspects that I may need to look into or will this just be as easy as plugging it in and configuring the gaming console.
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 14, 2004, 06:11 AM
 
Originally posted by fado:
I have beeen checking the website and sources about how the "express" acts as bridging. I was pleased to see the design works well with a wall outlet, but it seems that this can do so much more besides printing and audio.

I was curious if this will network my gaming console to the network wirelessly besides connecting myself with a 100 foot cable that crosses the office, dining room, down the staircase, and then pass the entertainment area. I called apple and the advisor confirmed that airport express will successfully bridge an xbox, ps2, and gamecube over the network bridge if you have an Airport Base Station. I haven't seen any instructions, but it may just come down for me to experiment the process.

Are there any network aspects that I may need to look into or will this just be as easy as plugging it in and configuring the gaming console.
That sounds nice!, so, how much stuff do you need to buy?, one Airport Base Station, plus one AirPort express mobile stations?
     
quadraphonic
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2004, 02:52 PM
 
Any more info on this set-up? It would be very useful for my upcoming condo.
-quadraphonic
12" Rev C Powerbook G4, ComboDrive, 60GB HD, 256MB RAM
     
ranga
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: San Jose CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 12, 2004, 01:02 PM
 
Hi,

My Airport Express bridges my XBox to my network wirelessly. My setup is:

- Wired Lan upstairs
- AEBS connected to wired lan via ethernet
- AE downstairs
- XBox downstairs and connect to AE via ethernet cable

I set up the AE as a repeater for my wireless network handled by my AEBS. It is pretty easy to do this using Airport Admin Utility. IIRC, you just need to enable WDS (Wireless Distribution Service?) and then pick the AE as a repeater.

Once you have the AE setup as a repeater, you can use the Airport Admin Utility to disable 'Distribute IP Addresses' on the AE. This causes the AE to bridge devices on its ethernet port wirelessly to the lan that the AEBS is connected to.

My Xbox has no problems talking to other systems on my lan, and I can finally ftp to my xbox and put mp3s and photos on it so that I can listen to music on my stereo and show people my photos on my TV.

HTH,

--ranga
     
petrol
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Laurel, Maryland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 16, 2004, 11:27 AM
 
Originally posted by ranga:
My Airport Express bridges my XBox to my network wirelessly. My setup is:

- Wired Lan upstairs
- AEBS connected to wired lan via ethernet
- AE downstairs
- XBox downstairs and connect to AE via ethernet cable
I am considering a similar setup when I move next month. What I was thinking was:

- Cable modem connecting to regular Linksys wired router.
- Xbox connected to Linksys router for future online Halo 2 gaming.
- Airport Express connected to Linksys router.
- My PowerMac and my work laptop online via Airport Express.

Anyone see any problems with that? My biggest concern is whether Xbox live will work properly with the airport express. Does anyone have any experience doing that?

Phil.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,