Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Anyone Have Significantly Irritating Problems With X.3.5?

Anyone Have Significantly Irritating Problems With X.3.5?
Thread Tools
Superchicken
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 02:58 AM
 
Normally with OS updates I'm OK, there might be little instability hickups here and there but eventually an update is released after that that fixes everything. I figured X.3.5 would be the bug fixer for .4, but it's done more damage to my system apparently than .4 did! I'm seriously thinking of jumping all the way back to .3 the last release I would say worked worth anything on my 12 inch PowerBook!

.4 just made Safari crash all the time and junk, .5 has screwed up my tablet, giving it a super irritating lag when you start a line, and now it just gave me a KP screen, and then three or four hard freezes! Not to mention Fireworks started not launching for some reason!

Anyone else having problems? If so is it mainly 12 inch PB users or is it just that I should do an archive reinstall or what? I'm seriously irritated by all this right now. Any suggestions?
     
dopik
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 04:17 AM
 
My problem comes from the DHCP set up under AirPort.

It can get an IP but on the line of router, nothing happears... I click on renew DHCP address and nothing happens.

I have to restart many times before I get it to work for a few minutes and then it is gone.............

I do not know how to solve this problem. Help me...

dopik

By the way, I am also on PB 12'
I am a Compulsive Software Update Button Clicker
     
eevyl
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Málaga, Spain, Europe, Earth, Solar System
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 05:44 AM
 
I'm a happy camper with 10.3.5 in a PowerBook G4 12" Rev A.
     
Chinasaur
Senior User
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 05:57 AM
 
Went from 10.2.8 to 10.3.5 ... flawless operation. Should have switched sooner.
iMac - C2D, 2.8Ghz, 4GB, 320GB
MacBook - C2D, 2.4Ghz Uni, 4GB, 500GB
     
voodoo
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Salamanca, España
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 09:02 AM
 
No problems whatsoever with 10.3.5 - on a 12" 1GHz PB.
I could take Sean Connery in a fight... I could definitely take him.
     
gorickey
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 09:13 AM
 
Originally posted by Chinasaur:
Should have switched sooner.
Definitely.
     
Westfoto
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: New Orleans, La. USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 10:56 AM
 
I am running on a 1Ghz TiBook and everything is well.

One thing to try to do is to go to Disk Utility and run Repair Disk Permissions. Try this if you are having lots of issues it might help.
Mac Pro - 12 GB RAM - 30" & 23" Displays - 10.7.1
MacBook Pro - 2 GB RAM - 10.6.8
Airport Extreme • Canon iPF5000 • PIXMA Pro9000 • Xerox N2125
     
Maflynn
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 11:35 AM
 
My G5 2.0 is running fine with the latest patch.

Mike
     
Joe1974
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 01:02 PM
 
My trouble is i cant get my webcam to work ??? any help please

Thanks
     
gorickey
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 01:16 PM
 
Originally posted by Maflynn:
My G5 2.0 is running fine with the latest patch.

Mike
Updates = OS X

"Patches" = XP

     
OzarkMtn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Heber Springs, AR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 02:17 PM
 
Absolutely no problems what so ever on my Dual 2.0 GHz G5.
Cheers,

Just say "NO" to PLASTIC SPEAKERS!!
     
all2ofme
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 05:03 PM
 
My sound (PB 15" 1.5GHz) is very distorted when waking from sleep sometimes. Was fine on 10.3.4. No other problems I can think of.
     
jlgrandam
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 05:22 PM
 
No problems here on a 12" rev. B.
12.1" Powerbook G4
     
Cincinnatus
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 05:36 PM
 
My SP 1.8 G5 won't sleep (thread on that here), but aside from that I don't have any real complaints. I just need to make sure I've disabled automatic/scheduled sleep, and I've been trouble free. My other computers (Dual 1.25 G4 & Original Titatnium Laptop) have taken to this upgrade without a hitch.

/Cincinnatus
     
techtrucker
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 07:13 PM
 
My iBook started acting up after the update, sorry to not be more specific but the Finder kept going out to lunch, usually when working over the network (copying files, vnc). In all fairness I had really been pushing this machine hard, lots of processes running in the background, installing and uninstalling lots of software, etc. So took some time this weekend and reinstalled from scratch. I'm happy to report that the machine is working flawlessly now. So I blame it more on the crud I let accumulate than the update itself.
MacBook 2.0 160/2GB/SuperDrive
Lots of older Macs
     
booboo
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 08:46 PM
 
I'm having some problems - the first real problems I've had since an early incarnation of 10.1 when some corrupt Preferences were spinning beach-balling me to infinity . . .

What's happening is certain app's - TexEdit, Activity Monitor seem to be crashing, but I'm unable to force them to Quit. And subsequent to that, I'm unable to run them again.

Other symptoms: the Force Quit window wouldn't allow me to select an app to force quit, and would not allow itsef to be dismissed or moved. Expose - my bottom-left window gesture - hides all windows according to my command - but then re-shows them all after about 4 seconds . . .

Meanwhile it sure feels like something is using up most of my cpu cycles. Really sluggish.

A Restart will clear it - for a while. but I'm at a loss . . .

Better restart now . . .

Help!
     
MacGorilla
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Retired
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 09:17 PM
 
I have a problem with 10.3.5...it STILL wont call out for pizza for me
Power Macintosh Dual G4
SGI Indigo2 6.5.21f
     
gorickey
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Retired.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 24, 2004, 09:19 PM
 
Originally posted by MacGorilla:
...it STILL wont call out for pizza for me
Why call when you can use 10.3.5 to order the pizza through Safari?

     
RayX
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2004, 12:59 AM
 
Originally posted by gorickey:
Why call when you can use 10.3.5 to order the pizza through Safari?
Or:

http://www.beigerecords.com/cory/pizza_party/

     
Superchicken  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winnipeg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2004, 01:18 AM
 
Hmmm maybe it's the RAM I installed doubt it though... I think I shall try an archive install tomorrow.
     
monkeybrain
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2004, 07:47 AM
 
Creating a new user and seeing if problems persist is a good move. Will tell you if it is 10.3.5 or a corrupt user.
     
Mrjinglesusa
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Why do you care?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2004, 02:51 PM
 
No problems on 800 MHz iMac using Airport connected to LinkSys router. I don't use a tablet though and no other peripherals aside from two USB printers, FireWire HD, and USB optical mouse (Kensigton). No problems on 14" iBook with Airport Extreme either...
2.3GHz i7 15" Retina Macbook Pro (Late 2013)
     
mitchell_pgh
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Washington, DC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2004, 03:37 PM
 
My home system can get a little sluggish every once and a while. I obviously need more RAM, but other then that 10.3.5 is a rock.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,