Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > MacBook performance : my experience

MacBook performance : my experience
Thread Tools
Skypat
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 05:41 AM
 
Hi

I have a black MacBook right now, with 1GB of RAM installed.

So far it feels very fast, very responsive. I even found MS Word (non native) to be responsive (launch time is a bit long). I compared many applications with my dual 2.3Ghz G5 loaded with 6 GB of RAM (ATI X800) and the MB behaves very well, with faster launch on many programs (Safari, Pages, etc.). iMovie and iDVD works really fast on the MB.

On the graphic side however, I downloaded the universal demo of "Videoator" http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos.../videator.html . It uses a lot core image I think to tweak pictures made by the iSight.

As Photobooth, it displays live thumbnails of effects applied on the image. I don't know if the problem comes from the app or from the MB, but while the G5 displays every effects without a problem, the MB displayed almost none of them. That's a bit dissapointing and I guess it has to do with the graphic chip (GMA 950) ?

If someone has a MB with 2GB of RAM ... it would be great to download the demo andtry it to see if I am the only one to have the problem ... Thanks!

Thanks for your feedback
S k y p a t
     
harrisjamieh
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 07:07 AM
 
I ran the app on my MacBook, currently with 768 RAM, and performance was awful - with the pre built multi effect things - where you choose a set from the top drop down menu, most of the time the preview screen would just black out as though it was giving up.

This could be made worse on my machine as I currently do not have matched RAM sticks, and since the program is using the graphics card, it would have slowed it down.

I also ran the app on my iMac Core Duo, and it ran sooo much better - a little jerky in some places, but almost perfect
iMac Core Duo 1.83 Ghz | 1.25GB RAM | 160HD, MacBook Core Duo 1.83 Ghz | 13.3" | 60HD | 1.0GB RAM
     
Skypat  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 07:47 AM
 
How is PhotoBooth doing on yours ?
S k y p a t
     
TerryJ
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 08:06 AM
 
I just tried Videator on my MacBook 2.0/2GB and it wasn't too great, really. I was hoping that the bigger ram would make a difference, but it stutteered on many of the effects, particularly with the pre-made sets from the drop down menu. It seemed that it would be fine for the first couple of filters then it just ran out of steam and the editing window would stay at black after that. This app is definitely too demanding for the GMA950 I think. Making me wonder what else out there might be too much for it to handle that I might encounter.....
Terry J
Apple Certified Help Desk Specialist
Apple Product Professional
Apple Consultants Network
     
harrisjamieh
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 08:17 AM
 
Photobooth on mine is perfect - very smooth. Oddly enough, it is twice as good as it is on my iMac, which stutters terribly in Photobooth (note to self: must sort that out, as it never used to be like that)
iMac Core Duo 1.83 Ghz | 1.25GB RAM | 160HD, MacBook Core Duo 1.83 Ghz | 13.3" | 60HD | 1.0GB RAM
     
Skypat  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 08:20 AM
 
Ok ... good to know that. I wanted to see by myself a good example of the limitation of the GMA 950, think I found it.

By the way, I downloaded a HD video (XmenIII trailer 1080) and it played perfectly.
S k y p a t
     
Eug Wanker
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dangling something in the water… of the Arabian Sea
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 08:32 AM
 
Re: Testing Core Image:

Another app would be iMaginator. ($49, but with free 30 day full demo)

There's also Image Tricks. (Freeware)
     
stuffedmonkey
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Washington DC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 2, 2006, 10:21 AM
 
Not suprising really. The GMA 950 technically supports core image - since it has the shaders needed. It dosen't have any power behind it however.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:19 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,