Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > New to Apple, Need general tips/hints

New to Apple, Need general tips/hints
rastatero
Jul 23, 2004, 10:08 PM

I just brought home my new 12" iBook. It's still in the box, I think I'll begin to tackle everything tomorrow morning. I was just wondering if there was some simple settings I should take a look at right off the bat. Does anyone have some common settings or adjustments that they usually make to Mac OS X because I have been using Windows for the last ten years and everytime I reinstall I always delete some miscellaneous files and change some common settings whether they are visual or performance.

Also do you guys have any general recommendations on some programs to take a look at or download? I'm a student and I already have access to Microsoft OSX 2004 and Adobe Creative Suite, but is there anything else I should take a look at? I already know I'm probably getting Firefox, but that's all and shows how little I know.

LET ME KNOW!! I'm so excited.

-- Tony

Dex13
Mac Elite
Jul 23, 2004, 10:25 PM

go to the software forum and there is a sticky on this subject , two to be exact ...

Number 1

Number 2

msuper69
Professional Poster
Jul 23, 2004, 10:27 PM

Wow. You are showing very good self-control for a youngster (I assume you are young because of the student comment).

Others will undoubtebly have suggestions as to software, settings, etc. but I would just crack open that box and start playing.

Welcome to the Mac community. You are in for a treat.

leperkuhn
Senior User
Jul 24, 2004, 12:04 AM

Originally posted by rastatero: