Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > New 27" iMac Ram upgrade

New 27" iMac Ram upgrade
dennett
Forum Regular
Oct 25, 2009, 11:26 AM

Just got a new 27 iMac, in base configuration. I'm thinking about upgrading the ram to 8 from 4. What do you guys think? We really only use our computers for office, iPhoto and iMovie, the internet, and E-mail. Would the added memory improve performance? Where's the best place to buy memory these days? How easy will it be to self install? In the past I have installed memory in PBs and iMacs, changed hard drives, and installed airport cards, so I'm not a total idiot, but I'm no pro either. Thanks in advance!

Eug
Clinically Insane
Oct 25, 2009, 11:31 AM

For that stuff, 4 GB is fine.

You can always add memory later since the new 27" has 4 memory slots. I suspect it will be relatively easy to install the memory.

Simon
Posting Junkie
Oct 25, 2009, 11:39 AM

Originally Posted by Eug View Post
I suspect it will be relatively easy to install the memory.
Absolutely. Check out pages 35-42 of the user manual.

ghporter
Administrator
Oct 25, 2009, 12:11 PM

If it's anything like the first gen of aluminum iMacs, "relatively easy" is an overstatement. It's almost trivial-providing you have the right screwdriver. They use a "pointy" crosspont screw, so you'll need the right tip on a #0 (or maybe it's smaller) crosspoint screwdriver. Otherwise it's like falling off a log.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx

EndlessMac
Senior User
Oct 25, 2009, 01:19 PM

Originally Posted by dennett View Post
Where's the best place to buy memory these days?