Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > MS exchange

MS exchange
Thread Tools
yoyoman
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2011, 02:42 PM
 
Here's the long story. There's a friend who has a MacBook Air or a MacBook Pro and needs to get it to connect with his company's Microsoft Exchange server that's located off-site. The problem is that Exchange isn't cooperating with his MacBook and his personal assistant is having the same problems so it's not just his computer.Is this a simple solution or is it more complicated then expected.
     
Cold Warrior
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Polwaristan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2011, 02:58 PM
 
Exchange doesn't care that it's a MacBook, but it does matter what software they're using – name and version. It also matters what exchange version the company is running.
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2011, 06:10 PM
 
Also Exchange might need to be set up to allow mobile access via active sync.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
Athens
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Great White North
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2011, 03:10 AM
 
If the PDA is also having problems it sounds like a Exchange issue. But MacOS goes through OWA. Either way sounds like a exchange setup issue because I've never had a problem attaching my Macs to Exchange.
Blandine Bureau 1940 - 2011
Missed 2012 by 3 days, RIP Grandma :-(
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2011, 04:28 PM
 
I take personal assistant to be a person, rather than a PDA.

If it's Exchange 2003, it's not going to work.
It needs to be 2007 or 2010.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,