Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Art & Graphic Design > DVD Authoring Advice, please

DVD Authoring Advice, please
mrwalker
Dedicated MacNNer
Apr 13, 2003, 09:36 AM

Hi all,

A client has asked for a presentation of a factory walkaround on DVD. I've never done any DVD stuff before, and I'd really like some advice on how best to proceed before I head out & buy any hardware or software.

The factory will consist of around 20 different areas. I would like to present this on an isometric plan, where the viewer can use the arrows to choose different areas and then play the related movie. At the end of each movie, I would like to return to the plan. If possible I would like to include an option to play all the movies in sequence.

The movies are being produced in 3D Studio MAX, and will be rendered to quicktime movies.

The hardware I have so far includes a DVD-ROM Cube 450, a CD-RW Powerbook DVI and a selection of old & battered PCs.

Does anyone have suggestions as to software I can use for this, mac or PC? As cheap as possible is best. As I will likely as not be buying a DVD writer for this project, one which has bundled software would be ideal.

Which type of DVD (+R or -R) is most widely understood by domestic DVD players?

Are the features I described above 'advanced' or can they be done by the cheaper, home market DVD apps? The last thing I want is to be stuck with a pre-defined iDVD theme about surfing!

Thanks for taking the time to read!

-mrwalker

Eug
Clinically Insane
Apr 13, 2003, 10:15 AM