Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Dual Monitors, anyone else two?

Dual Monitors, anyone else two?
Thread Tools
phantomdragonz
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Near Boulder, CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:21 PM
 
does anybody actually use both monitors? where do you get dual monitor desktops?

I have set up dual monitors on a PC that I have, but I need that pesky ADC-DVI adapter for my mac... anyone have one?

Zach
( Last edited by phantomdragonz; Aug 4, 2006 at 11:28 PM. )
     
IceEnclosure
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:25 PM
 
mandolux
ice
     
Spliffdaddy
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South of the Mason-Dixon line
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:32 PM
 
I started using 2 monitors back in '99.

When I discovered Win98 could support 9 monitors, I decided to see if it was true. I ran out of PCI slots at 5 monitors.

Right now I just have a pair of 17" 1280x1024

It's hard to go back to just one.

Figure out the total resolution of the monitors (ie, 2560x1024) and do a image search on google. There are quite a lot of desktop wallpapers that are created for 'spanned' displays.
     
IceEnclosure
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:36 PM
 
yep, and I wish I had dual 30"ers. I'd go to the Keys for the weekend just to take lots of photos for desktop background use. Wait, I'd need a higher MP camera than I have currently (7.2MP) Oh well. Dual 23's
ice
     
baw
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:39 PM
 
I tried in the past. I find it difficult to use my computer with 2 monitors. I'll stick to one.
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:43 PM
 
Three monitors here, combined resolution of 3840x960. I usually set the background to plain black because large CRTs use less juice and generate less heat with darker images.
     
Ouhei
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:44 PM
 
I use my macbook with dual setup, 20.1" external with the macbook screen as secondary. I use the macbook screen to put my IM windows on and stuff like that.
Macbook - [1.83] - [2gig] - [60gig] - [White]
iPod Nano - [2gig] - [White]
     
MacMan4000
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:50 PM
 
............
( Last edited by MacMan4000; Sep 1, 2015 at 12:34 PM. )
     
IceEnclosure
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 4, 2006, 11:59 PM
 
jagged much?

: |
ice
     
phantomdragonz  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Near Boulder, CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 12:05 AM
 
WOW, I totally botched the thread title...

it is supposed to say "...anyone else use two?" not "anyone else two"

Zach
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 12:18 AM
 
The thread title could be fixed ... but do you really want to use that one?

"Dual Monitors, anyone else use two?" = is anyone using four monitors.
     
phantomdragonz  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Near Boulder, CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 12:31 AM
 
Originally Posted by reader50
"Dual Monitors, anyone else use two?" = is anyone using four monitors.
this is why I suck at english... good thing I want to be an engineer.

screw it, leave it botched

I really want to use two monitors, but I need that darn ADC converter, and I plan on buying a mac pro in the next month or so... maybe I will just have to bite the bullet and buy it...

Zach
     
hickey
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West LA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 12:33 AM
 
I hope to one day have dual monitors. and on that day, I shall be complete.
     
IceEnclosure
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 12:54 AM
 
Originally Posted by hickey
and on that day, I shall be complete.
surely there's more.
ice
     
Jeff Lebowski
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 01:52 AM
 
Why would you need dual monitors with the convenience of exposé? I use a 1024x768 display, and I love it because each window takes up the whole screen. No overlapping, no open spaces, just me and the window.
     
shecky
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 02:10 AM
 
you obviously do not work with any pro apps with lots of palettes (indesign, after effects, FCP, etc..)
     
MacMan4000
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 02:15 AM
 
............
( Last edited by MacMan4000; Sep 1, 2015 at 12:34 PM. )
     
brassplayersrock²
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 03:24 AM
 
i use my 15'' g4 powerbook with an apple 23''. the laptop monitor is the slave, and i keep all my ims, and any kind of window needed for apps such as PS, finale, reason ect in it and the 23'' i use as my main and keep all the main windows for apps in it. im very happy with it. a picture of the setup is somewhere in the powerbook picture thread
     
Judge_Fire
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 03:41 AM
 
Yeah, one wide and one swiweled 90� as a vertical screen.

'Tall' screens are great for long pages of anything (code, mail, digg cloud, reason, forum threads) and portrait photos!

Desktop pics do become a bit more challenging to find...

J
     
Andy8
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 04:29 AM
 
I use a 24" Dell 2405 widescreen with my 17" Powerbook, and like many others have said it is hard to go back to one screen let alone less pixels..
     
analogika
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 05:31 AM
 
Originally Posted by Jeff Lebowski
Why would you need dual monitors with the convenience of exposé? I use a 1024x768 display, and I love it because each window takes up the whole screen. No overlapping, no open spaces, just me and the window.
Ooh look, it's a home user!
     
seanc
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 08:06 AM
 
Originally Posted by analogika
Ooh look, it's a home user!
     
Rumor
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 08:24 AM
 
I have two running off a 500mhz G4 and a flashed ATI 9200.
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
jonn804
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 09:30 AM
 
Try my link:
http://picasaweb.google.com/jonn804/NewAlbum82061011PM
I use the 30" monitor for my main apps (Safari, Mail) and the 15" MBP for less used apps (SOHO Notes, Toast, etc.).
-------------------
Dual G5 2.0, MBP, 23" ACD and 30" ACD, 1 TB storage, iPods
     
hayesk
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 10:21 AM
 
Originally Posted by Jeff Lebowski
Why would you need dual monitors with the convenience of exposé? I use a 1024x768 display, and I love it because each window takes up the whole screen. No overlapping, no open spaces, just me and the window.
When I am programming I need to look at several source code files at the same time. That's not easy in 1024x768
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 10:43 AM
 
Until I can afford a 30" Apple display, it'll be dual monitors for me. I work with Adobe apps all day, and I need an entire display just for floating palettes. At home, I use Logic, which is even worse. You often need 4 or 5 full windows open in that app. I can at least have the main two -- Mixer & Arrange, side by side with 2 displays.

Actually, I'd probably rather have 2 20-inchers than one 30.

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
Gossamer
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: "Working"
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 10:48 AM
 
I use dual monitors with my iBook: iBook's screen for IM, mail, etc, and a 19" CRT for everything else. I'm seriously looking at a 19" LCD right now though, this year I'm all about saving space...means I've got to throw out a ton of old Macs though
     
Jeff Lebowski
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 11:18 AM
 
Originally Posted by iluvanal
Ooh look, it's a home user!
Are you trying to make fun of me? I assure you, I may be a home user, but while you guys are pissing in your diapers about upgrading your little ram sticks, I'm building my own computers from scratch, and proud of it.




Does your mac have a cupholder and a cigarette lighter?
[Dr. Breen] I thought not. [/Dr. Breen]
     
analogika
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 11:33 AM
 
Originally Posted by Jeff Lebowski
Are you trying to make fun of me?
Stick-up-ass, meet Tongue-in-cheek.

Make friends and be happy.

Originally Posted by Jeff Lebowski
I assure you, I may be a home user, but while you guys are pissing in your diapers about upgrading your little ram sticks, I'm building my own computers from scratch, and proud of it.
...
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 12:09 PM
 
Originally Posted by Jeff Lebowski
Are you trying to make fun of me? I assure you, I may be a home user, but while you guys are pissing in your diapers about upgrading your little ram sticks, I'm building my own computers from scratch, and proud of it.
You are exhibiting very un-Dude-like qualities right there. Did somebody harsh your vibe?

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
shecky
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 12:25 PM
 
Originally Posted by Jeff Lebowski
Are you trying to make fun of me?
to use the parlance of our times, chill out.
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 02:13 PM
 
I built my own machine, too, a few years ago. Fun to do, but one fatal flaw - it can't run MacOS X.
     
MacMan4000
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 02:46 PM
 
............
( Last edited by MacMan4000; Sep 1, 2015 at 12:34 PM. )
     
Buckaroo
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 04:11 PM
 
Here is my dual monitor setup:



Click on the image above for a larger image.

Right now it's a dual monitor for my G5 in the center. I plan to replace the dual monitor setup with a 30 LCD sometime in the future.
( Last edited by Buckaroo; Aug 6, 2006 at 12:23 AM. )
     
IceEnclosure
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 04:19 PM
 
What's your electric bill like?
ice
     
Buckaroo
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 04:24 PM
 
LCD's don't draw that much power. It ain't that bad. Since I live a couple miles from the ocean, it stays cool so I don't have any air-coditioning expenses.
     
davesimondotcom
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Landlockinated
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 04:25 PM
 
Originally Posted by Buckaroo
Right now it's a dual monitor for my G5 in the center. I plan to replace the dual monitor setup with a 30 LCD sometime in the future.
Fsck you! My wife would never put up with that!

I'm a dual monitor guy from way back. I used two 15" CRTs as far back as on my Radius 81/110 PMac clone.

Right now I dual it with my 15" PowerBook connected to my 20" ACD.

Of course, my wife connects her mini to that same 20" ACD, so I get both during the day, just the PowerBook during the evenings.
[ sig removed - image host changed it to a big ad picture ]
     
Robert A.M. Stephens
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 05:16 PM
 
Am using 2 Apple 20" Flatscreens, but have ordered two 30" for the new G5, since I will be using Darwin Dimenions Evolver w/Renderman, Shake, ZBrush and Particle Motion Dynamic for work in CGI/FX on IJ4.

Have used 2 monitors, always Apple, for some 17 years now. It is good.
Have Jeep, Have Mac, Have Heart, Will Travel
     
C.A.T.S. CEO
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 05:39 PM
 
speaking of big dual, tri, quad monitors who has the longest dock? (pics)
Signature depreciated.
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 06:14 PM
 
Unfortunately, the Dock will not stretch itself across multiple monitors. It only uses the one monitor it appears on. I'd be interested in a hack that changed that, but am unaware of any such hack.

Buckaroo, please reduce the size of your picture. This isn't a large-pic-labelled thread, and you're more than double the 480 width limit.
     
C.A.T.S. CEO
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: eating kernel
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 07:04 PM
 
Originally Posted by Gossamer
I use dual monitors with my iBook: iBook's screen for IM, mail, etc, and a 19" CRT for everything else. I'm seriously looking at a 19" LCD right now though, this year I'm all about saving space...means I've got to throw out a ton of old Macs though
how much u want
Signature depreciated.
     
MOTHERWELL
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 08:30 PM
 
mandolux has the best dual and tri screen desktops
     
MrForgetable
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New York City, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 09:51 PM
 
I used two for a while, but the quality of my second one sucks so much I stopped using it. Expose is my friend.
iamwhor3hay
     
JoshuaZ
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Yamanashi, Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 10:21 PM
 
I used two for about three years. First with my desktop, and then with my laptop. Didn't feel the urge to buy an extra screen in Japan. Though miss the screen realestate.
     
CMYKid
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Dayton, OH
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 11:00 PM
 
I've been using two since the era of the Wallstreet/Lombard Powerbook. It always really mystified me that Apple never pushed that ability which was pretty groundbreaking for a laptop back then.

What I really like is the fact that my Powerbook remembers each separate display and configuration separately. I use a Panasonic 42" plasma, 27" Syntax LCD, 19' BenQ and a 19" NEC, all with different resolutions of course but also different left/right orientations, some as primary, others as secondary, some aligned at the top, some at the bottom...anyway, it remembers which are which and adjusts accordingly.

It's the little things.
     
brassplayersrock²
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 11:11 PM
 
if any of you would like, try out the app VirtueDesktops. it allows you to setup different desktops and switch between them. have mail on one, have chatting on another, code on another (this is esp. useful if you only use one monitor) also, they have a plug in that if you have a lappy with motion-sensor capabilities than all you have to do is tap the sides and it switches between the different desktops. i just tried it out, and it would be useful if i only had to use one monitor, but i don't so, yeah.
     
Buckaroo
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 11:24 PM
 
Originally Posted by reader50

Buckaroo, please reduce the size of your picture. This isn't a large-pic-labelled thread, and you're more than double the 480 width limit.
Hi,

Sorry, I don't have a program to change the size. Well atleast one that I can figure out yet. I downloaded Resize!, but couldn't figure it out in under 45 seconds.

I changed it to a url until I can get it to work.
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 11:49 PM
 
Thanks. If you want a simple & fast resizing utility, try Drag-N-Scale. Free, and looks good.
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 5, 2006, 11:49 PM
 
Originally Posted by Jeff Lebowski
Does your mac have a cupholder and a cigarette lighter?
[Dr. Breen] I thought not. [/Dr. Breen]
Mine has a cupholder, but the cheap thing broke!

Originally Posted by davesimondotcom
Fsck you!
Sure, hang on a second:

#fsck you
** /dev/rdiskYs0
** Checking HFS Plus volume.
** Checking Extents Overflow file.
** Checking Catalog file.
** Checking Catalog hierarchy.
** Checking volume bitmap.
** Checking volume information.
** The volume you appears to be OK.

Okay, so far so good... now what?

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
generationfourt
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 6, 2006, 03:47 AM
 
I just put a dell 2007fpw next to my old 17" lcd. love it to death. problem is that I always have way more stuff on the 17" and like 1 program in the 20" wide space lol

and yeah, mandolux has the best desktops, especially if you have 2 different types of resolutions
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,