Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > How many IP addresses do you need in your home?

View Poll Results: How many IP addresses do you need in your home?
Poll Options:
0: The internet is evil. 1 votes (2.63%)
< 5 7 votes (18.42%)
6-10 10 votes (26.32%)
11-20 15 votes (39.47%)
21-30 5 votes (13.16%)
31-50 0 votes (0%)
> 50. I run a small home data centre. 0 votes (0%)
Voters: 38. You may not vote on this poll
How many IP addresses do you need in your home?
Thread Tools
Eug
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 10:27 AM
 
I'm curious. How many networked devices and how many IP address do you need in your home?

I had a started a thread about Airport Extreme IP address configuration and decided to go through my networked devices, and realized that I currently need up to around 30 IP addresses, and have at least 24 networked devices, not including guest machines, and not including two Power Mac Cubes and an old Win XP PC that I have that still work but aren't being used anymore.

Originally Posted by me
iPhone 4
iPhone 3G
iPad 2
Apple TV
Laptop hardwired x 3
Laptop wireless x 3
Desktop hardwired x 4
(Desktop wireless x 2)
Xbox 360
Blu-ray player x 2
HD DVD player x 2 (yes I still have these)
IP cameras x 2
NAS
Airport Extreme
Airport Express x 2
Trendnet wireless access point
Networked printer
So, how many IP addresses do you need?
( Last edited by Eug; Jan 27, 2012 at 10:35 AM. )
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 10:34 AM
 
PC desktop
PC laptop
PowerMac g4
PowerMac g5 Intel
ipad
wii
bluray player
kindle 3g (does this need ip?)
printers are not directly on the network but shared by each machine.
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 10:41 AM
 
Originally Posted by andi*pandi View Post
kindle 3g (does this need ip?)
Yes, if you use WiFi.

Similarly, I need two IP address for some of my laptops, because I use them both wirelessly and hardwired, depending on the situation.

printers are not directly on the network but shared by each machine.
I have 3 printers, two of which I actually use (networked colour multifunction fax/scanner/printer, and monochrome laser), but one of them is just linked to my iMac (laser). If I was buying that second printer today it'd most definitely be a network printer. AirPrint Activator doesn't seem to work consistently.
( Last edited by Eug; Jan 27, 2012 at 10:48 AM. )
     
Dork.
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 11:17 AM
 
The last time we were in the Home Improvement store looking at appliances, we found a $3000 fridge with a touch-screen that lets you tweet from the fridge.

For that kind of money, it should text you when you're out of milk.
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 11:50 AM
 
Originally Posted by Dork. View Post
The last time we were in the Home Improvement store looking at appliances, we found a $3000 fridge with a touch-screen that lets you tweet from the fridge.

For that kind of money, it should text you when you're out of milk.
You can do that already, but you have to type on the touch screen yourself to say it's out of milk. That grocery list is available on the internet if you choose, so you can access the list from your iPhone remotely.

Also, home alarm systems are now becoming networked as well.

Come to think of it, my PVRs can also be controlled via the internet, but they're not plugged into my home network. The access to the PVRs is through the cable company's own network. So, I assume they do have IP addresses, but independent from my home network.
     
Mrjinglesusa
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Why do you care?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 01:39 PM
 
Blu-ray player (hardwired)
Cable boxes (4) - they each get their own IP address through FIOS
Droid RAZR
Droid 3
Macbook Air
iMac
Wife's PC
HTPC
Panasonic TV (for Viera Cast)
Sling Box (hardwired)
Xbox 360 (hardwired)
PS3
Kindle Fire
2.3GHz i7 15" Retina Macbook Pro (Late 2013)
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 02:22 PM
 
About 5, 6 when my lady friend is over with her iPhone.
     
Salty
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 02:54 PM
 
MacBook, iPhone, that's about it. I have a Smart TV that's kinda dumb, nice screen though, and I have a Wii I never use, and an Epson WiFi printer a friend got free with his MacBook Pro ... oh and my AirPort Express gets an IP from my Dlink. That's about it. I'll be getting an iPad once 3 comes out though.
     
Doc HM
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UKland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 04:11 PM
 
Lets see

iPhone 4 x2
Blackberry
HTC android phone

MacBook Pro
3x MacBooks
2 customers MacBooks in for repair but connected to network
iMac

Apple TV
Wii
Airport express
Time Capsule
Netgear router

Hp wireless printer (I love AirPrint)

I count 17 ip addresses.
This space for Hire! Reasonable rates. Reach an audience of literally dozens!
     
WhaMe
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 05:09 PM
 
I would vote for 5, if that were an option
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 06:10 PM
 
Way too many, considering there are only three people in this house.

Generally:
3 Android phones
1 iPhone
2 iPod touches
3 iPads
4 Macs
1 Bluray
1 Xbox 360
2 wireless printers
1 Time Capsule
1 AirPort Express
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 08:37 PM
 
Originally Posted by WhaMe View Post
I would vote for 5, if that were an option
Yep, I'm a moron. Mods, if you could change < 5 to ≤ 5, I'd appreciate it.
     
cybergoober
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newport News, VA USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 09:17 PM
 
Hmmm. Let's see:

MacBook Pro Late 2011
Dell Latitude D830
iPod Touch 1st Gen
2x iPod Touch 4th(?) Gen
AirPort Express b/g
2x FiOS STB
Wii
Playstation 3 Slim
Xbox 360
Apple TV 1st Gen
Sony BDP-S360
eMac 800
HP Laserjet 2100n
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 10:24 PM
 
iMac
MacBook
MBP
Airport Extreme
Airport Express
Internet-connected TV
Internet-connected BluRay player
Internet-connected HD-DVD player (don't laugh)
Dell laptop
WiFi game adapter (for when wired isn't an option and the Dell's WiFi card hates me)
iPad x2 (wife's iPad 1 and my iPad 2)
IPhone x2 (both 4s)

That's a lot of IPs, and it doesn't count when our son is over with his laptop, iPhone, etc. He's had friends over for visits with their own devices that need IPs, as well, and our best friends usually have WiFi phones and both of their iPads with them as well... I keep my DHCP IP pool set to around 25 for that reason.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 27, 2012, 10:53 PM
 
ghporter, with all that it seems that with 25 you are getting by, but without much room to spare when your family and friends come over.

It seems the norm according to the poll is 6-20 IP addresses, with occasional people needing closer to 30. I have a pool of 100, but 50 would suffice with tons of room to spare... for now. I think the numbers will continue to increase significantly in most homes in the coming years. Smartphones are now the norm. TVs need IP addresses. Printers need IP addresses. Hell, even some iPods need IP addresses now. And I'd love if my cameras had IP addresses, and would automagically sync their photos to my NAS over an 802.11ac network.

10 years ago I only needed 2-3 IP addresses. Now it's 2012, and I need 10 times that. What about in 2022? I probably won't need 10X what I need now, but it will definitely be significantly more, unless I decide to move to the wilderness off the grid or something. Imagine 15 years from now, a big home with a big family might have so many devices that even a whole subnet may not be quite enough.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 05:45 AM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
I have a pool of 100
What happened to the other 150 or so addys?
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 06:17 AM
 
Let's see:

Router
Managed Switch

Mac Minis x 2
MacBook Pro
iPad
iPhone

Time Capsules x2
Airport Extreme
Airport Express x6 (exclusively for AirPlay and Airfoil)
Micro-Cell

NAS x2

Editing Control Surface

Laser Printer
"Nice" Inkjet
Combo Inkjet/Scanner

PS3 x2
Xbox 360
Wii

That's 26. I'm not counting devices that do wired and wireless twice since they don't use both at once. It'll be more in awhile. I'm rebuilding a studio and putting in more managed switches.
     
besson3c
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 07:19 AM
 
Are you guys counting your VM guests using bridged networking?
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 07:43 AM
 
I only have one VM I use with any regularity, so I sort of let it slide in my count.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 09:51 AM
 
Modem/router
Airport Extreme
Airport Express
AppleTV
MacBook Pro
MacBook
Mac Mini Server
PowerMac G4
3 Xserves
Xserve RAID
Managed switch
iPhone 4S
Nintendo DS
Any work I bring home with me

The Xserves and PowerMac don't stay on all the time. Can't afford the juice for that sadly. Need my own solar farm.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 10:10 AM
 
I just realized Eug must have needed help deciding which of us to burgle.
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 10:30 AM
 
Could a mod change the <5 to ≤5 in the poll?
( Last edited by Eug; Jan 28, 2012 at 10:47 AM. )
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 10:46 AM
 
Originally Posted by subego View Post
What happened to the other 150 or so addys?
I keep a range for static IP addresses. So actually, I use about 6-7 static IPs, and need up to about 20+ for DHCP. However, I have around 30 total only if I count both the wired and wireless on the same machine. However, only on a couple machines do I use both at (close to) the same time. Those would be the laptops. I use wireless most of the time but if I have to transfer large files quickly I plug them into wired ethernet. I have set my DHCP leases to remain active for 1 day.

What happens if a machine has an IP address but is no longer using it, but the lease is still active? Will the Airport Extreme allocate that lease to another device if there are no more to give out?

Originally Posted by ghporter View Post
I only have one VM I use with any regularity, so I sort of let it slide in my count.
I don't use my VM anymore, so I didn't count it. Similarly, I don't use my Power Mac Cubes anymore, so I didn't count those either.

Actually I did pull out one of the Cubes for a guest room at Xmas but to my disappointment it is now locking up on sleep mode for some reason. If we use it and then shut it off when done, it's fine, but if it sits in sleep mode for a day, it may not wake up. BTW, it's actually OK (except for video playback), because I had put a 1.7 GHz G4 in it, along with a Geforce 6200.

Originally Posted by subego View Post
I just realized Eug must have needed help deciding which of us to burgle.
Yep, you look like a pretty good candidate, esp. if I wanted to add some Airports.

Originally Posted by subego View Post
Micro-Cell
Interesting. I didn't realize these were available. So, yet another IP-requiring device.


     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 11:54 AM
 
I run VirtualBox on my iMac to be able to run a software package I need for work which is, of course Windows only. I don't run that software on my Dell laptop because, though quite zippy "back in the day," it ain't anymore, at least compared to everything else I run, and it's just plain convenient to run the work stuff from my comfortable iMac.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
Wiskedjak
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Calgary
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 12:05 PM
 
Macbook Air
Macbook
PC
Toshiba laptop
iPhone
iPad
Nokia feature phone
Airport Express (Bedboom speakers)
Apple TV (Living Room)
Apple TV (Basement)
iPod Touch (Living Room speakers)
iPod Touch (Basement speakers)
iPod Touch (Daughter 1)
iPod Touch (Daughter 2)
Nintendo Wii

I think that about covers it ...
     
The Godfather
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 12:27 PM
 
Aw! You guys in your IPv4 world.

::1 openwrt
::2 triboot netbook
::3 iPhone
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 01:47 PM
 
So, according to my Airport Extreme, my last IP address leased via DHCP was x.x.x.133, despite the fact I only had around 20 or so devices that might use DHCP, and most of them weren't even on and haven't been for several days. My range starts at 100, so from 100-133 that's 34 IP addresses. Only 9 active leases were active at the time though (as my lease time is only 1 day).

Interestingly, the latest lease was from my AppleTV, despite the fact it hasn't been used in the last couple of days. So, when the AppleTV is idle, is it still active?

BTW, just because I'm a geek, I went around the house turning on things I haven't used in a last little while just so they'd get a lease. I'm now up to x.x.x.144, with 20 DHCP leases allocated. (The static IPs aren't counted in that 20.) So, for some reason the Airport Extreme is not leasing out those other 25 unused IP addresses between 100 and 144.

Originally Posted by The Godfather View Post
Aw! You guys in your IPv4 world.

::1 openwrt
::2 triboot netbook
::3 iPhone
Do continue...
     
The Godfather
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 02:13 PM
 
That's it. I don't have any other ip devices, even if my tunnel with hurricane electric gives out /48 prefixes and I can address 2^48 (281 trillion) publically addressable devices in my home.
( Last edited by The Godfather; Jan 28, 2012 at 02:20 PM. )
     
Wiskedjak
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Calgary
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 04:35 PM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
So, when the AppleTV is idle, is it still active?
Yup. The AppleTV is always active if it has power and an IP address.
     
euphras
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Germany, 51°51´51" N, 9°05´41" E
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 07:51 PM
 
Macbook Pro 13" early 2011
Powerbook Titanium DVI #1
Powerbook Titanium DVI #2
iBook Dual USB
Router

edit: my 6100 PowerMac (aka "Piltdown Man") hardly needs an IP since nearly one and a half decade.

http://www.applefritter.com/node/363
( Last edited by euphras; Jan 28, 2012 at 08:03 PM. )


Macintosh Quadra 950, Centris 610, Powermac 6100, iBook dual USB, Powerbook 667 DVI, Powerbook 867 DVI, MacBook Pro early 2011
     
besson3c
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 08:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by ghporter View Post
I run VirtualBox on my iMac to be able to run a software package I need for work which is, of course Windows only. I don't run that software on my Dell laptop because, though quite zippy "back in the day," it ain't anymore, at least compared to everything else I run, and it's just plain convenient to run the work stuff from my comfortable iMac.
What is that piece of software? Have you thought about seeing if it will run in WINE? I know it's a PITA to start up a VM just to run a single app.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 28, 2012, 10:23 PM
 
From looking at it (it is called "Smart" by Casamba), I have serious concerns about how it runs natively in Windows! But I never thought about trying WINE. On the other hand, VirtualBox is pretty lightweight in terms of start up and overhead so that's not much of a concern.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
iMac newbie 2011
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cardiff, South Wales, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 29, 2012, 08:38 AM
 
Never thought about it before

iMac
iPad
iPhone (original)
iPhone 3GS
HP Media Server (8TB)
Dell D630 Laptop (work)
HP Netbook (Linux)
Toshiba Quosmio F20 laptop
Apple TV (living room)
Apple TV (bedroom)
O2 Joggler
Blackberry 9300
Windows PC
2x Powerline Network Adapters
IP Phone
IP DECT Phone
HP Officejet 7210
IP Camera
Kindle
Wii
Xbox 360
Samsung 50" TV
Samsung 5.1 Bluray Surround System
Philips Bluray DVD Player
3x Dell Poweredge Rack Servers
1x HP Prolient Rack Server

Wow! More than I thought!
27" iMac 3.2GHz i3, 12GB, 1TB - iPhone 16GB - iPhone 3GS 8GB - iPod 80GB 5th Gen - HP Mediasmart Server 8TB
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 29, 2012, 08:40 AM
 
Expect a "visit".
     
iMac newbie 2011
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cardiff, South Wales, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 29, 2012, 08:54 AM
 
Originally Posted by subego View Post
Expect a "visit".
Good luck ;-)
27" iMac 3.2GHz i3, 12GB, 1TB - iPhone 16GB - iPhone 3GS 8GB - iPod 80GB 5th Gen - HP Mediasmart Server 8TB
     
Andy8
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 06:58 AM
 
About 10.
     
11011001
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Up north
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 07:10 AM
 
Another interesting poll might be how many WAN IP address one needs, or uses. I use three:
- work Mac Pro
- Home LAN
- iPhone

I can't see many people using any more than that, but maybe some people are?
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 07:30 AM
 
I had a few at one point because my ISP allowed up to 8 but not any more.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
Montezuma58
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, AL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 10:11 AM
 
iphone 4;
iphone 4s;
iphone 3g;
iPad2;
MacBook;
MacBook Pro;
crappy old PC;
Vizio TV;
Playstation 3;
2 Blu-ray players;
3 Direc TV DVRs;
Nintendo 3DS;
Time Capsule;
Airport Extreme;
Airport Express;
     
mattyb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 11:42 AM
 
I feel so inadequate.
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 11:55 AM
 
I totally forgot I'm using another router as a switch, and that one has an IP address as well.

So after 27 votes it seems only a few people can get by with less than 5 IP addresses, and it seems extremely common to have 11-20. More than 20 is less common, and more than 30 is very uncommon in the home.

That said, it's good to have a much larger IP range, for guest devices, and because leases have a time before they expire.

Originally Posted by 11011001 View Post
Another interesting poll might be how many WAN IP address one needs, or uses. I use three:
- work Mac Pro
- Home LAN
- iPhone

I can't see many people using any more than that, but maybe some people are?
I only have one WAN IP address for my home network (on my Airport Extreme, with my VDSL2 modem in bridge mode). What about the iPhone? I don't see a WAN IP listed for 3G data but I guess it would have one, no? (My GF's iPhone 3G wouldn't have one though, because she doesn't have a 3G data plan, so her 3G data access is always off.)

I also have two PVRs and an HD non-PVR box for my cable TV. None are connected to my home network but I assume I have three separate WAN IPs as well for those from the cable company. However, I'm not sure, as I haven't checked the service menu.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 11:58 AM
 
Originally Posted by mattyb View Post
I feel so inadequate.
It is a bit of an IP epeen thread.
     
Athens
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Great White North
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 03:45 PM
 
Currently Connected = 19
Needs to be Connected = 1
Future Devices to be bought = 11


Whats in use now

General Items
- My iPhone 4 (Wireless)
- Roommates iPhone 4 (Wireless)
- My old iPhone 3g (Wireless)
- Roommates ipod touch (Wireless)

My Bedroom

- Macbook Pro (x1 Hardwire, x1 Wireless)
- Dell Desktop (Hardwire)
- Samsung TV (Hardwire)
- Samsung Blu-Ray Player (Hardwire)
- XBox 360 (Hardwire)
- AppleTV (x1 Hardwire, x1 Wireless)
- Brother Network Printer (Hardwire)
- Shaw HDTV Box (Hardwire)
- Airport Extreme (Public IP Hardwire from the modem)

Kitchen

- Flat Panel iMac (Hardwire into Airport Express)
- Airport Express (Wireless)

Living Room

- Desktop PC (Hardwire)

Roommates Bedroom

- Dell Laptop (Wireless)

What needs to be added to the network
- Living Room TV

Devices that are planned that will be networked
- TV in Roommates Bedroom
- AppleTV for Living Room
- AppleTV for Roommates Bedroom
- Stereo system for my Bedroom
- Stereo system for LIving Room
- Blu-Ray Player for Living Room
- Blu-Ray Player for Roommates Bedroom
- PS3
- Another xbox for Roommates bedroom
- Nintendo WII
- iPad


(No wonder my power bill is $45.00 a month, I never realized how many devices I had going, being charged and so on. )
( Last edited by Athens; Jan 30, 2012 at 03:55 PM. )
Blandine Bureau 1940 - 2011
Missed 2012 by 3 days, RIP Grandma :-(
     
Chongo
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 03:54 PM
 
iMac
LG Smart TV
PS3
PSP
HD DVD
DirecTV HD DVR
Soon to come
VZW iPhone 4S
2nd HD DVR
     
OAW
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 04:08 PM
 
I suppose I hadn't really thought about this before. Let's see ....

Networking setup:

Airport Extreme (lower level) extended by an Airport Express (upper level).

Devices:

MacBook Air
PowerBook G4
iPhone 4
iPhone 3GS
iPhone 3G
Samsung TV
Samsung Blu-ray

Apple TV
D-link Security Camera
Nintendo Wii

Upcoming Device Purchases:

iPod Touch x 2
D-link Security Camera

Italicized - On the network but internet capabilities not really used.

So 10 for now. When the kids buy their 2 iPods the iPhone 3G will be retired. So with those and the extra camera I'll need 12. Really 10 if I don't bother connecting the Samsung devices to the network.

OAW
     
glideslope
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 04:26 PM
 
Airport Extreme/Express

Mac Pro (2)
iMac
Mac Book Pro
Apple TV v.2 (2)
Samsung 46"
Samsung 32"
Samsung Blue Ray
iPhone 4S
iPhone 4 (2)
iPhone 3GS
Network Printer

No iPad. I'm afraid it would consume me.
To know your Enemy, you must become your Enemy.”
Sun Tzu
     
Eug  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Caught in a web of deceit.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 04:35 PM
 
Originally Posted by OAW View Post
Samsung TV
Samsung Blu-ray


Italicized - On the network but internet capabilities not really used.

So 10 for now. When the kids buy their 2 iPods the iPhone 3G will be retired. So with those and the extra camera I'll need 12. Really 10 if I don't bother connecting the Samsung devices to the network. I also use Netflix on my Blu-ray player, because otherwise I don't have a media player hooked up to that TV.

OAW
What about just firmware updates, esp. for the BR player? I have found that such firmware updates are an absolute necessity, unlike the era of DVD players. However, another feature I like is when I put in a CD in my Sony BR player, it downloads the song list and displays it. (Yes I still use CDs.)

Originally Posted by Athens View Post
(No wonder my power bill is $45.00 a month, I never realized how many devices I had going, being charged and so on. )
Your list, once everything gets connected, will bring you to over 30. Impressive. That would be the most so far.

My power bill is even more expensive, but I have a room that is partially heated by electricity, and I also keep the solarium warm with an electric heater.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 04:37 PM
 
Try keeping all your electronics in the solarium.
     
OAW
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 04:51 PM
 
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
What about just firmware updates, esp. for the BR player? I have found that such firmware updates are an absolute necessity, unlike the era of DVD players. However, another feature I like is when I put in a CD in my Sony BR player, it downloads the song list and displays it. (Yes I still use CDs.)
This is true. And it is quite convenient to do this over the internet. But if push came to shove and I take it off the network I could still download the update on my laptop and upgrade the BR player with a flash drive. OTOH ... my Samsung HT-BD8200 BR/Sound Bar has been rather flaky when it comes to playing BR discs lately. Seems like I can't get through any movie without it starting to freeze and stutter after about an hour or so. The firmware is up-to-date and the behavior isn't title specific. It's almost as if it starts to overheat or something ... which is particularly annoying because it happens right when the movie is reaching it's climax. Already sent it back once about year ago when it stopped playing DVDs altogether. It works great as a sound bar though. Because of that and the fact that I'm watching most movies on my Apple TV (iTunes and Netflix) is the only reason I haven't tossed it out a window in frustration. The key takeaway? Samsung makes great TVs. BR players .... not so much IMO. So that's why keeping it on the network isn't a priority for me.

OAW
     
finboy
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Garden of Paradise Motel, Suite 3D
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 30, 2012, 04:57 PM
 
Originally Posted by Dork. View Post
The last time we were in the Home Improvement store looking at appliances, we found a $3000 fridge with a touch-screen that lets you tweet from the fridge.

For that kind of money, it should text you when you're out of milk.
We have
2x iPod Touch
2x iPad
1x iPhone
2x Windows 7 desktops (gaming)
2x MacBooks
2x Netbooks
3x x360 consoles
3x Blu-Ray players

So, yeah, in a week we'll use all that at some point. Not counting backup machines.
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,