Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel
Thread Tools
mattyb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2014, 02:51 PM
 
Its coming out soon, I'll be getting it on PC. Anyone else interested?
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2014, 03:11 PM
 
It's not on current gen.
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2014, 03:29 PM
 
Originally Posted by The Final Dakar View Post
It's not on current gen.
What idiots. Why would any company NOT chose to target Xbone or PS4?
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2014, 04:12 PM
 
They don't have the money. This game is a cash grab, and I'll be impressed if its decent.
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2014, 04:53 PM
 
Originally Posted by The Final Dakar View Post
They don't have the money. This game is a cash grab, and I'll be impressed if its decent.
Gearbox? What they do with all the money from previous Borderlands, buy a company jet or some other bollocks.
     
Mike Wuerthele
Managing Editor
Join Date: Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2014, 05:27 PM
 
This isn't about a cash grab, but is about development cycles, I suspect.

I bet its decent, like B2 was decent. If you didn't like B2, then you won't like this. If you did, then you will. Pretty simple.

I'm also willing to bet it'll be on One and Four before four months are up.
     
lpkmckenna
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2014, 09:34 PM
 
Originally Posted by mattyb View Post
What idiots. Why would any company NOT chose to target Xbone or PS4?
Because it would be expensive. Let's be honest: Borderlands is a fun but low-budget game.

I'm more confused by something else: pre-orders. I can now pre-order The Pre-Sequel on Steam for $60. Uh, why? am I saving any money here? Or are they actually planning on selling this game for more that $60 after launch?

I'm still playing thru BL2. I like it, a lot more that BL1, which I found kinda dreary. I would pre-order BL1.5 just for the fact that the Mac and Linux versions are launching the same day. But if it doesn't save me a single penny, what's the point?
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 11, 2014, 09:58 AM
 
Originally Posted by lpkmckenna View Post
I'm more confused by something else: pre-orders. I can now pre-order The Pre-Sequel on Steam for $60. Uh, why? am I saving any money here? Or are they actually planning on selling this game for more that $60 after launch?

I'm still playing thru BL2. I like it, a lot more that BL1, which I found kinda dreary. I would pre-order BL1.5 just for the fact that the Mac and Linux versions are launching the same day. But if it doesn't save me a single penny, what's the point?
You get a free piece of DLC and you can preload the game to start playing the minute the release drops.

(That said, I almost never preorder, and I don't think I will now.)
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 13, 2014, 10:58 AM
 
Originally Posted by mattyb View Post
Gearbox? What they do with all the money from previous Borderlands, buy a company jet or some other bollocks.
Originally Posted by EstaNightshift View Post
This isn't about a cash grab, but is about development cycles, I suspect.
Anonymous whistle blower claims Gearbox stole from SEGA - Destructoid

Sure, they made a lot from Borderlands, but guess where they got the money to fund Borderlands in the first place? Yup, SEGA.

"So Gearbox essentially lied to SEGA, mishandled funds, broke agreements and contractual obligations to work on other projects, didn't want to work on a game they were contractually obligated to work on and gave it to another team, poor organization and direction on ACM, took on too many projects from different companies at once, and other things that we may not even know about. Hell, part of me believes that Gearbox wanted this thing delayed as much as possible so they can get more funding money to embezzle from SEGA."
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 13, 2014, 11:35 AM
 
2K Australia has performed the majority of development on The Pre-Sequel, but has worked in collaboration with Gearbox on certain aspects of the game.
Ohhhhhh. Gearbox didn't even make it. It's a 2k cash grab.

Anyway, heard its comparable to Destiny on meteoritic. Take that how you will.
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 13, 2014, 11:36 AM
 
Yeah I saw some stuff on the Wikipedia page for Gearbox about their court cases. Still doesn't make sense to me why you wouldn't develop for Xbone or PS4 (and I'm sorry but I don't buy the fact that its that much more expensive - especially for a popular franchise such as Borderlands).

Then again, I know sweet FA about game development.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 15, 2014, 05:29 PM
 
Originally Posted by mattyb View Post
Yeah I saw some stuff on the Wikipedia page for Gearbox about their court cases. Still doesn't make sense to me why you wouldn't develop for Xbone or PS4 (and I'm sorry but I don't buy the fact that its that much more expensive - especially for a popular franchise such as Borderlands).

Then again, I know sweet FA about game development.
Probably they're basing it on an existing engine, likely the same as in Borderlands 2, and this game will come after that engine is ported to the PS4/Xbone.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
KCrosbie
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nor Cal
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 15, 2014, 11:14 PM
 
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2014, 03:02 PM
 
Downloading now on my pathetic excuse for an internet connection.
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2014, 04:26 PM
 
Its 5.1 GB. How can you do a game in 5 GB nowadays? Bit worried that there's going to be shitloads of stuff to grab before I can play this thing.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2014, 04:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by KCrosbie View Post
"OK maybe one moon wizard"
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2014, 05:25 PM
 
Can't play it until tomorrow apparently. Oh well.
     
lpkmckenna
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2014, 07:26 PM
 
Originally Posted by mattyb View Post
Its 5.1 GB. How can you do a game in 5 GB nowadays? Bit worried that there's going to be shitloads of stuff to grab before I can play this thing.
Steam says the game is 13 GBs.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2014, 09:08 AM
 
Originally Posted by mattyb View Post
Can't play it until tomorrow apparently. Oh well.
Preloading was made for your 'shitty' connection.
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2014, 12:55 PM
 
Originally Posted by lpkmckenna View Post
Steam says the game is 13 GBs.
I promise that I wasn't drinking. Maybe the software was not only encrypted (you got a message saying so when trying to click on Play) but was also zipped.
     
mattyb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Standing on the shoulders of giants
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 19, 2014, 06:27 AM
 
I can't even get past the first boss!!!
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 21, 2014, 05:58 PM
 
OK, so that was underwhelming. Granted I'm not quite at the end yet, but it certainly feels very close.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,