Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Team MacNN > Rollcall, with pictures!

Rollcall, with pictures!
Thread Tools
Scotttheking
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: College Park, MD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 05:50 PM
 
Been wanting to do this for a while, finally got access to a digicam about ten minutes ago.
Standard roll call, but post your farm pics. Nope, I don't want to see your mug shots (pics not required to post)
Here's what pictures I have, raw and unedited. Most are old, some are huge, but here they are.
I'll edit later to clean it up.
Click for larger.

Servers: Left to right, PMG3 (FAH), PM8500 (DF), Athlon XP 1800 (FAH), Athlon XP 2000 (FAH)


Netboot server: Athlon XP 1800 (FAH)
( Last edited by Scotttheking; Feb 13, 2003 at 06:53 PM. )
My website
Help me pay for college. Click for more info.
     
sideus
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 08:02 PM
 
Originally posted by Scotttheking:


Netboot server: Athlon XP 1800 (FAH)
HAHA
     
DAlex
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 13, 2003, 08:28 PM
 
Amended, see further down
( Last edited by DAlex; Jul 29, 2003 at 04:49 PM. )
     
ism
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2003, 04:02 PM
 
Here's my farm(!), poor little baby imac. It does dfold when it's not encoding video (32 hours to do 30mins of MPEG2!) because that's about all it's capable of.

I used to run seti at work, but was in danger of getting arseholed so had to pull it. Managed to get 1500 units though.

     
macdude22
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Iowa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2003, 12:09 AM
 
Not too much to brag about but i've got a couple machines chomping away.

eMac 700/640 MB Ram

P II 450/128 MB Ram

Currently waiting on Ibook 800 to come, Fed Ex does not know where it is, they have a "trace" out on it.
"Don't try to be a great man, just be a man."
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2003, 11:49 PM
 
Originally posted by Scotttheking:
Been wanting to do this for a while, finally got access to a digicam about ten minutes ago.
Standard roll call, but post your farm pics. Nope, I don't want to see your mug shots (pics not required to post)
Here's what pictures I have, raw and unedited.

Scott I be thinking that there are a few processors that you are running not shown in these pictures. [email protected] says that you had 17 processors active last week and krove had 20. What is the real scoop???
Tag ur it.
     
Scotttheking  (op)
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: College Park, MD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 16, 2003, 03:29 AM
 
Originally posted by jbcool:
Scott I be thinking that there are a few processors that you are running not shown in these pictures. [email protected] says that you had 17 processors active last week and krove had 20. What is the real scoop???
Been busy. I'll get more pics up, I have to organize old ones, and I've got 7 or 8 machines that there will be no pictures of. I should have 14 procs in [email protected], I'll recount tomorrow once I can think again.
My website
Help me pay for college. Click for more info.
     
Shaktai
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mile High City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 03:14 AM
 
jbcool asked me to host his photos for him, so here they are.

http://www.pbase.com/brdavid/jbcool/

pbase is down right now (most likely the nightly backup) but after it comes back up, then sometime tomorrow I will also post my own photos, Probably on the same page. They will be clearly marked though so there will be no confusion between mine and jbcool's.
     
Dogma
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Cumbria, England
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 04:59 AM
 
Hee Hee, you guys better start making use of your machines for actual work, or I may have to steal them!

My 'Rig' - iBook 600Mhz 12.1", 384Mb RAM

(I'm sure you've all seen one)

Wonder when my G5's getting delivered...
Hark, I hear a robin sig'ing in the trees!
Nae, there is no sog to be sug,
or am I wrog? Why can't I sig?
     
Scotttheking  (op)
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: College Park, MD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 05:39 AM
 
here's another pic.
It's my "phase 1" pic, too.


BTW, shaktai, this was taken on my coolpix 3100.



Starting at the bottom left and working my way around.
P2 450, dead. It's a client machine that stopped working, and they never asked for it back (it's really not fixable).
On the counter.
G3 400, G3 300, [email protected], xp2400.
On the floor in the back.
xp 1800, tbird 1.2, xp2000, xp2100 (to be OCed tomorrow).

And above the counter, there's a small section of my family's library.
( Last edited by Scotttheking; Jul 12, 2003 at 05:44 AM. )
My website
Help me pay for college. Click for more info.
     
enola
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 12:38 PM
 


Here's my modest setup. Going from left to right.

1. Shuttle SS51G w/2.53 GHz P4
2. iBook 500MHz
3. Iwill XP4 w/2.4 GHz P4 under the desk with the subwoofer
4. 2*1 GHz Mac

Not pictured.
1. A 1.7GHz PC at work
( Last edited by enola; Jul 12, 2003 at 12:46 PM. )
     
enola
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 12:49 PM
 
Originally posted by Shaktai:
jbcool asked me to host his photos for him, so here they are.

http://www.pbase.com/brdavid/jbcool/
Ah, the infamous PVC motherboard holder thingie in the guest bathroom!
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 01:12 PM
 
Originally posted by enola:
Ah, the infamous PVC motherboard holder thingie in the guest bathroom!
Now how did I know your setup would be nice and neat?

I like the idea of using a prefabricated metal shelf attached to the wall better than the pvc. That way you can put the power supplies on the shelf and hang the boards from them and still have the out of the way. Another idea I had thanks to you is mounting the motherbards on acrylic panels and making a rack where the panel slides into slots cut in three wood dowels. Thanks for the other ideas.

Shaktai thanks for putting the pictures up for me.
Tag ur it.
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 05:39 PM
 
Now there is a serious farmer's pic.
jbcool, I would suggest putting 2-3 bricks between the floor and the base board of your rack. If you had a plumbing backup or leak, the bare wood would soak up the water and eventually get it to the power supplies and hard drives.

You could improve the system by putting a few cross braces between the two sides to stabilize it, and putting a middle rail across each side. Then the motherboards could be tied by 4 corners instead of two:

. ._________
. |. .|. .|. .|. .|. .|
. |_________|
_|_________|_

Fringe bonus, you could tie off the cables at more points, for a neater look.
     
Shaktai
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mile High City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2003, 05:44 PM
 
Originally posted by Scotttheking:
BTW, shaktai, this was taken on my coolpix 3100.
Looks like a pretty nice little camera.

Okay, I finally got my setup posted, shot of course with my Nikon 5700. pbase was having upload problems earlier, and I couldn't get them to post.

Same URL http://www.pbase.com/brdavid/jbcool/

Dang, I am going to have either buy more photo storage, or downscale some of my photos, to reduce file size. Those 5 megapixel shots in my galleries take up an awful lot of space.
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2003, 12:44 AM
 
Originally posted by reader50:
Now there is a serious farmer's pic.
jbcool, I would suggest putting 2-3 bricks between the floor and the base board of your rack. If you had a plumbing backup or leak, the bare wood would soak up the water and eventually get it to the power supplies and hard drives.

You could improve the system by putting a few cross braces between the two sides to stabilize it, and putting a middle rail across each side. Then the motherboards could be tied by 4 corners instead of two:

. ._________
. |. .|. .|. .|. .|. .|
. |_________|
_|_________|_

Fringe bonus, you could tie off the cables at more points, for a neater look.
Thanks for the ideas. Here are my thoughts and where it will head.
Plumbing leak not an issue as it has all been turned off in that room. If it does have a leak the neighbors down below will learn about it first.

Cross braces will not be needed when I get nylon standoffs to space between the boards. The motherboards will become part of the strength of the structure. Middle rails will be added to store hard drives on a piece of acrylic. Another solution would be tie straps and wood dowels.

Now about being neat. Refer to picture (1), enough said? If it were an long term setup everthing would be neat and identified. To busy playing with new truck to mess with it now. Computer in new truck was reprogrammed within (4) hours after picking it up.
Tag ur it.
     
Scotttheking  (op)
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: College Park, MD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2003, 01:11 AM
 
What truck did you get?
My website
Help me pay for college. Click for more info.
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2003, 09:32 PM
 
Originally posted by Scotttheking:
What truck did you get?
3/4 Ton Crew Cab Duramax Diesel 4 Wheel Drive with the Allison transmission. With most the options and a reprogrammed computer with a new computer (backup ordered).
Tag ur it.
     
enola
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 10:27 AM
 
Originally posted by jbcool:
3/4 Ton Crew Cab Duramax Diesel 4 Wheel Drive with the Allison transmission. With most the options and a reprogrammed computer with a new computer (backup ordered).
Yeah, but can it fold? Although, if the onboard computer is at 100% the truck might not start.
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 01:06 PM
 
Originally posted by enola:
Yeah, but can it fold? Although, if the onboard computer is at 100% the truck might not start.
Why yes it can and it can even upload download data using the onstar antenna. It will have to have a least a piece of equipment where I can telnet to my boxes.
Tag ur it.
     
Aydon
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 03:03 PM
 
No pics as I am on 56K still until BT pull their finger out and upgrade my exchange (Can't come soon enough as I have just had to type this reply out twice - must remember to copy before submitting!) Plus, I'm not a "real" member, merely an extension of DAlex (oo-er!) But anyways:

24/7 Crunchers at home:

1. XP1700+ running at 2017
2. XP1700+ running at stock
3. Mobile P4 1.8
4. Athlon 1.33
5. Duron 900
6. PII 233 *snigger*

Current work crunchers:

1. P4 2.4
2. 2-way P4 Xeon 2.4
3. 2-way P4 Xeon 2.4

Cruncher I am trying SO HARD to get permission to use:

1. 8-way P4 Xeon 2.4 Cluster
     
DAlex
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 04:12 PM
 
Originally posted by Aydon:
No pics as I am on 56K still until BT pull their finger out and upgrade my exchange (Can't come soon enough as I have just had to type this reply out twice - must remember to copy before submitting!) Plus, I'm not a "real" member, merely an extension of DAlex (oo-er!) But anyways
Add to that;

XP2600
XP1700 @ XP2200 (at home, both pictured below)


G4 733 (at work)

G4 iMac (at home)


P3 1ghz (at work)

Hopefully, baring any further power outages and the significant boost to dfold starting to come online for me from me old buddy Aydon, my dfold figures should rise over the next couple of days


I'll edit this later when I can sort out a link to some images....done

DAlex
( Last edited by DAlex; Jul 29, 2003 at 04:26 PM. )
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 05:49 PM
 
Originally posted by Aydon:
No pics as I am on 56K still until BT pull their finger out and upgrade my exchange (Can't come soon enough as I have just had to type this reply out twice - must remember to copy before submitting!) Plus, I'm not a "real" member, merely an extension of DAlex (oo-er!) But anyways:

24/7 Crunchers at home:

1. XP1700+ running at 2017
2. XP1700+ running at stock
3. Mobile P4 1.8
4. Athlon 1.33
5. Duron 900
6. PII 233 *snigger*

Current work crunchers:

1. P4 2.4
2. 2-way P4 Xeon 2.4
3. 2-way P4 Xeon 2.4

Cruncher I am trying SO HARD to get permission to use:

1. 8-way P4 Xeon 2.4 Cluster
WOW!!! Wish I had friends like you. If your posting and crunching for the team you are a real member. Welcome aboard! Just not sure about that company you keep.

Glad I got out of the way before you and DAlex got serious about this.
Tag ur it.
     
DAlex
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 06:38 PM
 
Originally posted by jbcool:
Glad I got out of the way before you and DAlex got serious about this.
Heh, I'm looking forward to tomorrow to see what kind of difference these new puppies make when they've completed the initial big generation.

We're not sure what will happen with Aydon's work machines as they are not allowed permanent internet connections, just hoping that they buffer OK till he is back in work....

And hey, what's wrong with my company!

DAlex
     
enola
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 09:38 PM
 
DAlex,

What a nice neat office you have. And you're so tall!!!!
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2003, 10:15 PM
 
Originally posted by DAlex:
Heh, I'm looking forward to tomorrow to see what kind of difference these new puppies make when they've completed the initial big generation.

We're not sure what will happen with Aydon's work machines as they are not allowed permanent internet connections, just hoping that they buffer OK till he is back in work....

And hey, what's wrong with my company!

DAlex
As I page through ream after ream making sure that I did not say anything was wrong with your company. Hmmm, nope can't find anything. Turn around and I will give you a pat on the back also.
SMACK!!!! There do you feel better now????
Tag ur it.
     
DAlex
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 30, 2003, 04:47 AM
 
Originally posted by jbcool:
As I page through ream after ream making sure that I did not say anything was wrong with your company. Hmmm, nope can't find anything. Turn around and I will give you a pat on the back also.
SMACK!!!! There do you feel better now????
LOL! I thought you were joking about Aydon being associated with me "Just not sure about that company you keep"!

He does rather like his PCs but then again as in IT services person I guess he has too.

DAlex
     
DAlex
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 30, 2003, 04:51 AM
 
Originally posted by enola:
DAlex,

What a nice neat office you have. And you're so tall!!!!
Funny you should say that but I am rather tall! (although for that shot I was stood on a box...)

The office is a shared playroom - during the day it is a painting/drawing and general mess room for my 3 year old daughter then at night it is my gaming room - a bit of LAN gaming with Mr Aydon. My iMac stays in doors away from the mayhem of the playroom (part of my garage).

DAlex
     
Aydon
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 30, 2003, 05:40 AM
 
Originally posted by DAlex:
He does rather like his PCs but then again as in IT services person I guess he has too.
Nope - it's just cos I'm a saddo
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 30, 2003, 12:59 PM
 
Originally posted by DAlex:
LOL! I thought you were joking about Aydon being associated with me "Just not sure about that company you keep"!

He does rather like his PCs but then again as in IT services person I guess he has too.

DAlex
Geeze I is slow.
I had to go back and read the post I typed. Must have had a "0" bit bucket overrun error in my brain at the time, "Ok, I have it going all the time."

Yes I was kidding, I was going to say something about you darn brits, but I might end up working for you someday. See a lot more British people these days in the companies I go to visit.

I hate computers but you would never be able to tell it with the number I have around the house and the jobs I have taken over the years. The pay has always been good so I have been to lazy to go out and get a real job. And yes I have had (worked?) IT jobs. So you don't have to like 'em to use 'em.

Computers: The ultimate gee wiz toy.
Tag ur it.
     
Aydon
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 30, 2003, 02:07 PM
 
Originally posted by jbcool:
Yes I was kidding, I was going to say something about you darn brits, but I might end up working for you someday. See a lot more British people these days in the companies I go to visit.
And some of us Brits work for US companies - Big Blue US companies
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 30, 2003, 09:45 PM
 
Originally posted by Aydon:
And some of us Brits work for US companies - Big Blue US companies
AH the sleeping dragon! We always joked about kicking it in the foot and hearing it say ouch six months later when I did work for them. I enjoyed working for them as I am sure you do. Seemed to do more golfing that working as I remember.

It is a world economy and I see it more all the time.
Tag ur it.
     
DAlex
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Cardiff, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 31, 2003, 01:41 AM
 
Originally posted by jbcool:
Seemed to do more golfing that working as I remember.
That has given me a really good laugh! You are so right there, Aydon is often to be found on the golf course or sinking a few in the 19th....
     
jbcool
Senior User
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In front of monitor above keyboard.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 31, 2003, 07:18 PM
 
Originally posted by DAlex:
That has given me a really good laugh! You are so right there, Aydon is often to be found on the golf course or sinking a few in the 19th....
Glad to give you a smile and a chuckel.

But seriously for me it was 24-40 hours of work with clients to do the installs and training. With about 200 hours of learning in between each client. Good think we had booze in the fridge and a pizza place down the block. Great group of people to work with.
Tag ur it.
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 2, 2003, 03:23 PM
 
     
OneMacGuy
Senior User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: God's Country, The South
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 2, 2003, 09:19 PM
 
Originally posted by reader50:
I like that setup! VERY nice for video editing. Where did you get that desk?
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 3, 2003, 12:54 AM
 
The desk itself is nothing special. It has a square top that is exactly 60 inches wide. I tried a couple shelving racks of the type you can get at Home Depot, but the shelves were not strong enough to handle large monitors. Also, the cross braces got in the way whenever I wanted to work on any of the components.

Presently, I ordered this ... the "UltraRack" at the bottom. It is exactly 60 inches wide, has no cross braces, is a matching color, and is rated for serious weight. The top half of the rack fitted perfectly to the desk, with no sagging under the monitors. I added the side shelf for the CPU, leaving plenty of room for a 3rd 19" monitor in the future ... or perhaps even a center 21" monitor.
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 9, 2003, 02:09 PM
 
No pictures right now, but the "farm" is growing. Just got the kids an iMac G4 800 mz and upgraded my Sawtooth 450 to a 1.25 gig with the OWC card. (1.25 G4 processor was bundled with GeForce 4 MX for 550.00. pretty good deal.) So now, I've got running:

Cube 450
QS Dual Gig
Sawtooth 1.25
FP iMac 800

(temporarily)
Dell 1.0 PIII
Dell 2.0 Celeron

I'll post some pics of the sawtooth with the new card in it soon-- the upgrade was a snap. Took about 15 minutes.

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,