Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > iMac Rev. A woes....

iMac Rev. A woes....
SWoodNJ
Jan 2, 2000, 10:05 AM

Hi all! Let me start by saying I have owned and used Macs for over 10 years, and I am an experienced Mac/PC technician and also programmer. I have a Rev a iMac 233 which I upgraded to 6 mb vram and 96 mb ram. This machine worked great with OS 8.1, 8.5 and 8.6. OS 9 didn't install well, so I reinitialized and did a clean install, which worked fine. I am not using any third party extensions except OSA Menu Lite. I periodically lock up, generally when doing things on-line, sometimes I can force quit but many times I have to hit the "big switch". Sometimes IE 4.5 is the cause, in the middle of drawing a page it locks up. Other times it's FTPing files using the Network Browser, or uploading pages with Claris Home Page. I know I'll probably have to live with it but just wondered if anyone else has had these same experiences and was able to do something about it. BTW, I have done all the usual, desktop rebuild, zapping pram, disk first aid, etc. Thanks for listening!

SteveW

Misha
Professional Poster
Jan 2, 2000, 12:55 PM

I've noticed that a lot of older apps can bring OS 9 down, even if they're not doing anything in the background. Do you run any older apps while IE 4.5, Network Browser, etc. locks up?

It's a strange problem, I must admit.

OS 9's crashing frustrated me to the point where I reformatted and installed OS 8.6 on my PowerBook G3 a few days ago. I've since done a simple upgrade to OS 9, backing up the OS 8.6 folder (and all my prefs/add-ons) so that I can switch back at a moments notice of the crashing ensues again...