Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Getting external partitions to not mount automatically?

Getting external partitions to not mount automatically?
Thread Tools
B Gallagher
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2009, 05:43 PM
 
Hello all,

I've got an external HDD with the following partitions:
  1. Backup (Time Machine)
  2. Tiger Install Disc 1
  3. Tiger Install Disc 2
  4. Leopard Install DVD
  5. 10.4.11
  6. 10.5.6
  7. TechTool Deluxe

Now, the Backup partition is the only one I use on a day-to-day basis - the others I keep around for diagnostic, scratch discs, quick reinstalls, etc. However, every time I mount my external drive, all seven partitions come up on the desktop, and I find myself quickly dragging them to the trash to have a cleaner desktop. Is there any way to specify certain partitions to not mount automatically?

Thanks.
MBP 15" C2D 2.2GHz 4.0GB [email protected]
iPhone 4 32GB Black
     
Hal Itosis
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2009, 06:14 PM
 
Originally Posted by B Gallagher View Post
However, every time I mount my external drive, all seven partitions come up on the desktop, and I find myself quickly dragging them to the trash to have a cleaner desktop. Is there any way to specify certain partitions to not mount automatically?
Haven't tried this myself since Tiger... but folks who i trust have confirmed that
the fstab method described by "Hiding Partitions" still works in Leopard.
-HI-
     
B Gallagher  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2009, 06:35 PM
 
Thanks for the quick reply Hal - I'm confused about the /etc/fstab file though. What format is this, and where do I save it to? :o
MBP 15" C2D 2.2GHz 4.0GB [email protected]
iPhone 4 32GB Black
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2009, 07:14 PM
 
It's done through the Terminal, B Gallagher. There is more than one way to hide volumes from showing up in the Finder, though. You can toggle the volume's invisibility flag, for example:

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...80124184544791

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
Gavin
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 01:02 AM
 
The down side to this is remembering that the partition exists and how to make it show up when you need it next year. "I could have sworn I had a TechTool partition"

Keep notes.
You can take the dude out of So Cal, but you can't take the dude outta the dude, dude!
     
B Gallagher  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 01:56 AM
 
Thanks Big Mac and Gavin. Haha, yes, I have made notes! Big Mac, I actually prefer your method to Hal's, for the simple reason that the partition is still mounted (and shows up in the finder), yet not showing on the desktop. Many thanks.
MBP 15" C2D 2.2GHz 4.0GB [email protected]
iPhone 4 32GB Black
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 03:41 AM
 
Originally Posted by B Gallagher View Post
Thanks Big Mac and Gavin. Haha, yes, I have made notes! Big Mac, I actually prefer your method to Hal's, for the simple reason that the partition is still mounted (and shows up in the finder), yet not showing on the desktop. Many thanks.
I'm confused. If you set the partition to be invisible it will not show up on the desktop, sure. But how come it shows up in the Finder? If it's invisible it shouldn't show up at all in the Finder.
     
B Gallagher  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 05:00 AM
 
I have no idea, to be honest. But here's what it looks like:
MBP 15" C2D 2.2GHz 4.0GB [email protected]
iPhone 4 32GB Black
     
DarkStarRed
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2009, 05:31 AM
 
It's separated via the Finder's Preferences (Show items on Desktop) & (Show these items in Siderbar)
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,