Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Where do you go to set the open firmware password in OS X Lion?

Where do you go to set the open firmware password in OS X Lion?
Thread Tools
Tyre MacAdmin
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2012, 01:36 AM
 
Where do you go to set the open firmware password in OS X Lion? I have a new Mac Mini and I am trying to find it in the EFI settings using apple + r to get to the boot setting but I do not see it anywhere...
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2012, 05:53 AM
 
Its possible Lion doesn't support it since Filevault now does FDE. I wouldn't be surprised if Apple expected you to use that instead.
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2012, 06:13 AM
 
Here's a tutorial for how to do it on Lion. It sounds like you have to use the firmware password utility off your Snow Leopard Disc.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
Tyre MacAdmin  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2012, 12:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by Big Mac View Post
Here's a tutorial for how to do it on Lion. It sounds like you have to use the firmware password utility off your Snow Leopard Disc.
Thanks - but don't have a snow leopard disk Was sent out to the waste lands after the PPC updates ended! Anyways thanks - maybe a friend has one...
     
Art Vandelay
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2012, 01:17 AM
 
It's the first item in the Utilities menu when you boot the Lion Recovery HD.
Vandelay Industries
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2012, 02:45 AM
 
Winner!

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
Tyre MacAdmin  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2012, 04:20 PM
 
Originally Posted by Art Vandelay View Post
It's the first item in the Utilities menu when you boot the Lion Recovery HD.
I do not see a "Recovery HD" in start-up disks. I did do full disk encryption so I do not know if that did something... ?
     
Art Vandelay
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2012, 04:23 PM
 
Boot with Command-R.
Vandelay Industries
     
Tyre MacAdmin  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 26, 2012, 05:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by Art Vandelay View Post
Boot with Command-R.
Found it thanks!
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,