Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > OS_X Dial-up Internet woes

OS_X Dial-up Internet woes
Thread Tools
rhansen_x
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mosquito capitol of the world
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 27, 2002, 03:17 PM
 
Have an interesting problem. Hope somebody can help me. I have a TiBook 667 which I use at work and on the road. At work, I can connect to the internet through our proxy server. However, I cannot connect using a dial-up connection from home. If I boot into OS 9.2, I can use dial-up internet access. What do I do?

I am not a newbie by any means to the Mac. This one is just stumping me though.
Forget the curveball Rickey, give 'im the heater.
     
el chupacabra
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 1, 2002, 01:39 PM
 
I have this same problem with my imac. Sorry I can't help but it would be nice to know how to fix. Seems a lot of people have this problem.
the largest problem for Americans today is they eat too much food and dont have enough work to do to keep their heart healthy
     
ThomasH
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 1, 2002, 04:23 PM
 
Are you guys connecting with a PPP script in OS 9?

Because that could be the problem in OS X, since it doesn't support these scripts yet.

- Thomas
     
rhansen_x  (op)
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mosquito capitol of the world
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 1, 2002, 05:06 PM
 
I am using the Internet Connect utility from OSX
Forget the curveball Rickey, give 'im the heater.
     
ARENA
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: .CL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 1, 2002, 07:46 PM
 
Originally posted by ThomasH:
<STRONG>Are you guys connecting with a PPP script in OS 9?

Because that could be the problem in OS X, since it doesn't support these scripts yet.

- Thomas</STRONG>
What you mean by that?
Mac OS X fully supports PPP modem scripts and if you wish you can use the same modem scripts from Mac OS 9.

They are stored in: '/System/Library/Modem Scripts'
     
OverclockedHomoSapien
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 2, 2002, 11:17 AM
 
Steve Jobs doesn't use a modem, and he thinks you shouldn't use one either.
[FONT="book antiqua"]"If a nation expects to be ignorant and free, in a state of civilization, it expects what never was and never will be."
- Thomas Jefferson, 1816.[/FONT]
     
DPUser
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 2, 2002, 11:52 AM
 
Originally posted by OverclockedHomoSapien:
<STRONG>Steve Jobs doesn't use a modem, and he thinks you shouldn't use one either.</STRONG>
I find OSX's support for PPP to be abominable, so there may be a touch of truth there.

Anyway, you say that you're using a proxy to connect at work. I presume you're connecting via a LAN at work and to an ISP from home.

You may want to create a new location for your PPP connection to your ISP without the proxy setting.
     
rhansen_x  (op)
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mosquito capitol of the world
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 4, 2002, 06:23 PM
 
If Mr. Jobs wants me to run broadband, he can pay for it. I refuse to give my money to the bandits at AOL/TimeWarner for ChodeRunner. DSL is not an option, either.

I will try using the location tonite.
Forget the curveball Rickey, give 'im the heater.
     
Betox
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santiago, RD
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 5, 2002, 10:24 AM
 
I use Dial-Up connection on Mac OS X in my home, and is sweet!! I don't know way people are having so much trouble with Internet Connect in OS X, I've nerver had any problem.
--
QuickSilver 800 Mhz / iBook 500 Mhz / Original 5GB iPod / iPod Shuffle 512 / Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger >> And it IS snappy!
     
rhansen_x  (op)
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mosquito capitol of the world
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 5, 2002, 10:36 AM
 
Do you also use the same computer to access the internet through a proxy server? I am using a PowerBook at both work and at home. I have T1 access at work and dial-up at home.
Forget the curveball Rickey, give 'im the heater.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,