Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Desktop options gone in System Prefs

Desktop options gone in System Prefs
Thread Tools
vcutag
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 23, 2004, 11:34 PM
 
For some crazy reason, the pull-down menu in the System Prefs panel for desktop images has dissapeared. All of my desktop images are now being stretched out to 1280x854 by default, and I can't tell it to tile the smaller ones (or fill the screen, etc.) anymore. I've tried repairing permissions, re-installing OS X, logging in as another user and using someone else's System Preferences.app file on my machine, nothing has helped.

Anyone ever see this before?
     
d.fine
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2004
Location: on 650 cc's
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 03:20 PM
 
I have read about things dissapearing in MacOS X ...
What version are you running on ? Try the latest upgrade yet ?

stuffing feathers up your b*tt doesn't make you a chicken.
     
vcutag  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 03:30 PM
 
Originally posted by d.fine:
I have read about things dissapearing in MacOS X ...
What version are you running on ? Try the latest upgrade yet ?
Yeah, both times I re-installed OS X, I upgraded to 10.3.3.
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 03:39 PM
 
Have a look in /System/Library/PreferencePanes. Is there a DesktopScreenEffectsPref.prefPane there?

If so, try:

1. Trash your user/library/Preferences/com.apple.systempreferences.plist
2. DiskWarrior.

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
Taipan
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 04:24 PM
 
Hi!

Uhm, I don't have that pulldown menu. Where is it supposed to be?
     
vcutag  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 04:31 PM
 
Originally posted by Taipan:
Hi!

Uhm, I don't have that pulldown menu. Where is it supposed to be?
Right under where it tells you the title of the image you've selected.
     
xi_hyperon
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Behind the dryer, looking for a matching sock
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 04:51 PM
 
Hmm... weird, it's missing on my prefs pane too.
     
Gator Lager
Senior User
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 05:21 PM
 
Happen to me a couple of time. I did a restart each time and it resolved the problem.

hope that helps. ain't the cure, just a quick solution.
     
xi_hyperon
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Behind the dryer, looking for a matching sock
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 05:29 PM
 
Eh, I did the prefs delete and Diskwarrior route, to no avail.
     
vcutag  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 05:51 PM
 
Originally posted by xi_hyperon:
Eh, I did the prefs delete and Diskwarrior route, to no avail.
Yeah, same here. It's really starting to annoy me, does anyone know if Apple knows about this?
     
xi_hyperon
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Behind the dryer, looking for a matching sock
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 24, 2004, 06:10 PM
 
They do now (although I'm sure I'm not the first to send them feedback on it).
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 25, 2004, 07:17 AM
 
Okay, I mis-read that. I thought he was missing the whole Desktop pref pane, not just the menu. The pull-down menu went missing on my PB a while back, but now it's there. I can't tell you where it went, or why it came back. Still, deleting the prefs is about all I can think of. Does this persist through re-starts?

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
xi_hyperon
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Behind the dryer, looking for a matching sock
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 25, 2004, 07:28 PM
 
Originally posted by chris v:
Okay, I mis-read that. I thought he was missing the whole Desktop pref pane, not just the menu. The pull-down menu went missing on my PB a while back, but now it's there. I can't tell you where it went, or why it came back. Still, deleting the prefs is about all I can think of. Does this persist through re-starts?

CV
Well today, I switched desktops images a couple of times, and suddenly the pull-down menu appeared. Then later, it was gone again. It doesn't seem to have anything to do with restarting, or anything else that I can discern. Ornery little fella, I tell you!
     
Mr. Blur
Professional Poster
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Somewhere, but not here.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 25, 2004, 09:21 PM
 
i just played around with my desktop pics and niticed that the dropbox appeared and disappeared as well.....but i think i found the "pattern" - it seems that anything in the /library/desktop pictures automatically goes to full screen and the dropbox then disappears, however if you pick a folder or pic that is outside of /library you will see the dropbox giving you the tile, fulscreen etc options.
Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity...
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 25, 2004, 10:04 PM
 
Originally posted by Mr. Blur:
i just played around with my desktop pics and niticed that the dropbox appeared and disappeared as well.....but i think i found the "pattern" - it seems that anything in the /library/desktop pictures automatically goes to full screen and the dropbox then disappears, however if you pick a folder or pic that is outside of /library you will see the dropbox giving you the tile, fulscreen etc options.
Okay, you win... This time.

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
xi_hyperon
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Behind the dryer, looking for a matching sock
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 25, 2004, 11:10 PM
 
Originally posted by Mr. Blur:
i just played around with my desktop pics and niticed that the dropbox appeared and disappeared as well.....but i think i found the "pattern" - it seems that anything in the /library/desktop pictures automatically goes to full screen and the dropbox then disappears, however if you pick a folder or pic that is outside of /library you will see the dropbox giving you the tile, fulscreen etc options.
Ah, thank you.
     
Fonzie
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 26, 2004, 05:10 PM
 
Originally posted by Mr. Blur:
i just played around with my desktop pics and niticed that the dropbox appeared and disappeared as well.....but i think i found the "pattern" - it seems that anything in the /library/desktop pictures automatically goes to full screen and the dropbox then disappears, however if you pick a folder or pic that is outside of /library you will see the dropbox giving you the tile, fulscreen etc options.
bs..... I have it all the time. Even when selecting "Apple Backgrounds" or "nature" or such.

Even if I browse and select the "official" desktop folder.
There's No Offposition On the Genius Switch - David Letterman
     
vcutag  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 26, 2004, 05:14 PM
 
Originally posted by Fonzie:
bs..... I have it all the time. Even when selecting "Apple Backgrounds" or "nature" or such.

Even if I browse and select the "official" desktop folder.
Yeah, mine's constant as well, it's always gone.

I just updated to 10.3.4, that didn't fix it, either. Growl.
     
MartiNZ
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Auckland, NZ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 26, 2004, 05:25 PM
 
Hmm, I don't get the menu at all when I have a desktop picture on from one of the Apple sets, but if I have another picture on and then just click on one of those sets, the menu stays until I select an Apple pic. This makes sense to me in a way, but I don't understand why there's don't have the options at all....

On a similar note, does anyone know how to change the name of the, presumably, "Apple Background Pictures" set - I can't understand why they made the name too long to fit in the column it is in! "Apple Backgrounds" would have been enough anyway.
     
vcutag  (op)
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 26, 2004, 05:31 PM
 
Originally posted by xi_hyperon:
Ah, thank you.
Yeah, strangely enough, that worked for me too, once I changed my selection. Weirdest damn thing, why would Apple set it up that way?
     
Fonzie
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 26, 2004, 05:32 PM
 
Originally posted by vcutag:
Yeah, mine's constant as well, it's always gone.

I just updated to 10.3.4, that didn't fix it, either. Growl.
I meant that I always have the dropdown menu Even in 10.3.4.
There's No Offposition On the Genius Switch - David Letterman
     
Nonsuch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Riverside IL, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 27, 2004, 01:33 AM
 
I've been dealing with this issue on both my home and work machines for ages, and it's got me buffaloed. The only thing I've noticed is that when I drag a picture from the Finder into the image well of the Desktop Prefs panel, the options are restored for that picture only. As soon as I click another picture, the menu disappears. However, when I had the menu available, I selected "Tile" and now all my seamless backgrounds tile correctly, even though the menu isn't available; they didn't before. Hope that's of use to someone.
Find out just what any people will quietly submit to and you have found out the exact measure of injustice and wrong which will be imposed upon them.

-- Frederick Douglass, 1857
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,