Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > macOS Sierra

macOS Sierra (Page 2)
Thread Tools
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2016, 12:39 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:27 AM. )
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2016, 02:02 PM
 
Check around the screen for a Safari dialog box. Possibly behind another window.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2016, 03:22 PM
 
Originally Posted by And.reg View Post
There is no "Wake for network access" option.

I have:

Turn the display off after: (slider bar)

then checkboxes for:

Put hard disks to sleep when possible
Slightly dim the display while on battery power
Enable Power Nap while on battery power
I only have that checkbox in the "while on AC power" tab. If I am on the battery tab, it is gone.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 8, 2016, 07:10 PM
 
Typing "caffeinate sh" in the Terminal, without the quotes and followed by a return, will also cause the computer not to sleep for the duration of time that the Terminal window is open. Somewhat geekier than the screen corner solution, but also much more difficult to do by accident and waste a lot of energy.

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Dec 13, 2016, 02:52 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:28 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Jan 13, 2017, 10:47 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:28 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2017, 10:39 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:28 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2017, 08:32 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 15, 2017, 08:33 AM
 
Originally Posted by And.reg View Post
Hey anyone see this yet or just me?

Go to your home folder in Finder, go to View > Show View Options

There's a new checkbox "Show Library folder"

No more having to use Terminal or the Finder Go menu.
That's in El Capitan as well.
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Feb 20, 2017, 10:37 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 20, 2017, 11:02 PM
 
It's confined to the Safari window, so it has to be either a Safari/Webkit rendering hiccup, or a compositing error. Which would be either a driver glitch, or a handoff glitch between integrated & discreet GPUs. If you have both GPUs. What Mac model is this?
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Feb 21, 2017, 11:35 AM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Feb 21, 2017, 09:45 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Feb 23, 2017, 08:33 AM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
badidea
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hamburg
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 24, 2017, 09:52 AM
 
Originally Posted by And.reg View Post
No actually I've caught it happening like a minute after boot, in Finder, before I launch Safari. For instance, if I'm in Finder multi-column view and I use Command-[ a few times, I've seen it happen to the Finder window as well. Safari was not opened yet since boot.

And sometimes when closing the last Finder window, a line/glitch will blink spanning the width of the display higher up than as I had depicted in the post with the video on Safari.
I'd also say that this is not a Safari problem. I have seen it mostly when closing the JDownloader application. In my case these lines do not disappear until I use a finder window to wipe it away.
Haven't seen it since a few days now though. Maybe it has been corrected in one of the latest Betas.
***
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Feb 26, 2017, 09:37 AM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2017, 07:54 AM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2017, 05:54 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 31, 2017, 06:38 PM
 
I think reminders only syncs over iCloud now.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Apr 16, 2017, 11:07 AM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2017, 11:29 AM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2017, 05:53 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
May 15, 2017, 01:56 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Mugge
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 10, 2017, 12:21 PM
 
Have many weird bugs in my 10.12.4 and 10.12.5 ?
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2017, 08:50 AM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Jul 21, 2017, 05:40 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 21, 2017, 06:54 PM
 
Some things don't change. I once reported a bug in the Leopard Finder. After months of waiting, they finally replied. They were concentrating their resources on Snow Leopard, and the bug would be fixed in the upcoming SL Finder.

I was on a PPC G5 at the time. Had paid good money for it, and would remain on it for several more years.
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Jul 28, 2017, 04:27 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Jul 29, 2017, 08:32 PM
 
[...deleted...]
( Last edited by Ham Sandwich; Apr 23, 2020 at 08:29 AM. )
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,