Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Lombard 400Mhz Questions

Lombard 400Mhz Questions
MacNZ
Mac Enthusiast
May 6, 2001, 12:17 AM

Hi. I'm a student and I am looking at buying a second hand Lombard Powerbook but I had a few questions.

1) All Pismo model batteries and drive modules are compatible with the Lombard too aren't they?
2) The Lombard has one standard SO-DIMM slot and one low-profile slot. How far can I max the memory out? I know you can get (expensive) 256Mb low profile DIMMs and the other slot will accept PC100 SDRAM (albeit running slower). Does this mean it would recognise a 512Mb DIMM or only a 256MB DIMM?
3) Is the SCSI bus fast enough to run my old 4x CD-R or Snapscan 310 scanner off of?
4) What is the likelihood of upgrades coming out for Lombard series PB's as opposed to Pismo's?
5) Is this system good enough when it comes to graphics for use with projectors etc? I know it's performance is pretty pedestrian compared to the Pismo.

Thanks,

Peter C.
Pete C. (PB12" 1.5Ghz 160GB hdd, 1.25GB RAM, OS X 10.4.11)

tooki
Admin Emeritus
May 6, 2001, 10:05 AM

Originally posted by MacNZ:
Hi. I'm a student and I am looking at buying a second hand Lombard Powerbook but I had a few questions.

1) All Pismo model batteries and drive modules are compatible with the Lombard too aren't they?
Almost all are. You can't use a DVD drive from a Pismo in the Lombard, according to Apple. That's the only exception I know of.