Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Thinking of moving to Manhattan

Thinking of moving to Manhattan
Hawkeye_a
Addicted to MacNN
Mar 11, 2014, 10:28 AM

For the last couple of weeks Ive been thinking about moving to NYC, specifically Manhattan. I enjoyed visiting the city a couple of years ago. Its just a thought bubble at this point. Does anyone here live there? And what sorts of things should i consider before making the decision? Cost of living, work culture, weather, social life, etc...? What are the pros and cons from living there?

Also, i am a software engineer, so im not sure if NYC would be plausible for my profession?

Thoughts?

Cheers
( Last edited by Hawkeye_a; Mar 11, 2014 at 12:41 PM. )

Phileas
Mac Elite
Mar 11, 2014, 10:40 AM

Living in Manhattan is fun if you are either:

a: young and don't mind living in poverty
b: older and have the money you need to live a reasonably comfortable life.

I love Manhattan, but I don't think I'd care to live there at this stage of my life.

Hawkeye_a  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Mar 11, 2014, 10:58 AM

If you dont mind me asking, what stage is that?

osiris
Addicted to MacNN
Mar 11, 2014, 12:06 PM

Originally Posted by Hawkeye_a View Post
Ive been thinking about moving to NYC, specifically Manhattan for a few weeks. I enjoyed visiting the city a couple of years ago. Its just a thought bubble at this point. Does anyone here live there? And what sorts of things should i consider before making the decision? Cost of living, work culture, weather, social life, etc...? What are the pros and cons from living there?

Also, i am a software engineer, so im not sure if NYC would be plausible for my profession?