Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > The New Power Mac Picture Thread

The New Power Mac Picture Thread (Page 19)
Thread Tools
Jawbone54
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Louisiana
Status: Offline
Jul 10, 2007, 02:09 PM
 
Originally Posted by Glenn Wolsey View Post
Just received my new Mac Pro and 30" Apple Cinema Display today. Currently in the process of manually moving files from my old iMac.

Mac Pro 2 x 2.66Ghz.
3GB RAM.
250GB 7200RPM HDD.
500GB 7200RPM HDD.
30" Apple Cinema Display.

So clean. So beautiful.
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Jul 11, 2007, 02:19 PM
 
Nice lamps Glenn... great to see you with such a nice minimal setup. The 30 incher looks mounted. I may mount some of my 30's on a LCD mount from vfgadgets.com. That way I can use em on a production set without the aid of a desk.... just a production C-Stand.
     
Glenn Wolsey
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Jul 12, 2007, 04:52 AM
 
Originally Posted by trancepriest View Post
Nice lamps Glenn... great to see you with such a nice minimal setup. The 30 incher looks mounted. I may mount some of my 30's on a LCD mount from vfgadgets.com. That way I can use em on a production set without the aid of a desk.... just a production C-Stand.
Thanks Andrae, I've worked pretty hard to build this workstation - and I'm just getting started. I have a lot of plans to further develop my office, all because of one silly thing, I'm a tech fanatic who really cant stop ;-)
     
Glenn Wolsey
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Zealand
Status: Offline
Jul 12, 2007, 05:03 AM
 
Originally Posted by all2ofme View Post
Glenn: Nice keyboard - looks lovely and flat. Does it type nicely? I always loved my Al PB's k/b and would be chuffed if I could find something similar for my desktop.

OT: Where're you from in NZ? I'm from Dunners originally.
It types very nicely. I love how it slightly matches the Apple Cinema Display, the touch button controls are also a nice addition.

I'm originally from Auckland, now living in Rotorua.

Originally Posted by Richard Richard View Post
wow glenn , that is stunning !!!

what keyboard is that ?
<a href="http://www.glennwolsey.com/2007/03/14/review-logitech-dinovo-edge-keyboard/">The Logitech diNovo Edge which I reviewed here.</a>
     
Richard Richard
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Status: Offline
Jul 12, 2007, 10:50 AM
 
here's my set up

basically the total opposite of glenn's stylish simple system

spaghetti junction meets a hand grenade



so much for going wirless , eh ?

     
jomi
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2007
Status: Offline
Jul 12, 2007, 11:23 AM
 
My Mac Pro Setup
Mac Pro 2.0 3 Gb RAM + 2 X 250Gb + Windows 2003 Server - 1TB
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Jul 17, 2007, 01:27 AM
 


New Mac Pro 8 core with ATI Radeon X1900 and AJA KONA LHe HD capture/output card. More photos here ---> Flickr: Photos from Trancepriest
( Last edited by trancepriest; Jul 18, 2007 at 11:14 AM. )
     
markb8705
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL
Status: Offline
Jul 20, 2007, 12:31 AM
 


23'' Cinema Display
Dual Quad Core 2.66
3 GB RAM
( Last edited by markb8705; Aug 17, 2007 at 06:57 PM. )
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Jul 21, 2007, 01:53 PM
 


Mac Pro 8 Core (the 24GHz beast)
9GB of RAM
750GB HD
Dual 30 inchers
Panasonic BT-LH1700W broadcast monitor
AJA KONA LHe HD capture/putput card
Panasonic HVX200 camera
Color

Apple Xserve RAID @ 10.5 TB coming soon
( Last edited by trancepriest; Jul 21, 2007 at 08:38 PM. )
     
Kevin Dunahee
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Jul 22, 2007, 01:50 PM
 
trancepriest, other than needing cable management, you are my hero. What do you do for a living?
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Jul 22, 2007, 08:41 PM
 
Originally Posted by Glenn Wolsey;3426374

[IMG
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1364/767801073_9ea9dd5d49.jpg[/IMG]

Very nice. I love the clean look. I just wish I could actually keep my workspace like that for more than 10 minutes.
     
fluidstream
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2007
Status: Offline
Jul 24, 2007, 08:58 PM
 
Just moved to a new condo, finally a homeowner! Snapped these today, finally in a bright home office.

Looking in to the Office:


Desk View:


The View from the Desk:


Another Desk View:
     
Kevin Dunahee
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Jul 25, 2007, 10:53 AM
 
Sorry trancepriest, but fluidstream is my hero now.
     
Commodus
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Status: Offline
Jul 28, 2007, 04:21 PM
 
Originally Posted by fluidstream View Post
Just moved to a new condo, finally a homeowner! Snapped these today, finally in a bright home office.

Looking in to the Office:

I'd seriously love to know what you do for a living. Send a private message, if you have to! And for that matter, what neighborhood do you live in to have such a beautiful view?
24-inch iMac Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz
     
Googer-Giger
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Status: Offline
Jul 29, 2007, 07:58 PM
 
fluidstream, which one of those boats is yours?
I miss the days of the G5 and XPS Pentium 4 running side by side as high-end machines.
     
fluidstream
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2007
Status: Offline
Jul 30, 2007, 02:14 AM
 
I have a 32ft baja, but it's not moored there, keep it near indian arm which is about a 20-25 minute drive from my place. Commodus, check your pm, and thanks for the compliments everyone.
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Aug 3, 2007, 12:13 PM
 


G5/2.5GB RAM, Mac Pro 8-Core/9GB RAM (2 4GB, 2 512MB), 3TB of internal storage, 3 drive RAID 0 (for uncompressed HD), Panasonic BT-LH1700W HD monitor, AJA KONA LHe HD capture card. Systems run Shake, Color and FCP.
     
mavherzog
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, WI
Status: Offline
Aug 4, 2007, 05:19 AM
 
Originally Posted by fluidstream View Post
Commodus, check your pm, and thanks for the compliments everyone.
WHAT? You're not going to share with the rest of us what you do for a living??
     
Kenneth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Bellevue, WA
Status: Offline
Aug 4, 2007, 02:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by fluidstream View Post
Just moved to a new condo, finally a homeowner! Snapped these today, finally in a bright home office.

Another Desk View:
Any detail on the chair? Thanks.
     
fluidstream
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2007
Status: Offline
Aug 5, 2007, 03:35 AM
 
Originally Posted by mavherzog View Post
WHAT? You're not going to share with the rest of us what you do for a living??
Ha, no sorry, I don't mind telling people over PM's, but I'd prefer not to have my work details all over a public forum.

As for the chair Kenneth, it came from a store here in Vancouver called Inspiration Furniture (it's near Kitts, off 4th ave right around the Granville st bridge), I'm not sure if they're a big chain or not, quite pricey though, I do know they're owned by a bigger company, Scan Designs, you might have them in the states. If you want the details for the store, I can dig them up and PM to ya, just let me know. It's a great chair, awesome support, super comfortable, it's got super quality leather and stands up to some decent abuse.
     
tylermorgan
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2007
Status: Offline
Aug 5, 2007, 08:40 AM
 



Here's mine; just got it yesterday, so I'm still waiting for my additional memory and stuff to come.
For now, it's a 1.8ghz G5/512mb/80gb/Superdrive . It's my first powermac - I've also got a G4 Powerbook.
     
trancepriest
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Florida
Status: Offline
Aug 7, 2007, 07:53 PM
 
     
Trouters
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2006
Status: Offline
Aug 23, 2007, 12:21 AM
 
Originally Posted by fluidstream View Post

As for the chair Kenneth, it came from a store here in Vancouver called Inspiration Furniture (it's near Kitts, off 4th ave right around the Granville st bridge), I'm not sure if they're a big chain or not, quite pricey though, I do know they're owned by a bigger company, Scan Designs, you might have them in the states. If you want the details for the store, I can dig them up and PM to ya, just let me know. It's a great chair, awesome support, super comfortable, it's got super quality leather and stands up to some decent abuse.
Ha, I think I actually can actually help out Kenneth with looking for the chair here in the states. The chair looks like a design by Charles and Ray Eames, and if it is then its probably liscensed from Herman Miller by ScanDesigns. Anyway just check out the Herman Miller webpage and you can find chairs very similar to that, and a few variations of them as well. Hope this helps.
     
richwig83
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Status: Offline
Aug 23, 2007, 07:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by trancepriest View Post


Mac Pro 8 Core (the 24GHz beast)
9GB of RAM
750GB HD
Dual 30 inchers
Panasonic BT-LH1700W broadcast monitor
AJA KONA LHe HD capture/putput card
Panasonic HVX200 camera
Color

Apple Xserve RAID @ 10.5 TB coming soon
24ghz.... you wish!!

Still.. 2 30" screens
MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 | 4GB | 128GB SSD ~ 500GB+2TB Externals ~ iPhone 4 32GB
Canon 5DII | EF 24-105mm IS USM | EF 100-400mm L IS USM | 50mm 1.8mkII
iMac | Mac Mini | 42" Panasonic LED HDTV | PS3
     
Googer-Giger
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Status: Offline
Aug 26, 2007, 03:40 PM
 
Keep 'em comin trancepriest
I miss the days of the G5 and XPS Pentium 4 running side by side as high-end machines.
     
Googer-Giger
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Status: Offline
Aug 27, 2007, 08:27 AM
 
My friend is a media arts teacher at a local high school, they just got refurbished G5s, he gave me this DA 733 G4 with 512 MB RAM, running tiger and a 15" cinema display with a broken back leg some of you may have heard me bitching about.

I Still have my wonderful G5, Dual 2.0 2.5 GB RAM, 500 Gig HD that I wouldn't trade for anything, well, maybe a Quad...




And of course, not that you guys care, here is a pic of my custom PC in my friend's kick ass basement, (I call the PC "the juice box") with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.6 GHz, 2 GB Ram and an Evega GeForce 8800 with 256 MB. And the best monitor I have ever owned, a trinitron 15", I would use it with my G5, with another 21" Trinitron I have, because of the brilliant colors, but I can't fit either of them on that desk.


The guy in the back is my friend, whom I had just finished building a custom box for, sorry about all this PC stuff, but you got to pay the rent somehow guys.
( Last edited by Googer-Giger; May 17, 2008 at 01:02 PM. )
I miss the days of the G5 and XPS Pentium 4 running side by side as high-end machines.
     
darkfusion
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Aug 27, 2007, 08:37 PM
 



Mac Pro 2x 2.66ghz
2gig ram
500gb hd
Geforce 7300
20' widescreen and 19" lcd dual screen setup.
     
Matt_A
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Loveland, CO
Status: Offline
Aug 28, 2007, 03:11 PM
 


I was able to aquire a second 20" Cinema Display for an extremely low price, so now I'm running dual monitors. I'm kinda liking it! They're attached to my aging 1.6 G5. You can see my iBook G4 1.33 on the desk also.
     
cherry su
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Earth
Status: Offline
Aug 28, 2007, 04:12 PM
 
Originally Posted by fluidstream View Post
Just moved to a new condo, finally a homeowner! Snapped these today, finally in a bright home office.

<snip />
I have that same MS keyboard as you!
MacBook Pro T2500/1.5GB/100GB/256MB  iPod 20GB B&W  Mac mini 1.25/256MB/40GB/32MB  Dell 2.66/2GB/80GB/Intel Extreme Gfx
     
blakespot
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Alexandria, VA
Status: Offline
Aug 30, 2007, 02:02 PM
 
Not the highest res pic, but the latest pic of my Mac Pro can be seen in an updated computer room photo panorama I've just made:


( click here to jump )

Cheers.




blakespot
iPodHacks.com -- http://www.ipodhacks.com
     
Cadaver
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ~/
Status: Offline
Aug 30, 2007, 08:52 PM
 
TI-99/4A, eh? I remember those. Used to annoy my pals at school by sneaking up behind them and yanking the cartridge out while they were playing games (but supposed to be working in class).
     
edge.it
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: jerseyyy
Status: Offline
Aug 31, 2007, 12:23 AM
 
waiting for the macbook pro to get sent back from repair.



macpro 2.66 | 4GB | 7 TB
macbook pro 2.4i5 | 4GB | 500GB 7200rpm
technic 1210 M5G
     
Kenneth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Bellevue, WA
Status: Offline
Aug 31, 2007, 01:44 AM
 
edge.it

Is it safe to put to the subwoofer that close to the Mac Pro?

In my case, the Logitech Z-5500 manual suggests me to kept the 10" subwoofer at least 2 feet away from any electronic device.
     
edge.it
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: jerseyyy
Status: Offline
Aug 31, 2007, 02:01 AM
 
Originally Posted by Kenneth View Post
edge.it

Is it safe to put to the subwoofer that close to the Mac Pro?

In my case, the Logitech Z-5500 manual suggests me to kept the 10" subwoofer at least 2 feet away from any electronic device.
i thought that was sufficient space. well ill know when someone who "really knows" comes and reems me! ahah lets wait and see.

(please reem if necessary my mac pro is impt!
( Last edited by edge.it; Aug 31, 2007 at 02:08 AM. )

macpro 2.66 | 4GB | 7 TB
macbook pro 2.4i5 | 4GB | 500GB 7200rpm
technic 1210 M5G
     
Googer-Giger
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Long Island
Status: Offline
Aug 31, 2007, 10:32 AM
 
Harmon/Kardon is awesome, good choice.
I miss the days of the G5 and XPS Pentium 4 running side by side as high-end machines.
     
Psychopulse
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Status: Offline
Sep 1, 2007, 11:36 AM
 
New 23" display

     
grinder
Forum Regular
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Status: Offline
Sep 11, 2007, 08:52 AM
 
Psychopulse, my hero. Moar pikshaz lol kthxbai
2,4GHz iMac | 320GB Passport | BT Keyboard | MX Revolution | 4GB iPod nano
Blog | Flickr | deviantART
     
MarkLT1
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: More Cowbell...
Status: Offline
Sep 11, 2007, 10:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by edge.it View Post
i thought that was sufficient space. well ill know when someone who "really knows" comes and reems me! ahah lets wait and see.

(please reem if necessary my mac pro is impt!
If you value your data, you'll want to keep it at least 18", if not 24" away from your hard drives.

That sub has a HUGE magnet in it. Big enough that it was able to greatly distort the picture on my CRT TV from about 12". With that kind of magnetic field, close to your MPs hard drives, you are asking for data loss.

Edit-

If you have a small CRT color TV, plug it in and hold it close to the sub. Move it away, until you see no color distortion at all. Add a couple of inches for safety, and you'll have a reasonable distance to keep the sub from your drives.
     
Fred33
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2007
Status: Offline
Sep 12, 2007, 09:05 AM
 
Very cool pics everyone. I especially like Fluids' office. I got to get me a place in there. I love the view.
     
xtremelyyellow
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Sep 16, 2007, 09:58 PM
 
Originally Posted by blakespot View Post
I've posted my config on here a few times.

I recently moved up to a Mac Pro and I've just added a 2nd LCD to go along with my 30" Apple Cinema Display. It's a HP LP2065 20" LCD (1600x1200), rotated into portrait mode. (The OS X ATI X1900 XT drivers support rotation).

Note: the HP LP2065 uses an S-IPS panel (like Apple's Cinemas), not a lesser panel as several, similar 4:3 20" LCDs I looked at do (Samsung 204B, Dell 2007FP).

What do you think?






blakespot
Forgive me if this is a stupid question.... But, can this be done with any of the MAC displays?
     
travisimo
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Knoxville, TN
Status: Offline
Sep 16, 2007, 11:01 PM
 
     
MaximusNL
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Groningen, Netherlands
Status: Offline
Sep 17, 2007, 02:21 AM
 
All these setups look truly beautiful. Currently out of camera. My setup is a 23" Cinema HD display (the g4-style) with a PowerMac G5 1.8. Will post a photo soon.
     
xtremelyyellow
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Sep 25, 2007, 08:54 PM
 
New setup
Mac Pro 3.0 Quad
30" Display






Old setup
G5 single processor
Dual 17" Displays




Mac Pro Quad 3.0GHz Intel, 2GB, 250HD, ATI Radeon X1900 XT
30" Apple Cinema HD Display.
12" Powerbook 1 GHz
Titanium Powerbook
     
darkfusion
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2007
Status: Offline
Sep 28, 2007, 02:12 PM
 
That setup is sexy.
     
UnixMac
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 33-37-22.350N / 111-54-37.920W
Status: Offline
Sep 30, 2007, 02:55 PM
 
just added a new 20" screen.. I don't know how I managed without it before!



New Macs

Mac Pro 3.0, ATI 5770 1GB VRAM, 10GB, 2xVelociraptor boot RAID, 4.5TB RAID0 storage, 30" & 20" Apple displays.
2 x Macbook Pro's 17" 3.06 4 GB RAM, 256GB Solid State drives
iMac 17" Core Duo 1GB RAM, & 2 iPhones 8GB, and a Nano in a pear tree!
Apple user since 1981
     
nikstar101
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London UK
Status: Offline
Sep 30, 2007, 04:39 PM
 
Originally Posted by fluidstream View Post
Just moved to a new condo, finally a homeowner! Snapped these today, finally in a bright home office.

The View from the Desk:

WOW!!

That is a nice place, I will to completely rebuild my flat before i take a photo, otherwise it will bring the whole thread down.

Nik
     
bld44
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2007
Status: Offline
Oct 9, 2007, 07:51 PM
 


Mac Pro Quad 2.66ghz
6GB Ram
2x23" ACDs
( Last edited by bld44; Oct 9, 2007 at 08:05 PM. )
     
diotav
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2006
Status: Offline
Oct 18, 2007, 07:15 AM
 


     
xtremelyyellow
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2007
Status: Offline
Oct 18, 2007, 10:37 AM
 
Originally Posted by diotav View Post


I was gonna get the wireless keyboard but I do tens to use the number keys
Anyway, Where did you get your @ sign clock?
Mac Pro Quad 3.0GHz Intel, 2GB, 250HD, ATI Radeon X1900 XT
30" Apple Cinema HD Display.
12" Powerbook 1 GHz
Titanium Powerbook
     
jasonsRX7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Status: Offline
Oct 19, 2007, 11:10 AM
 
Is the old wireless keyboard still going to be available? The new one is terrible
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,