Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > finder

finder
p r
Sep 20, 1999, 02:34 PM

I have a rev a imac, sometimes the finder will quit when I go to restart after a program has crashed. I restart and all is fine I would just like to know if this is ok?. I am new to computers and have never read about the finder quiting before sorry, if this is s silly question.

wlonh
Professional Poster
Sep 20, 1999, 10:32 PM

no silly questions, just silly answers...

BUT seriously, I think that if you trash your 'Finder Preferences' file (it is in the System Folder: Preferences Folder: Finder Preferences) by dragging it to the trash, then restart your Mac, then empty the trash.

You would not be able to empty the trash prior to the restart because the file in question would be in use and MacOS would not let you delete it. But when you restart your Mac, the MacOS looks for that file and upon not finding it where it should be, creates a 'fresh' new one using default values. Therefore, after trashing the Finder Pref's you must reset the Finder Pref's in the Edit menu in the menubar while the Finder is the active or frontmost application

This 'trashing the Finder Pref's' thing can clear up any number of anomalous conditions that may occur on a Mac.

AND, if that doesn't fix it, post again to this thread and I'll have further remedial actions for you!

[This message has been edited by wlonh (edited 09-20-1999).]

p r
Sep 22, 1999, 04:46 PM