Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Recommend Buying Apple Care?

Recommend Buying Apple Care?
macuser9909
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Aug 27, 2007, 01:40 AM

Hi, I bought a used MacBook last year around October and the initial year warranty is up in mid-September. I am a student so money is always an issue, but would you guys recommend that I spend the $25o and buy Apple Care? I've got the watered down White one. Thanks.

Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Aug 27, 2007, 02:15 AM

It's a good idea - particularly for a laptop. Unless you really don't mind getting a new computer in the event something fails, it's a smart thing to buy.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ

MacosNerd
Professional Poster
Aug 27, 2007, 08:58 AM

Generally for laptops its a good idea. Typically most laptop repairs will exceed the cost of the extended warranty in the first place and so it gives you coverage and peace of mind.

amazing
Professional Poster
Aug 27, 2007, 11:59 AM

Please clarify: You bought a "used" MB? Did the original owner transfer the original Applecare over to your name? Did you maybe mean "refurbished"?

Max_Doubt_M'Wham
Aug 28, 2007, 07:11 AM

AppleCare is a good investment IMO seeing as how these days any repair job usually consists of removing a *faulty* part and fitting a new, *expensive to replace* part ...

yaroldb
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Aug 28, 2007, 02:22 PM

Get it, it's worth the peace of mind. I found mine for $150 o n Ebay. You can find them for around that much if you look. If your Logic Board goes, that will cost you about $600 alone.
-8gb Iphone