Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > G5 Ram, anyone knows if high performance RAM for PC gaming works on the G5?

G5 Ram, anyone knows if high performance RAM for PC gaming works on the G5?
Thread Tools
momotaro-mac
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2003, 06:19 AM
 
Heya,

I was just wondering if it is possible to use high performance RAMs like Corsair on G5s. Thanx
_______________________________________
iBook 500Mhz, Jaguar, 40GB, 256MB
Dell Latitude C400, P3 1.2Ghz, 30GB, 768MB
     
momotaro-mac  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2003, 11:01 AM
 
Oops...sorry I didnt see that there was an official thread for RAM..

My apologies
_______________________________________
iBook 500Mhz, Jaguar, 40GB, 256MB
Dell Latitude C400, P3 1.2Ghz, 30GB, 768MB
     
Arkham_c
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2003, 11:14 AM
 
High-performance RAM? Is that a joke?

RAM is RAM. Assuming the module is not defective, a RAM chip of the same rating, same CL spec (CAS Latency), etc will work the same regardless of manufacturer.

If you have a fast machine (e.g. a 1.8/2x2 G5) and you have PC3200 CL2.5 DDR400 DIMMs in your machine, it will run as fast as it can.

Corsair sells RAM with blinking LEDs and heat sinks, but these don't really make the RAM faster. The heat sinks make it so you can theoretically overclock the motherboard (and thus the RAM) and not have the RAM generate errors due to heat. Since you cannot overclock the motherboard on a G5, there's no value in this. And, the LEDs just look silly.
Mac Pro 2x 2.66 GHz Dual core, Apple TV 160GB, two Windows XP PCs
     
momotaro-mac  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2003, 12:06 PM
 
Hahhaa...thanx...then crucial it is.

I wouldnt want LEDs in my machine either...
_______________________________________
iBook 500Mhz, Jaguar, 40GB, 256MB
Dell Latitude C400, P3 1.2Ghz, 30GB, 768MB
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,