Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Display compatible with the Early 2015 MacBook Pro 13

Display compatible with the Early 2015 MacBook Pro 13
Thread Tools
timnova78
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2020
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 19, 2020, 07:45 AM
 
Is the LG UltraFine 5K UHD Display compatible with the Early 2015 MacBook Pro 13"?

Obviously I would need an adapter. Does a) such an adapter exist (would Apple's TB3 to TB2 adapter work?) and b) would the MacBook Pro be able to power the 4k display at full resolution via thunderbolt?

Thanks.
( Last edited by Thorzdad; Mar 19, 2020 at 08:17 AM. Reason: spam link removed)
     
Ham Sandwich
Guest
Status:
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2020, 08:25 PM
 
5K? Oof, doubt it...

Fastest configuration of that Pro MacBook is MF841LL/A with 5557U, which says that it supports max resolution of 3840x2160 at 60Hz.

Sources:

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210205

https://support.apple.com/kb/SP715?v...S&locale=en_US

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...-3-40-ghz.html
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Mar 20, 2020, 09:19 PM
 
Video cards will often go higher than their rating, though with lower refresh rates. My old Radeon 5870 was rated to 2560x1600. In fact, it would do 3840x2160 @ 30Hz. You'd have to check with someone who has tried it.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 23, 2020, 01:33 PM
 
Originally Posted by reader50 View Post
Video cards will often go higher than their rating, though with lower refresh rates. My old Radeon 5870 was rated to 2560x1600. In fact, it would do 3840x2160 @ 30Hz. You'd have to check with someone who has tried it.
But that is the same amount of bandwidth. You could do 38400x6480 at 1Hz if you wanted to, it would be the same thing. Standard is to report what resolution you can do at 60 Hz, and that is indeed 2560x1600, because that is what Displayport 1.1 can handle.

As for this question, it is a little harder. What Apple does with the 5K display is to use Thunderbolt 3, wrap 2 DisplayPort 1.2 streams in it and then treat that one big display as two thin displays side by side. I have no idea if that will work here. I guess that the wrapping thing won’t work, because Thunderbolt 2 doesn’t have the bandwidth to fit two DP1.2 streams. OTOH, the 5K display offers three downstream USB ports, and if you use all of them at max, you also crash into the bandwidth limit of TB3, and the display somehow manages to survive this. There is something funny going on there, possibly some basic display stream compression, so it might work. I just don’t know.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,