Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > CONTROL YOURSELVES Diablo 3?! omg!

CONTROL YOURSELVES Diablo 3?! omg! (Page 3)
Thread Tools
Rumor
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 4, 2012, 01:51 PM
 
Soon, so soon. There goes my summer.
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
-Q-
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 4, 2012, 01:55 PM
 
Almost......there....
     
davidflas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 15, 2012, 08:37 PM
 
Installing it now, 45%, wish it would go faster! I plan to waste a lot of time with this game. I've been with this series since the beginning.
( Last edited by davidflas; May 16, 2012 at 06:16 AM. )
2.7Ghz 15" Mid 2012 MBP 16GB RAM 7.2k 750GB HD anti-glare display|64GB iPad4 ATT LTE|
     
boy8cookie
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: I'll let you know when I get there...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 22, 2012, 05:22 PM
 
Hit 60 on wednesday... been playing inferno since. It's quite a challenge and very enjoyable. Send me a PM if you want my battle tag.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 22, 2012, 10:19 PM
 
IF DIABLO 3 WERE A GIRL - YouTube

About two minutes. You have to wait for it.

Via NSFW.
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Jun 3, 2012, 11:37 PM
 
I've been reading the forums at Blizzard regarding my 'unsupported' card and people have, with varying levels of success, been able to get the game running at a decent frame rate. Windows seems to produce better results as well.

I got Fallout 3 running, with acceptable settings, on my 128 card when the specs call for a 256 minimum. I only hope I don't end up wasting money. Might have to dig around some more and make sure I can get it running.
     
exca1ibur
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Oakland, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2012, 01:50 PM
 
What machine do you have?
     
Chimpmaster
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: AUSTRALIA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 6, 2012, 04:43 AM
 
Im running Diablo 3 on my early 2008 Macbook alu.

2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo
4GB Ram
Nvidia 9400M (256MB) video

The game runs ok on lower settings. I reckon my system would be about the minimum that you would need to play the game. Especially for the graphics.
MacBook Alu, 13", 2.4Ghz, 4GB RAM, 256MB video
G5 Imac, 17", 1.9Ghz, 1.5GB RAM, 128MB video, built in isight, airport and bluetooth
Indigo iBook, 366mhz; 320MB RAM; CD; FW; Airport
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Jun 6, 2012, 10:16 AM
 
Originally Posted by exca1ibur View Post
What machine do you have?
2007 iMac
2.0ghz C2D
Radeon 2400HD (128MB)
4 GB RAM

People in the forums with the very same machine have gotten it running, but some people on the Mac side say its a slideshow on anything other than the lowest resolution and graphics settings.
     
exca1ibur
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Oakland, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 6, 2012, 11:55 AM
 
Yeah that configuration will be a hit or miss. Running on low settings at a lower resolution is the only option for acceptable performance. Early in the game it might be fine, but when the action gets insane, later in the game, things will turn into a slideshow.
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Jun 6, 2012, 03:44 PM
 
Think I can start a kickstarter entitled "Buy sek a new Mac so he can game out!"?
     
boy8cookie
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: I'll let you know when I get there...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 6, 2012, 05:53 PM
 
The patch today was supposed to improve Mac performance... haven't had a chance to test yet, but maybe it's better now?
     
boy8cookie
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: I'll let you know when I get there...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 7, 2012, 04:18 PM
 
This may be frowned upon here, but whatever... I wrote an applescript to run Royal Crypts repeatedly. This is the run that I've scripted: (not my video) Diablo 3 Gold Farm - The Royal Crypts - Inferno - YouTube

It still needs some fine tuning, but its working pretty well - generates about 200k/hour. It's reliant on having a large AoE spell & a fairly large pickup radius, but it works.

If anyone is interested in the source let me know, glad to share it. (Mac only!)
     
ebmeyer
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2012
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 24, 2012, 09:37 AM
 
I'm definitely interested! Please pm me!!
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:07 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,