Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Installing airport card in a macbook pro??

Installing airport card in a macbook pro??
Thread Tools
rguidi
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 13, 2009, 08:10 PM
 
I just ordered an airport card and have noooo idea where to install it and have not found any useful information online. If anyone would be able to give me step by step directions I would be forever grateful! i need this for school this week...I am not very familiar with the mac's inner workings so as much description as possible would be awesome! Thank you so so so much!
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 13, 2009, 09:31 PM
 
Welcome to the forums!

It would be rather helpful for us if you'd let us know just which MacBook Pro you have. Kind of critical, in fact, since there are a couple varieties and they are VERY different.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
AKcrab
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 13, 2009, 09:41 PM
 
Weird. All MacBook Pros have an airport card preinstalled.. Did yours fail and you bought a new one to replace it?
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 14, 2009, 07:28 AM
 
...and now that AK mentions it, I don't recall hearing any stories about MBPs AirPort card antenna cables coming loose, either... Very wierd.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
bishopazrael
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 14, 2009, 12:54 PM
 
Aren't the airport cards.... built into the mobo?
Backups are like guns and condoms. It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.
     
wrambro
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 14, 2009, 07:04 PM
 
No. They are actually one of the more easily replaceable "non-user replaceable" components.
     
Cold Warrior
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Polwaristan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 14, 2009, 07:09 PM
 
choose your model from the list below and you'll see a good guide on installing or swapping an airport extreme card.

MacBook Pro Repair - iFixit
     
Big Mac
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 14, 2009, 07:18 PM
 
I thought it was integrated too. Learn something new every day.

"The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield and government to gain ground." TJ
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 14, 2009, 09:44 PM
 
No, it's obviously a separate card. There's an upgrade that could be done on my first gen MBP to give it N networking capability by swapping in the later A/B/G/N card to replace the original A/B/G card. But I've never heard of an MBP just not having a card, which is what the OP makes it sound like he has...

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,