Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Applescript issue with Lion

Applescript issue with Lion
Thread Tools
gradient
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 21, 2011, 01:07 AM
 
Ok, I'm sure this is a dead simple one for someone here. I have a single line script that keep in my login items to mount a network share:

mount volume "smb://192.168.1.110/Public/Videos"

With Snow Leopard, this would mount 'Videos' but since I upgraded to Lion it mounts 'Public' and I have to navigate from there. Can anyone help me fix it?
     
gradient  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 23, 2011, 11:48 AM
 
Anyone think they can help?
     
gradient  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2011, 10:43 PM
 
Ok, now that everybody's had a month to get into the Lion groove...bump.
     
CharlesS
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Dec 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2011, 11:06 PM
 
tell application "Finder" to open POSIX file "/Volumes/whatever/Public/Videos"

?

Ticking sound coming from a .pkg package? Don't let the .bom go off! Inspect it first with Pacifist. Macworld - five mice!
     
wrambro
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 18, 2011, 11:22 PM
 
Once you have "Videos" mounted, can't you simply drag that into your Login Items?
     
gradient  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 19, 2011, 10:47 PM
 
Originally Posted by wrambro View Post
Once you have "Videos" mounted, can't you simply drag that into your Login Items?
The thing is that I can't get 'Videos' to mount, just mount 'Public'. If I drag the 'Videos' folder into the startup items it just mounts 'Public' and opens a Finder window with the 'Videos' folder.
     
wrambro
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 19, 2011, 11:03 PM
 
I see, so 'Videos' is a folder on the drive 'Public', is that right? I don't think there's a straight forward way to do that, pretty sure you can only mount devices/partitions/networked storage.

What about creating an alias for your 'Videos' folder on your Desktop? Haven't tried it myself, but it may be worth trying..

Edit: just tried this, and it works like a charm (it will even mount the drive it it is not already mounted). And you can create the illusion that 'Videos' is actually mounting by setting your Finder preferences to not show connected servers on your Desktop
( Last edited by wrambro; Aug 20, 2011 at 12:11 PM. )
     
gradient  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 19, 2011, 11:04 PM
 
Originally Posted by CharlesS View Post
tell application "Finder" to open POSIX file "/Volumes/whatever/Public/Videos"

?
Huh, I can't get that to work, though it's probably because I'm a bonafide hack at applescript. Can you elaborate a bit more for me?
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,