Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Sure € > $, but this has no sense at all

Sure € > $, but this has no sense at all
Thread Tools
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 05:08 AM
 
something is really WRONG with my Dashboard widget…

     
analogika
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 05:10 AM
 
Cmd-R to reload
     
Ω
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 05:12 AM
 
I got US$1.539 = 1 Euro on mine, if that helps.....
"angels bleed from the tainted touch of my caress"
     
angelmb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 05:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by Ω View Post
I got US$1.539 = 1 Euro on mine, if that helps.....
Thanks… cause it's still wrong after cmd-r… US$12 = 1 Euro
     
OreoCookie
Moderator
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hilbert space
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 05:41 AM
 
Probably a loc error, notice the comma instead of the point.
Works fine in German, though.
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
     
Trygve
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Dubai, UAE
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 06:54 AM
 
EUR 1 = USD 51029

Seems about right to me based on how far my dollars go in Prague these days.
     
angelmb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 08:40 AM
 
It is weird, on another Mac also running 10.5.3 it shows the currency all right… and so does another one running Tiger…
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 10:59 AM
 
Originally Posted by OreoCookie View Post
Probably a loc error, notice the comma instead of the point.
Works fine in German, though.
That still can't work, though. A euro isn't worth $51 any more than it's worth $51k.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
OreoCookie
Moderator
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hilbert space
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 12:33 PM
 
Usually when these things aren't properly localized, there is no telling what the result will be.
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
     
angelmb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 03:25 PM
 
but it used to work flawless, it wasn't until today it went nuts… without any reason.
     
Mrjinglesusa
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Why do you care?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 04:00 PM
 
Yeah, there is definitely something screwy with the currency converter widget. I got 1 USD = 0.02 Euros.
2.3GHz i7 15" Retina Macbook Pro (Late 2013)
     
analogika
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 04:02 PM
 
normal here.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2008, 06:08 PM
 
Mine is also normal. Here's an idea: swap the direction of the conversion and see if you get anything different. ANY difference is good, but getting it "right" would be an interesting step toward seeing what's causing your particular little bit of insanity.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
angelmb  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 16, 2008, 01:35 AM
 
That worked Anyway, I can see what could be the issue here:

- left pop-up menu, $US is listed as the 16th currency ---> bad conversion ratio
- right pop-up menu, $US is listed as the first currency ---> conversion ratio is OK

Thanks to all.
     
himself
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Live at the BBQ
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 16, 2008, 03:14 AM
 
You could also try specifying in decimal : 1.00 instead 1, for example.

edit: oops... I see you did that already.
"Bill Gates can't guarantee Windows... how can you guarantee my safety?"
-John Crichton
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,