Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > AIrport Extreme issues - ethernet unplugged error

AIrport Extreme issues - ethernet unplugged error
Thread Tools
scaught
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: detroit,mi,usa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 31, 2012, 03:31 PM
 
Hello macnn friends. Long time, no see.

Bought a refurbed airport extreme in March of last year.

Monday night it started acting up and I can't resolve it. I get the constant flashing amber light, and messages: "ethernet unplugged" and "no dns servers".

Plugging from the cable modem directly to my imac or work laptop works just fine. I've done (what I think are) proper hard resets:
1) shut everything down.
2) start up AE, do hard reset, shut down
3) start up modem, let it boot for at least 10 mins
4) plug ethernet into AE, start up, let it boot for at least 10 mins
5) start up imac. Same errors.

I've also called comca$t and asked them to do a reset or whatever, no good.

Anyone got any help? I've googled the heck out of it. Is there a way to know if the WAN port is fried? There was a thunder/lightning storm Monday night and I have a weird feeling it might be related. I'm tempted to just say F it and go buy a new one...

Thanks for any assistance you can provide.
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 31, 2012, 04:55 PM
 
I think I'd agree with your diagnosis. Sounds like WAN is fried.

Doubtful, but you should at least try a different cable between the modem and the AE. But other than that, it's dead, Jim.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
scaught  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: detroit,mi,usa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 31, 2012, 05:55 PM
 
Originally Posted by ibook_steve View Post
I think I'd agree with your diagnosis. Sounds like WAN is fried.

Doubtful, but you should at least try a different cable between the modem and the AE. But other than that, it's dead, Jim.

Steve
Thanks Steve. I tried three cables actually.

Do you know of any app or method that can actually check that WAN port (other than the fact that it currently isn't doing diddly)?
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 31, 2012, 06:27 PM
 
If Airport Utility shows the ethernet as unplugged when it clearly is plugged with a good cable, I think that's all the checking you need.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
Waragainstsleep
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 31, 2012, 07:54 PM
 
Is the modem running DHCP? Does it see the Airport?
I have plenty of more important things to do, if only I could bring myself to do them....
     
scaught  (op)
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: detroit,mi,usa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 9, 2012, 11:27 AM
 
Just following up on this, my new airport extreme showed up yesterday. I plugged it in and it worked right off the bat, so I think I was right and the port on the old one got fried.

Now the rumor mill says new airport hardware is on the way. We'll see what happens with that. Probably just a new wifi standard which doesn't matter to me that much.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:00 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,