Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > StarCraft 1.15.2!

StarCraft 1.15.2!
Thread Tools
Mac User #001
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: WI, United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2008, 12:04 PM
 
No need for the disc!

I'm going to be getting this right away! It was such a pain to have to carry around the disc for such a simple game.

Anyone else pleased with this update?
I have returned...
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2008, 12:38 PM
 
Haven't installed it yet, but that sounds fantastic just by itself. I just made a Toast image that I used instead of the CD, but even that was kind of a pain.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2008, 02:57 PM
 
Blizzard is the world's most awesome company.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Mac User #001  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: WI, United States
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2008, 05:51 PM
 
Getting this update will update it to its most current form, right? I'll be installing it again because of this and just want to make sure there aren't any other updates I'd have to get.
I have returned...
     
Timetheus
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frogstar World B
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2008, 12:15 PM
 
Has anyone had any luck getting it to work without the CD? Mine is still asking me to insert it (Broodwar, btw).
     
Lateralus
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2008, 01:24 PM
 
Ouch. This update kicks OS 9 support.

I can't see any reason for that with a game this old.
I like chicken
I like liver
Meow Mix, Meow Mix
Please de-liv-er
     
Hawkeye_a
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Apr 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 19, 2008, 02:25 AM
 
Originally Posted by Timetheus View Post
Has anyone had any luck getting it to work without the CD? Mine is still asking me to insert it (Broodwar, btw).
same here
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 19, 2008, 03:38 AM
 
Originally Posted by Lateralus View Post
Ouch. This update kicks OS 9 support.

I can't see any reason for that with a game this old.
Probably some OS 9-specific care they needed to take and they just didn't feel like it was worth the trouble at this point. The Carbon libraries have come a long way since CarbonLib.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Timetheus
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Frogstar World B
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 20, 2008, 11:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by Hawkeye_a View Post
same here
Right, so apparently the archive file is supposed to be in the "Starcraft files" folder and not the "Starcraft" folder as the macgamefiles page instructs.
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 21, 2008, 10:08 PM
 
Yay! I love StarCraft. I haven't played in a while, but I'll bring it back with the update methinks. Very nice not having to have the disc.
     
Tenacious Dyl
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 23, 2008, 02:56 AM
 
As LAN play doesn't check CD-Key, this makes it possible for all the computers on my network to now play. Before we still did, but we had to make images of the disk, and then all mount the image before every game, kind of a pain in the butt.

Just installed the update on both pc's and mac's in my network, and all of them are LAN'ing just fine without the need for the CD or stupid disk image files! Very happy!
yep.
     
PhotoBug
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jul 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 25, 2008, 01:43 AM
 
Sorry to distract but does anyone know it starcraft 2 will be for mac. Blizzard is normally good to us mac users but I wasn't sure. The Photos of Starcraft 2 look Great

:Edit- Nevermind! its coming for mac same day as PC!
( Last edited by PhotoBug; Jan 25, 2008 at 01:50 AM. Reason: Solved my own Prob)
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,